We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven Glorious Days and Nights In This Beautiful Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Covenanter Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Falkland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A wonderful friendly and helpful welcome as we were shown to our accommodation.....the self contained apartment attached to the Covenanter Hotel! Everything was just as we required for our week long visit! We ate at the Hotel Restaurant on two evenings and we were presented with wonderful cuisine on each occasion.....both the owner and his assistant being excellent chefs....and the variety and creativity of dishes available on the menu was second to none!

WE HOPE TO RETURN ASAP

Room Tip: We had opted for the self catering apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimboSaundersfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 105 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just returned from a second visit to the Covenanter Hotel, this is becoming my get away from the stress place. The staff are wonderful in this small hotel and the food is exceptional.
Situated in the village square across from the Bruce well and Falkland Palace is a small hotel called the Covenanters, it only has 3 or 4 rooms so booking early is advised. The rooms are very clean and the staff can not do enough to make your stay an enjoyable one. The breakfasts are fantastic especially the full Scottish breakfast, but if traditional Scottish breakfast is not your thing then they are plenty of cereals and proper orange juice and other juices none of your diluted rubbish that is so often served in hotels.
Dinner in the hotel is again wonderful food and the chocolate brownie sundae is recommended, my only warning is don't expect to stay loyal to a diet plan in this place.
Out and about, Falkland is a lovely village with lots of fine walking areas, the streets are clean and well kept and if you feel a little more energetic then a walk up the Maspie Den is excellent, or if sitting by a pond is more to your liking then the pond beside the gatehouse of the Estate is idyllic like something straight from a chocolate box. A gentle 15 minute stroll to the Pillars of Hercules is also recommended where you can get organic food in the café. Of course there is also the Palace if history is your thing, all in all this is one of the nicest places in Scotland and very central for visiting the East Nuek of Fife with the small fishing villages of St. Monans, Anstruther, Pittenweem and Crail. St. Andrews is only a 30 minute drive away and if you like horse riding then the Barbarafield Stables in Cuper are well worth a visit for a hack in the country.
I can't wait until my next visit but don't take my word for it check it out for yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Photos1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent lunch and a great price. I couldn't find any fault. Great friendly service, matched with great food and a menu to suit most people. This is always very convienent after visiting Falkland Palace.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KieranG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I went for a meal with the family and it was lovely! Service and staff were good but towards the end of the night it became slow. Lovely place right in the centre of falkland! The banoffee cheesecake was to die for! Everything was lovely until further on and it became a bit chilly! We then went through to the bar bit but they had turned the stove off! We will deffinitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poshtottie23898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Hotel, The Staff, The Food, The Location, The Scenery are Brilliant.
Posted: Sat, Jan 12 2008

I first stayed at the Covenantor in 1990. It was during a rather painful period in my life and the then Proprietor, George Menzies gave a warm welcome even though I was a stranger. I had no luggage, I was tired, bedraggled and appeared from nowhere as I had just driven all night from Preston. There was an incident during the middle of the first night with a couple in the opposite room, and which caused some loss of sleep. I was able to help solve it and in the morning George offered a free stay for another night and free evening meal for my trouble. He did not have to do this as the incident was sorted without his presence. The food in the restaurant was 5star and the chance of sleeping over the quiet and beautiful town square was equally magic. I awoke feeling refreshed and looked forward to coming back. For those of you who love olde worlde villages and towns......this is the place! The Palace (which is directly opposite) is beautiful. It is full of history. A tour is organised most days and is worth every penny of the entrance fee. The surrounding area and Falkland Hill is a must to walk. The people are extremely friendly and there is a nine hole golf course about 500yds away for budding golfers. Lots of little olde worlde villages to see and things to do. If you must do some shopping then you can either go to Kirkcaldy which is about 12 miles away ,or Perth, that ancient and beautiful city, which is only about 10 miles away. If you stay in Falkland, the evening entertainment varies from a very quiet local type of pub to a Karaoke evening at the Stag. If you are lucky enough to stay in the room overlooking the ancient square then you will hear the lovely background sounds of the fountain feeding the old monument horse drinking trough in the centre of the square. The Covenantor is now run by other proprietors and although the theme has moved towards 'Italian' , the initial hospitality was no less than Georges. A mention must go to Martin (who almost runs the place). Martin has got a fantastice sense of humour and never seems to take a day off. He has been there for about twenty years. I have tried to stay at The Covenator every year for over seventeen years and any year I can't get up there is a sad year for me. JohnHayes

UPDATE: 2013.

I refuse to ever step through the doors again after this beautiful Hotel was ruined by the present owners and the one previous. The Beautiful old oak panelling in both the bar area and the dining area has been ripped out and replaced with concrete (pretend stone) slabs. The dining room is just another 'cafe' with laminate flooring and modern Ikea style chairs and tables. The service is a match for McDonalds and the Olde Worlde Scottish atmosphere has totally gone. They have also sacked Martin who made the place special. Folks...it is now just another 'pretend' Italian cafe with some rooms to let. I am not knocking the food (I don't like Pizza orientated meals anyway) but the I could'nt eat in there with no atmosphere. Its gone. Ruined. Its just another cafe.
What is the point of visiting or staying in a beautiful old village steeped in tradition ...and have to eat and sleep above a glorified Costa/McDonalds cafe?.

Room Tip: Try The Crees Inn, Abernethy. Just a few miles further on.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Johnh2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We booked for 3 nights and had a value for money meal on the first night with nice extras such as olives and bread and olive oil. The room was very clean, but also cold, the heating only being on for a few hours a day. Having left our key with the lady on duty, We returned on the second evening at 10 pm hoping for a drink in the hotel bar to find the building locked and we were unble to gin access. Luckily a passerby was able to locate a staff member who came to our rescue. It was a very quiet time of year, and as a result the same cakes were on display in the tea room for the length of our stay which did put us off trying any. We did find some nice local wlks taking in the Lomond Hills.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judycosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had booked the Hotel for the location and on the basis of prior recommendations as it sounded charming. We stayed for three nights so we got a good feel for the place. We dined in on the first night and the food was fine, if a bit uninspiring. On arrival there is no reception and when someone arrived to greet us we were shown to our room without even checking our names. The room was satisfactory but not up to the deluxe tag that it was marketed with and the ensuite had clearly been installed by a relative of Heath Robinson! The stairwell had a large stain on the wall and peeling paper where they had had a leak but not resolved the problem. The stair carpet was also dirty and stained and detracted from an otherwise pleasant impression. The heating in the room was not adequate for the cold ambient temperature and this was not helped by the thin duvet. On the Friday evening we returned to our hotel at 10pm to find ourselves locked out and the hotel in darkness. A passing local recognised our dilemma and helpfully contacted the manager to come and let us in. Evidently they were unaware that we did not have a key, despite it hanging in their key rack. We were not even offered a drink in recompense for our wait out in the cold. All in all, the Hotel has potential but needs someone managing it other than the chef trying to handle all aspects.

Room Tip: The Apartment seems to be popular. The Stewart Room is on a corner so ok for outlook but liable to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falkland
1.9 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
590 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
0 mi away
The Bruce Inn
The Bruce Inn
#1 of 3 in Falkland
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Covenanter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Covenanter Hotel

Address: The Square High Street, Falkland KY15 7BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Falkland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Falkland
Price Range: $94 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Covenanter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Covenanter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Covenanter Hotel Falkland, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing