We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stewart & Lynne's Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lomond Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lomond Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stewart & Lynne's Wedding”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at Lomond Hills Hotels as part of a wedding party. As Maid of Honour I wanted to ensure the day went with out hitches. From the moment we arrived to checking out, Ronnie and his staff were always one step ahead of me. Nothing was a problem and the service was very efficient.You made a special day for my mam & Stewart perfect. Ronnie you always spoke to our children when passing which made them feel very important. Our guest's all thoroughly enjoyed themselves.
I would highly recommend The Lomond Hills Hotel for all occasions. The hotel is deceivingly large and spacious, clean, quirky and retains its original features. The staff are very helpful and friendly which made us feel instantly at ease and comfortable. The rooms are clean and whilst not modern, completely served us with very comfortable beds!
The food was delicious for the wedding reception and a nice varied menu for breakfast. The car park attached to the hotel had ample parking but there was also a larger car park across the road.

Ronnie I would just like to say a huge thank you to you and your staff!!

Claire Craig Jack & Sam (The Dawson's) x

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Claire, Craig, Jack and Sam.
That you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
I have pinned a copy on our staff notice board to let our team see that their sterling efforts are appreciated!
We love hosting weddings here at The Lomond Hills Hotel. Granted, they are very hard work but when the Bride and Groom (and their Maid of Honour) give us such encouraging feedback to say that they had a great time, it makes everything so rewarding and worthwhile.
Memories are made of such days and it's good to know that you have those to look back on in years to come.
As for your kids, it was a pleasure looking after Jack and Sam and I am delighted to know that we managed to make them feel special on the big day.
Best regards and thank you again for your great review.
Ronnie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    100
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
133
179
22
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Lomond Hills Hotel was recommended to us for our wedding venue which was 12th April 2014..From the moment we stepped out of the car at the hotel we were made to feel very welcome by Ronnie, Faye and the rest of the staff. The venue was perfect for our needs. The lovely conservatory which holds 40 guests was decorated beautifully in our colour scheme. The Adams Suite which is where we had our reception was decorated to our specific needs. The meal was delicious and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. If we needed anything all we did was ask a member of staff. They were brilliant .I would recommend this venue to anyone for a private function or even just a meal. I finish by saying a HUGE thank-you to Ronnie, Faye, Erica and all of the staff for the dedication they have shown to help my husband and myself to have a perfect day. Thank-you all millions... Mr and Mrs Stewart Wilkinson.xx

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello Mr and Mrs Wilkinson.
I can't tell you how grateful we all are here at The Lomond Hills Hotel for your fabulous review and kind comments after your wedding.
It is so satisfying to know that our efforts to ensure every Bride and Groom and all of their guests leave with memories which last a lifetime. It is such an important day for all those involved that we get a kick out of knowing that all went well and we did our job as well as is humanly possible.
I must also add that it's easy to look after nice people and that was certainly the case on Saturday.
Special mention again goes to young Darren who did such a fantastic job as best man and delivered a heart felt speech!
Congratulations to both of you and very best wishes for a happy and healthy life together.
Finally, thanks for holding your wedding day at The Lomond Hills Hotel. We are very much aware there are alternative venues available in Fife!
Ronnie and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I recently celebrated my retirement by having a function at the Lomond Hills Hotel. The food was excellent. The room was beautifully laid out and the proprietor and all his staff were very friendly and attentive.
All of my 30 guests had a wonderful evening and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. I have no hesitation in recommending this venue to anyone who is wishing to have a private function of any sort.
Irene

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
It was such a pleasure looking after you and you charming guests Irene D at your recent retirement party here at The Lomond Hills Hotel It's easy to look after nice people and this was certainly the case last week.
I'm so glad that the "wee brandy" you enjoyed early in the evening calmed your nerves and you settled down to enjoy your evening ha ha.
All of us at the hotel wish you a long and healthy retirement and thanks again for holding your party here. We are always aware that there are alternative venues in the area.
Best wishes Irene.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freuchie, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Thanks to Ronnie, Faye and the Staff for making our anniversary such a special day. The food and location were excellent, including the catering for some of our guests with special dietary needs. The staff were extremely helpful, all in all fantastic day at a great venue and fantastic value for money. We have booked again for another function for 20, yes - we will be back

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimMS564JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks lots JiMS564JR for taking the time to post such a great review after your recent Ruby Wedding Dinner with us here at The Lomond Hills Hotel.
I'm delighted to know that you, Diane and your guests enjoyed your dinner. We look forward to looking after you on your Golden Wedding Anniversary but hope to see you before then!
Congratulations again from all of the team.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

At our first stay we were made to feel very welcome ,on further visits we we were greeted more like friends/family rather than paying guests, on last visit on seeking breakfast outwith the set time ( Mine Host ) sait sit down and produced coffee, said breakfast chef had arrived took us to dinning room and served up the delicious meal the real deal and got us on our way a first class service, many thanks to Ronnie and staff. be back shortly Bill and Dot.

Room Tip: Room 18 Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you so much Bill M for such a glowing review.
It's great to know that you feel like friends when you are here now. That is exactly what we strive so hard to achieve!
It is very rewarding for our wonderful staff to read the feedback from our guests so I have printed a copy of your comments and pinned them on the staff notice board.
I'm glad that our Full Scottish Breakfast satisfied you on your early departure and look forward to welcoming you back to The Lomond Hills on your next visit to Fife.
Best wishes and thanks again for your very kind review.
Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had to book a hotel at very short notice near to a local hospital. Both Gillian and I have stayed in a number of hotels but the Lomond Hills takes some beating for value for money, customer service, food and friendly atmosphere. Many thanks to Ronnie, Faye and all the Staff for making our stay with you the last few weeks very enjoyable during a stressful time. We will be back again soon and look forward to it. Thanks again Gillian, Glyn and Family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hi Glyn W.
I really do appreciate the time taken by you to post such a lovely review when, perhaps, you have other things more important on your mind.
My staff and I were so happy to be able to look after you and make you feel comfortable during your recent stay with us to be near to a local hospital.
It was great to see you leave happy and relieved and hopefully we will see you and your lovely family back again soon under happier circumstances.
We all wish you both and especially Andrew, all that is good in the future.
Very best wishes and many thanks again.
Ronnie and all the staff at The Lomond Hills Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst in Scotland on business.
The hotel is a lovely little place. The staff could not do enough to help from offering to help with my bags, offering the use of the leisure facilities and recommendations if places to visit/eat.

The only problem I found was the the hotel seemed very dated, a traditional looking hotel is fine but the rooms did look very old and in need of decorating, also a lot of the flooring on the first floor seemed like it needed fixing as 75% of the floor boards either creaked or sank as you walked on them, some to the extent that you panicked that you were going to join those below you.

Overall a really nice little quiet hotel with perfect staff. Just a little attention needs to be made on the look of the place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ElliottOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you ElliotOwen and thank you for taking the time to post your kind review.
I am delighted to read that we looked after you during your recent business trip to Fife.
It's good to know that our fab staff looked after you and helped with your bags and local knowledge.
As you say, we are a "traditional" hotel (built in 1733) and I try to keep it that way. In the ten years since I bought the hotel, (and lots of upgrading later) it still retains the traditional appearance and feel, rather than that of a new "plastic travel express" type of hotel.
Much of the hotel has been re-wired in the last few weeks, hence some repairs to slightly worn floorboards being required. Not, however, 75% of them ha ha. I will attend to this asap so that you notice the improvement on you next visit. All points mentioned in reviews are taken on board and I appreciate you mentioning this. I can assure you that there is no more loved hotel in Scotland, either by our wonderful staff or by the owner (me in this case).
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards, Ronnie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freuchie
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel
13.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St. Andrews
1,099 reviews
18.6 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
485 reviews
2.7 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
787 reviews
17.2 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Hills Hotel

Property: Lomond Hills Hotel
Address: High Street, Freuchie KY15 7EY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Freuchie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lomond Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lomond Hills Hotel, established in 1733, is an eighteenth-century converted coaching inn situated at the foot of the Lomond Hills. This comfortable inn is an ideal place to stay when visiting the Kingdom of Fife, whether on business or for pleasure. The Old Inn has been extended over the years and has a candle-lit restaurant serving a superb A La Carte Menu, comfortable lounges and 24 well-appointed en suite bedrooms with full facilities, including free WIFI access using high speed FIBRE. The public bar is always well stocked and offers over 50 malt whiskies and quality Real Ales. Several rooms are available for meetings, conferences, parties, weddings and other functions, from 10 to 200 guests. Call to make an appointment to view what we have on offer. The well-equipped leisure centre is free for guest use comprising of a heated indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and jacuzzi. The village of Freuchie is set amidst rich farming country and is situated in the heart of Fife where it lies within a 25 mile radius of 52 golf courses including St Andrews. Only 25 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 17 miles from St Andrews. Main Line Railway Station (Ladybank) 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lomond Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hills Freuchie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing