We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of House
High Street Location Hand-turned oak!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Front of House
High Street Location
Hand-turned oak!
Breakfast in style
Relax in comfort
Dining
Plenty of Space!
Green and Serene
Twin bedroom
Champagne shower
Whirlpool bliss
Shower room
A peaceful sun-trap
Ideal for barbecues
Al fresco at The Covenanter
A Little Palace
Travel back in time
Pitching camp
Coffee and Violins!
View from front door
Church, Fountain, Palace, Pub!
Old meets new
Wonderful walks on the doorstep
Falkland Estate Woodlands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Falkland, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paulfeno
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Perfect location in the centre of Falkland Village. Excellent communication from owner & the house was lovely & very comfortable

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2016
Thanks for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. Best regards, Tim and the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p47rick
Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“We should have stayed longer”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We spent four days here in May and we should have stayed longer.
The reason for a visit was a wedding in St Andrews with the reception a couple of miles from Falkland - and all that was great.
But we loved the town where there was far more to do (and eat) than we had expected. A great place - the Pillars of Hercules (?) - with a huge range organic type food to eat there or buy and take home - we did both. And the Palace and some great walks; with all that on the doorstep.
Best of all was Ross House. Right in the middle (but no parking problems) with more accommodation that the two of us needed. All spotless and well equipped. So what was wrong? Well there was alight switch in the kitchen that we never found!
Go there and relax properly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: A really comfortable place right in the centre of the town
Liked least: I don't remember (which says a lot!)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2016
A sterling review that! Thank you so much. Very welcome back any time. All best wishes, Tim and the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn F
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely character cottage in a scenic and spectacular village. Nothing about the place failed to impress. We were so comfortable staying here and had a hard time prioritising what to do of endless possibilities. Trips to Edinburgh and St Andrews were well rewarded and we were amazed by the centrality of Falkland village for so many options. The cottage was a lovely restful place to return to after our adventures and we were made to feel very welcome with all the extras. Will be staying again to continue with our to-do list as there are other parts of Fife and also beautiful Perthshire that beckon. Great for walkers and shoppers alike. All the best to Tim and his team and hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury and comfort
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2016
Thanks so much for your glowing review. Great to know our efforts are being rewarded. Would be delighted to see you at the cottage again. Very best regards, Tim and team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warffum, The Netherlands
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This house is so nice decorated and good equiped, Very homely.
Liked least: With two tall sons the size of bedding is always a problem,
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time and trouble to review Ross House and Falkland. We are thrilled you were comfortable and cosy in the cottage and found it well situated for your day trips and local visits to shops and pubs. We would love you to return to Ross House for your next Scottish holiday. All the best, Tim and the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alan K
Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
“everthing we wanted and more”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Fantastic location for day trips, walking and golf, delightful village with pubs and restaurants, cosy cottage with every amenity and comfortable beds, clean bathrooms with lovely toiletries, welcome pack generously provided, could not fault it.... Thank you Tim

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2015
You're most welcome and thanks so much for your kind comments. Glad you were comfortable and found plenty to do. All best wishes and would love you to return, Tim.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
1 review
“Lovely cottage, beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ross House. It is beautiful cottage very well equipped with plenty of books, games and guides about the area. The kitchen is especially well kitted out with everything you could need and we enjoyed the bean coffee and bubbles. Loved the village with its old palace and gardens. Loved the location for exploring Fife. Loved the high quality linen and toiletries not rationed in tiny bottles. We would love to return and are already making a list for our next Falkland adventure. Only complaint was a week was not quite long enough so booking for two weeks next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2015
Thanks a bunch for your excellent review. We are so glad you enjoyed the cottage and surrounds and will certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Very best wishes from the team at Ross House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelly_12
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful place and house, which could be made even better.”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This house looks fab on photos and does not disappoint. Every modern need is taken care of, although lounge TV is non HDMI and there is no DVD player for those who stay indoors. Treats are available on arrival, courtesy of the owner. The advice not to use underfloor heating was difficult as the kitchen floor in particular was very cold in the mornings! Beds in both double rooms are wonderfully comfortable.
Falkland is a beautiful town full of customs old and new. Ideally situated for touring Perth and Kinross area amongst others. Local pubs serve great food, Lomond tavern specials are not to be missed, booking is recommended.
Owner should be aware of the "musty" smell especially downstairs, likely due to no one having recently stayed. The twin beds are in the downstairs room which may benefit from swopping with the upstairs lounge, currently very dark. Lighting could benefit from thoughtful adjustments.
The garden was badly overgrown, so we were unable to use the BBQ on the date we had hoped. Also became entangled in a rose bush trying to access the key safe! However, the owner quickly sent an efficient gardener who did her best but only had time to clear one part of the back garden.
If a "return incentive" was offered we would be very tempted!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location is super. A beautiful house which would benefit from more loving care.
Liked least: The musty smell, the unloved garden and the cold floors!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2015
Thanks very much for your helpful review. We are always looking for ways to improve and so welcome all feedback good and bad. Glad your overall impression of the cottage and village is a favourable one and we can only apologise for the areas in which you felt we fell short. The underfloor heating in the kitchen and bathrooms can be a god-send on chilly mornings and we are sorry you felt discouraged to use it. Please be assured this was not our intention and we supply usage instructions in the cottage welcome booklet. We turned them off for the summer as when the weather is good, the heat they produce can become stifling and we were concerned about receiving complaints to this effect. Musty smells can be a problem in very old buildings and we have now investigated the source (an ancient drain in the utility room which needed sanitising) and applied liberal amounts of caustic soda to dispel them. It's interesting you suggest swapping the living room with the downstairs bedroom as this is how we had the rooms arranged whilst living there ourselves but when we converted to holiday letting, we felt the downstairs room was a little space-constrained for larger parties of five or six. As for the garden, apologies our usual gardener has been unwell and we had to find someone to step in at short notice. We will also be dealing with the vicious rose that in true fairy-tale tradition seems to have got out of control and wrapped itself disobligingly around the key safe. We hope these experiences were not too off-putting and would be very willing to offer you a return incentive should you wish to stay again. Very best wishes, Tim.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing