We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Tour”

Jack Daniel's Distillery
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Nashville to Jack Daniel's Distillery and Back
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fifteen miles east of Lynchburg.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were excited to go do the distillery tour at Jack Daniel's distillery but it was way better than we even expected. There is a free tour and a tasting tour that is a small fee. The tasting tour is well worth it as you get to taste the different types of whiskey that you see being made on the tour. They also walk you through the tasting so that you really notice the slight differences. The tour itself is great as they really take you into each stage of the making process. The tour does take over an hour but it was interesting the whole way through. Well worth the drive off the beaten path (through beautiful country) to see a piece of American history. Highly recommned!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmarte05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,053
    477
    68
    24
    19
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The Jack Daniels Distillery Is An American Icon”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Whether you drink Jack Daniels or not, don’t miss this tour. Plan ahead and take the distillery and sampling tour for a nominal fee. You cannot reserve tours in advance, so get there early to be first in line. If you are a Tennessee Squire Member let them know when you get there for a private tour to the memorabilia room. After the tour, lunch at Miss Mary BoBo’s Boarding House Restaurant in Lynchburg will be the absolute best family style meal you have ever eaten. You better make reservations at the restaurant several weeks in advance if you want to eat. This place has one seating for lunch, and it fills up well in advance.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeMNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome visit to a real piece of American history”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The JD Visitors center and tours are excellent - they treat you like a friend and the tour is free. You even get a nice drink of lemonade at the White Rabbit at the end of your tour.
You can buy a bottle of JD at the White Rabbit Saloon, but you cannot open or imbibe in the county.
You can also get your bottle engraved with a message or your name for only $5!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mqqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun Fall Afternoon Spent During Barbecue Festival...”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Lynchburg, TN is a very interesting place. I always thought, in my mind, that it was much bigger than it is. In fact, Lynchburg is a little tiny town...much like Mayberry! My husband and I went there during the annual barbecue festival that the town hosts-just by coincidence. We took a tour of Jack Daniels Distillery and it was looooonngggggg, but interesting. There were so many people there during that time that we went that I felt like we were in a cattle call. I think it was just a really hectic time to go. But, regardless we enjoyed our time there. People were very friendly and they have a terrific storefront in the main part of town. They, the people that work for Jack Daniels and the town itself, take a lot of pride in the distillery's history and that is something that is really refreshing to see!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank fetching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth the time!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you are in the Nashville area and have a half a day I recommend taking the hour and a half drive down to Lynchburg and touring Jack Daniels. The tours tend to book up so we took the longer taste test tour and it was worth the wait. There is a little town down the road where there are shops and restaurants. It is a tourist trap but neat to see and it was cool to see how they make the whiskey.

This trip was perfect for us because we were in town on business all week and this allowed us to get out of the metro area and see the contry side.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin_from_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Daniel's Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Jack Daniel's Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing