We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Hotel Stay...an experience for Barney & Jeff”
Review of Lomond Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lomond Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Recently went on our first trip to Scotland for the Open and chose the Lomond Hills over the Net and what a great chocie that turned out to be!. If you are after friendly people, great service with nothing too much trouble and some genuine local hospitality from people who end up more your friends than hotel owners, then the Lomond Hills is for you. The atmosphere of a 200+ year old coaching inn combined with what has to be one of the prettiest villages in the UK we found just awesome and in fact as nice as experience as the golf itself. The rooms are smallish but with everything you need besides wasnt everything back then! Food was excellent and ample and a trip to the bar pre-dinner to meet the locals is highly recommended. We are both intending to return with our families! Pop in and see Ronnie and I am sure you will have a similar experience. Just brilliant

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Barney7018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 589 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2010

My wife and I thought we would drop you a quick mail to pay complement to this hotel and its entire staff.
We stayed on Saturday night 03/07/10 for 1 night for a quiet night away and found the hotel to be very friendly and warming towards your guests
The food in the restaurant was first class and the staff’s serving were very pleasant, we had no hassle at all we were offered the menu's to look over and then order as we relaxed in the bar area, we were then taken to our table prior to our starters arriving.(a nice touch)
From the check in through to check out we could not complain about anything
The rooms were very clean and well looked after we also took advantage of the swimming pool and sauna to witch we found very good standard.
The small touches that the hotel provides do make your stay that bit better.
We would definitely and will recommend your hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gibby_nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We arrived here for a wedding and were greeted with enthusiam by the front desk. Able to check in early - a big help when getting ready for a wedding. All the staff were accomdating had a bar lunch and the roast chicken sandwich was fabulous. Great value for money. Rooms large and spacious, lovely toiletries in bathroom, shower cubicle pressure wasn't great, it has to be said. The rooms are quite traditional and would benefit from a change of carpet and lick of paint. The owner Ronnie was floating about and always asked if there was anything he could do - a welcome touch when it was a busy saturday afternoon with a wedding party in as well. Wedding meal was fantastic, as was the buffet. the drinks was very reasonably priced. A nice mug of complementary tea at the end of the night was a lovely touch by ronnie and his team. Bed was super comfy and breakfast was a good standard. Overall fabulous value for money and for a small family run hotel , professional service you would expect in a 5 star hotel in a city. Thank you so much for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie689078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

What a lovely, well positioned Fife hotel to stay in. The staff are very helpful and friendly indeed. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have everything you need to enjoy your stay. The swim/spa is perfectly formed providing our stay with relaxation and tranquility. Would def recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. Breakfast in the morning was a full Scottish fry-up with massive portions....just what you need after a few beers the night before(in the hotel bar). Ronnie the owner and his friendly staff ensured we were well looked after (ham sannies!!!!) and we will be back in the near future for sure!!! See you soon

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank braw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Every member of staff was polite, accomodating and good at their job. Food was fantastic. Bed was comfy. Location quiet and pool nice to relax in at end of the day.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeerAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Stayed here for one night and found it most enjoyable. It is an old hotel that has been renovated and as such has plenty of character, which is a welcome relief from the everything the same hotel chains. The room was clean and the private bathroom modern. The restaurant was most enjoyable and the complimentary Scottish breakfast was first class. I would stay here again for sure and it would be an ideal place to base yourself to explore the area or escape the outside world for a few days. The parking was free and the free internet worked ok.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passenger94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Room was very small but clean and recently decorated. Staff at leisure centre extremely helpful but unfortunately waitressing staff rude and very incompetent. Breakfast took over an hour and a half to serve on the first day and on the second morning, it took over 20 minutes for porridge to arrive. Food in general nothing special.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dale160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freuchie
2.9 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
8 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
558 reviews
13.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
15.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
554 reviews
2.7 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Hills Hotel

Address: High Street, Freuchie KY15 7EY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Freuchie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Price Range: $118 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lomond Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lomond Hills Hotel, established in 1733, is an eighteenth-century converted coaching inn situated at the foot of the Lomond Hills. This comfortable inn is an ideal place to stay when visiting the Kingdom of Fife, whether on business or for pleasure. The Old Inn has been extended over the years and has a candle-lit restaurant serving a superb A La Carte Menu, comfortable lounges and 24 well-appointed en suite bedrooms with full facilities, including free WIFI access using high speed FIBRE. The public bar is always well stocked and offers over 50 malt whiskies and quality Real Ales. Several rooms are available for meetings, conferences, parties, weddings and other functions, from 10 to 200 guests. Call to make an appointment to view what we have on offer. The well-equipped leisure centre is free for guest use comprising of a heated indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and jacuzzi. The village of Freuchie is set amidst rich farming country and is situated in the heart of Fife where it lies within a 25 mile radius of 52 golf courses including St Andrews. Only 25 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 17 miles from St Andrews. Main Line Railway Station (Ladybank) 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lomond Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hills Freuchie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing