We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, cleanliness and welcome.”
Review of Lomond Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lomond Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2009

I have stayed at the Lomond Hills Hotel on many occasions either alone or with my family. The most recent time was 13 April. In the past as a family we have used it as a base at the start of the summer to visit the beautiful coastal villages such as Crail and Anstruther, and have enjoyed visits to St Andrews, the Deer Centre, parks, open farms etc, all of which are within easy reach. We have enjoyed using the swimming pool, but have not used the fitness centre. We have been able to relax as a family in the lounge, and on some occasions my husband has enjoyed watching the football in the bar. As well as the downstairs lounge, there is a recently refurbished lounge upstairs for residents.As we now live a short drive away, as non residents we regularly visit the Hotel especially for High Teas on a Sunday which we find to be very reasonably priced. The food suits my kids and as a vegetarian I always find options which suit me. One of the most important things for us in any hotel or restaurant is the standard of cleanliness, and without exception on our many stays we have found the whole hotel to be spotless. The staff are always friendly and go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a-scottish-visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 578 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2009

Have just returned from a weekend. Were unsure of what to expect after reading some of the reviews, but were pleasantly surprised. Arrived to a very warm welcome by the young receptionist. We had a very comfortable room, four poster bed which was extremely comfortable and immaculately clean. Bathroom was recently refurbished and was lovely. Had fridge, tv, tea and coffee making facilities. also hairdryer and trouser press. What more could you ask for? Very pleasant lounge tastefully decorated,also traditional dining room, which fitted the character of the building. Food was exceptionally good, huge choice of menu and everything we had was excellent. We had gone away for a quiet weekend to celebrate my 60th birthday, our family decided to travel from Gorebridge and Livingston to join us for dinner on the Saturday and all said it was well worth the drive as the food was so good, even produced a cake and sung happy birthday, which was totally unexpected. My husband had also requested flowers and they were waiting in the room when we arrived, very much appreciated. A very big thank you to Ronnie and his staff who all made us very welcome, nothing was any bother and they always made sure we were ok. Thank you for a great weekend and for helping to make my birthday special, your kindness was much appreciated. We will definately be back. Regards, Anne and Ian Dunlop

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piperedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Spent two days with my wife at this village hotel. Great location for exploring lovely Fife.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming. Bedroom excellent and a varied menu with a great choice of freshl7y prepared food. Superb breakfast which kept us going for the rest of the day! Whole hotel was spotless and the swimming pool with sauna and jacussi was an added bonus.
Real ales and 50 malt whiskies just finished off the day....

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fifer2Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

A really good hotel,Very good facillities,friendly ,attentive staff providing really excellent service .worth making a detour if in the area

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suffolkagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Walking into the Lomond is like walking into home. The staff are excellent and a warm welcome is offered. As soon as you walk through the door you feel the relaxed atmosphere and the staff bend over backwards to make sure your stay is a good one. Little things like from a request for a mug of coffee at breakfast to a knowledgeable barman who is happy to spend time talking Whisky with you is appreciated.
I intend to take the family up at some stage. Hotel facilities include a pool, gym and free wifi connection, a facility seldom offered at the bigger chains.
I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel to anyone and would rest assured in the knowledge that Ronnie, Faye, Erica and Tracey and the other staff would make them also feel like a member of the family.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nippynoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

This is such a great little find. I stayed in the Lomond Hills while on business in the area. As a woman travelling on my own it can sometimes be intimidating staying in hotels, but I felt right at home here. The food is great and there's a lovely bar and lounge. Very friendly staff and nice rooms for the money. I would definitely stay in the hotel again when I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelbug1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2008

There were 10 of us at the christmas party night on saturday 13th December. Arrived early afternoon to be met by extremely welcoming staff. Room was bright, well decorated and spacious with a fabulous shower. Party night was excellent, food fantastic, and service second to none. Breakfast rounded off a perfect weekend and although we didnt use the spa facilities we have already booked up again for next year. Would definately recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen_and_Ally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freuchie
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
538 reviews
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
864 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Hills Hotel

Address: High Street, Freuchie KY15 7EY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Freuchie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Price Range: $115 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lomond Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lomond Hills Hotel, established in 1733, is an eighteenth-century converted coaching inn situated at the foot of the Lomond Hills. This comfortable inn is an ideal place to stay when visiting the Kingdom of Fife, whether on business or for pleasure. The Old Inn has been extended over the years and has a candle-lit restaurant serving a superb A La Carte Menu, comfortable lounges and 24 well-appointed en suite bedrooms with full facilities, including free WIFI access using high speed FIBRE. The public bar is always well stocked and offers over 50 malt whiskies and quality Real Ales. Several rooms are available for meetings, conferences, parties, weddings and other functions, from 10 to 200 guests. Call to make an appointment to view what we have on offer. The well-equipped leisure centre is free for guest use comprising of a heated indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and jacuzzi. The village of Freuchie is set amidst rich farming country and is situated in the heart of Fife where it lies within a 25 mile radius of 52 golf courses including St Andrews. Only 25 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 17 miles from St Andrews. Main Line Railway Station (Ladybank) 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Lomond Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hills Freuchie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing