We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only all hotels were run like this one........”
Review of Lomond Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lomond Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I booked Lomondhills for our group of 26 for two nights, without any prior knowledge of the hotel but on the basis on its central location in Fife.
From the outset, Helen and Erica dealt with the booking, and the many changes which inevitably followed, with warmth, friendliness and efficiency. During our stay, none of us was in any way disappointed with our rooms - clean, comfortable, well appointed and well laid out, even mirrors and power sockets in the right places! The hotel's beautiful location also appealed as did its facilities.
The owners, Ronnie and Faye, were very hands-on and helpful, especially when the excellent meals were being served - dietary needs taken care of too - and the (local) staff were also pleasant and efficient.
Nothing was too much trouble and the group, all well-travelled and with a wide experience of hotel accommodation, were impressed with the level of care and attention - "we were looked after really well".

The hotel is a hidden gem, and deserves to be better and more widely known.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 762elis_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

It was so good to learn that your group enjoyed their stay with us at The Lomond Hills Hotel. Thanks for posting such a kind review.
Your party were easy to look after as they were all so lovely (unusual for a large group ha ha).
I know through talking to many of them that they enjoyed their visits to St Andrews and Falkland Palace.
I am especially pleased that our wonderful (local) staff looked after you and hope to have the opportunity to do so again in the future.
Best wishes to all and thanks again.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Lomond Hills Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 575 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We booked this hotel for a 2 night short break. We were delighted with the results!

From checking-in we received a warm, friendly welcome from all the staff. Our room was comfortable and clean, and the leisure facilities were an added bonus.

We were very much at home relaxing in lounge bar before having an amazing dining experience on both nights. The menu is mouthwatering, and when the food arrives you won't be disappointed. This is extended to breakfast service.

The staff are extremely friendly and we will certainly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Hi Christopher!
I was very happy to read your great review....thank you so much for posting it.
The fact that you found our fabulous staff so welcoming and helpful is very pleasing to me. I think they are the best assets we have in the hotel. I have given a copy of your review to our kitchen team to show them that their efforts are appreciated and that you enjoyed the food they prepared for you. We try to make our menu varied and appealing, ensuring that our guests have a choice from steaks, fish, chicken and vegetarian options among others.
It's great to know that you plan to come and stay with us again and we all look forward to looking after you.
Best wishes and thanks again.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My daughter and I travel to watch the British Touring Car event at Knockhill Racing Circuit each year. For several years now we've made the Lomond Hills Hotel the base for our week-end.

Each time we've been given a warm welcome by Ronnie, Faye and all their staff, particularly Erica the Assistant Manager. The food really is of the highest standard and is a highlight of our week-end, and when eaten in the lounge bar with a couple of pints then a wee dram to finish off, it's the perfect end to a long day out.

On this occasion we forgot that they stop serving food quite early on a Sunday evening, however, as we sat at the bar trying to decide what to do, Ronnie appeared unbidden from the kitchen with two rounds of the most succulent roast beef sandwiches either of us have ever tasted. On this occasion I couldn't even buy him a dram to say thank you, as he was barman for the night!

I've read some of the other reviews and must say that if you're expecting a hotel where the room has the standard international layout and you could be anywhere in the world, then Lomond Hills is not the place for you; this is an old inn which is family owned and run and has it's quirks! Yes, there might be wee bits here and there where the decoration or fabrics could be brightened up, but the warmth of the staff more than makes up for any short-comings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J100CJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Assistant Manager at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review! It is really nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again and we thoroughly appreciate your comments.
It is great to have you stay with us every year, when you're in the area attending the BTC event at Knockhill, and hope you see the improvements we are striving to make in and around the hotel. We're sorry you missed our High Tea on Sunday but I'm more sorry to have personally missed the Roast Beef Sandwiches! I'm sure Ronnie will be sure to have a dram with you on your return next year!
See you soon!
Best Regards,
Erica :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a lunch in the restaurant midweek at the reasonable price of £7.95 for two courses. There was ample to choose from the daily special menu for this price. The a-la-carte menu is also available should a wider choice be necessary. The dining room is tastefully decorated and quite homely. Our meal portions were quite big and they were well cooked. The dining room was quiet when we were there so there wasn't much atmosphere but it did not detract from the experience of having an enjoyable meal. We will certainly be eating there again in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marguerita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Assistant Manager at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your positive words! We are so glad you enjoyed your lunch with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Erica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed for two nights in late August. The second night was also the reception for the wedding of a friend's daughter. The owner was always around making sure everything was going well. The food at the dinner was excellent, as were the two breakfasts. I particularly appreciated the veggies sausages at breakfast, and also the vegetarian potato/cheese melt they whipped up specially for dinner. The wifi was good, the shower had great pressure and plenty of hot water, and the room had plenty of space and a comfortable bed. About the only thing that I could complain about was that the skylight in the bedroom seemed to be stuck shut.

Room Tip: There are some queen-sized beds and some twin ones, so reserve early to get the queen. Rooms 20-22 a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Many thanks for your very kind review.
We are all pleased to learn that you enjoyed your trip to Scotland for what really was a great wedding. hopefully you left with some good photos and memories!
I have passed on your comments to our staff who very much appreciate them. I have also taken on board the window which was difficult to open and have now had it repaired. I hope this did not spoil your stay too much.
Best wishes and thanks again.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This Hotel lived up to everything we expected! My daughter was married nearby, and the reception was held within the Hotel. The assistance before the event was excellent with advice from both Ronnie and Erica. Relatives who were traveling from near and far asked to be able to check in as early as possible to allow them to attend the Church Service - all their requests were accommodated. On the day of the wedding, the Hotel and the external environs were absolutely spotless. Ronnie and Faye could not have been more helpful, they took personal charge of all of the arrangements, with Ronnie acting as master of ceremonies. The food was excellent, with no complaints from any of the guests. Guests were asked to leave the function suite for a very short time whilst it was rearranged for dancing, however there are sufficient other rooms within the hotel to cater for everyone without feeling squashed.

The majority of the rooms were taken by guests attending the wedding. The room we occupied was very fresh and so comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was cooked fresh to order, with a plentiful supply of hot tea and coffee. We could not thank Ronnie and Faye and all of the staff for their assistance throughout the build up and during the event itself.

If you are looking for a wedding venue in Fife, then this surely is the place to be.

Room Tip: Unfortunately - were too tired to use the spa facilities!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hi Lindsay and thank you so much for such a fantastic review!!!
I am delighted to see that you were happy with the service you, your family and guests received at Harriet's and Paul's wedding.
We know how important a wedding is to all concerned and do all we can to ensure that such a huge day is enjoyed by everyone attending and the happy memories live on for many years. We also know there is a large choice of venues so I would like to thank you for choosing The Lomond Hills Hotel for the biggest day in your daughter's life!
All the staff at the hotel wish Harriet and Paul all the health and happiness in their life together.
The cow hands can't marry her now ha ha .
Thanks again.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is an area with limited choice but perhaps B&B is safer! This hotel is well located in a village with good parking. Close to Falkland Palace and Parks. So we thought it would be good base. For August high season it is reasonable value for a 3* hotel but we thought it failed our expectations.
The impression as you enter is of a tired house where the owners struggle. As you progress through, you find many different carpets testifying to trying to keep up. passing a housekeeper ironing in the middle of the sitting room upstairs, to discover a small room right by a (very noisy) fire door. No lift.
The room was double glazed as over the road but that made it airless (it was August) and just seemed grimy lacking clean paint and patched. Not to say it was not cleaned properly - it just didn't feel that way. Wire and plugs all over, the smallest TV I have ever seen and no space to put anything down. Towels on the bed as no space in the tiny bathroom, again looking grimy.
On the plus side, excellent free Wifi and a large warm pool.
Food: Diner is not possible on Sunday unless you give up the afternoon for high tea (of pasta etc).Breakfast was a mystery as it looked fine on paper and appearance but both of us found the cooked version lay heavily inside for much of the day. On the second day followed the example of a French lady and just had fruit and yoghurt which was fine.

Room Tip: Avoid being near the fire door outside #4! Unless the squeak is fixed...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_fool_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this review
26 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am always willing to hear the thoughts of our guests and see how we compare with previous hotels they have visited. Interesting to look at your historical reviews on Tripadvisor. Not one excellent. Too much expected for the price you pay perhaps?
For the information of your review readers and to avoid doubt, our breakfast menu (cooked freshly to order) is as follows: Apologies to readers for the time it may take to read it).
Selection of nine cereals, prunes, grapefruit, freshly cooked porridge.
Fresh fruit basket containing six different fresh fruits
Selection of eight teas and freshly brewed coffee
Fresh morning rolls, croissants baked on the premises, brown and white toast.
Four jams, honey, four marmalades.
Selection of five different yoghurts
Cooked selection.
Choice of two cooked fish (kippers, poached smoked haddock in milk with poached eggs)
Full Vegetarian Breakfast
Full Scottish Breakfast or your own choice from grilled bacon, pork sausage, potato scone, grilled haggis, grilled black pudding, mushrooms, tomato, beans. Eggs as you want, fried, scrambled, poached.
I cannot work out from the above how you were not satisfied with your breakfast. Check out other reviews posted by delighted guests!
There are indeed different carpets and decor throughout. The hotel dates back to 1733 (a feature loved by many of our return and foreign guests). As the building has expanded, so too has the style of room and corridors. We are not a modern, plastic type purpose built chain hotel but family owned and run.
You are correct in saying we do not serve dinner on a Sunday. We do, however, serve High Tea until 6.45pm (well after the afternoon), which is extremely popular as we are full every week. We do indeed have a pasta dish on the menu, together with two roasts and a choice of 15 other dishes, followed by tea or coffee, toast and preserves, cakes and delicious home made scones....no need to choose pasta if it's not to your liking!!!
We have just had our busiest year since I bought the hotel nine years ago (no sign of the struggle you mention, although many other hotels, bars and restaurants have closed during the recession).
I agree there are visible cables in some rooms. These are required to power all the electrical appliances Visit Scotland insist on to achieve our three star grading. In a 280 year old building with three feet thick stone walls, it is not always easy to raggle cables.
The TV is a standard 18 inch model, popular in most hotels rooms.
Granted (again mainly due to the age and character of the hotel), we do not have a lift. I know this does not normally cause a problem as the bedrooms are on the first floor. Reception staff always offer to help with luggage on check in.
Further, I was interested to learn that you found the hotel grimy.....very out of keeping with the huge majority of reviews, many of which compliment us on the extremely high standard of cleanliness.
It is also our standard practice to place towels on the beds for ease of use and high visibility, regardless of the size of the room.
Room 4 is fully equipped (as per requirements of Visit Scotland) with a double wardrobe, a three drawer chest / desk, two bedside cabinets with drawers and a table. Ample storage I would have thought for a two night stay?
Our staff are just fantastic and appreciated by all who stay with us.
Again, thanks for your review and I will act on the points you raised therein that are valid. The squeaky fire door outside the room has been oiled. I apologise for the disturbance caused.
Ronnie, Proprietor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freuchie
2.9 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
531 reviews
13.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
854 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Hills Hotel

Address: High Street, Freuchie KY15 7EY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Freuchie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Price Range: $113 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lomond Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lomond Hills Hotel, established in 1733, is an eighteenth-century converted coaching inn situated at the foot of the Lomond Hills. This comfortable inn is an ideal place to stay when visiting the Kingdom of Fife, whether on business or for pleasure. The Old Inn has been extended over the years and has a candle-lit restaurant serving a superb A La Carte Menu, comfortable lounges and 24 well-appointed en suite bedrooms with full facilities, including free WIFI access using high speed FIBRE. The public bar is always well stocked and offers over 50 malt whiskies and quality Real Ales. Several rooms are available for meetings, conferences, parties, weddings and other functions, from 10 to 200 guests. Call to make an appointment to view what we have on offer. The well-equipped leisure centre is free for guest use comprising of a heated indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and jacuzzi. The village of Freuchie is set amidst rich farming country and is situated in the heart of Fife where it lies within a 25 mile radius of 52 golf courses including St Andrews. Only 25 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 17 miles from St Andrews. Main Line Railway Station (Ladybank) 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Lomond Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hills Freuchie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing