We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing change”

The Covenanter Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Falkland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A refreshing change”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Three of us had a light lunch on a lovely sunny sunday. we all had sandwiches which were excellent value for money beautifully presented on fresh bread with delicious and generous fillings. Although we only had sandwiches it was a refreshing change to go somewhere these days that represented good honest value. We will definately return in the near future for a meal from the main menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    60
    15
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, Brilliant atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had a really lovely time here after reading reviews. Originally went for a light cafe resfreshment and cozy chat but instead had a lovely lunch.
The hand cut chips were amazing, the coleslaw fabulous!! and the chicken and bacon burger, well that was delicious.
The decor of the restaurant is really tasteful and suits it's vintage surroundings.
Definitely somewhere where i shall revisit.
Only downside was the toilet and the traybake.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steff1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Birthday lunch for aged husband. Good choice. Food good and plenty of it. Room could have been a wee bit warmer.Will definitely return another time..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaggieCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place, great location.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The former 17th century coaching inn has been transformed (very tastefully) into a modern and beautifully designed dinning experience.

My wife and I have often traveled to Falkland and seen the coffee-shop/restaurant but never ventured in, until now!

Was very please as the cleanliness and elegant decor. Service although staff were polite was a little on the slow side (could have been to the Xmas break and they weren't expecting a rush of customers?). Meal I can gladly confirm was NOT a disappointment, portion control was just right, veg was cooked to perfection and the meat was a delight. My wife enjoyed the dessert and would recommend it to anyone.

On the whole would definitely return to the establishment in the future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The food and service were fantastic I could not fault it, the covenanter is under new management and it should in the level of service

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Covenanter Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Covenanter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing