We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property for a weekend”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ladywell House

Ladywell House from the north
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ladywell House from the north
view from the front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Ladywell House from the north
view from the front door
Floor Plan
Drawing room
tv room
Kitchen
Kitchen with AGA
Dining Room
Dining Room
conservatory
conservatory
Shand Kydd bedroom
Shand Kydd bathroom
Palace bedroom
Diana's bedroom....decorated for her.
Lomond bedroom
Mezzanine landing
Family bathroom
Mezzanine bathroom
Harry bedroom
Top floor family bathroom
Wills' bedroom
Large garden
Not included !!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Falkland, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Medic2015
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent property for a weekend ”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We visited here for a boys weekend away and the welcome we received was fantastic. This house is beautiful and is steeped in history. It is large with inspiring views of the nearby countryside and has a large garden. The house itself has a good kitchen with an aga and has numerous spacious airy rooms!
Thoroughly enjoyed our visit !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2017
Thank you all for your comments, and we are delighted that 'the boys' had a great weekend. Good luck for the big day, and may the sun shine for you. Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had an excellent stay including 10 adults and 5 children. The house itself was beautiful with lots character and nooks and crannies while still being very clean & having the mod cons you would hope for.
We found the kitchen in particular to be extremely well kitted out & found we need not have brought all the extra utensils we thought we might need such as electric hand whisks & a pasty brush etc. The rooms were also all a very good size which makes a change as often in these bigger places the rooms are vastly different in size/ standard & someone has to draw the short straw.
There is also a large play area that includes a trampoline, swing & slide just next to the main garden which was great for the kids.
As for Falkland itself we didn't actually have it on our radar before this visit & really ended up there as it was the only house that suited our needs within our budget so the location became less important. Turned out to be a great place. We were especially lucky that we got sunshine & all the daffodils & spring flowers were out so it looked particularity pretty with lots of things to do for families & couples alike- palace & gardens, muddy boots for kids, beer gardens/ coffee shops and walks.
Would I recommend this place? Absolutely!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2017
Thank you so much!! Delighted that the house was perfect for you and the group. The sunshine certainly helps, and we are glad that the village was a bonus. Take care and come again soon. Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Tranquil quiet and stately”
Reviewed December 9, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I hired Ladywell to run a meditation retreat with a small group and it did not disappoint. The character of the house and gardens made everyone feel pampered, special, and upon a real escape from 'normal life' for a few days. I would highly recommend it and we shall certainly come back again. In particular, being there in the autumn frost with the roaring fire brought our time at Ladywell to life!

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2016
Thank you so much, and delighted that the house was suitable for your group. It is quiet and has a warm and comfortable ambiance...perfect for a retreat! We look forward to your return with another group in the future. Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieL54
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect place to stay for a large group”
Reviewed November 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Ladywell House is a very comfortable home, full of character, set in beautiful surroundings.
Ten of us spent a very warm, comfortable week in this well equipped and extremely well furnished house. It is spacious, full of charm and provides special places for everyone which is important when you are in a large group. The owner lives nearby and Is welcoming and very helpful at all times.
Highly recommended holiday home.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review, and we do appreciate the compliments and praise. We look forward to your return with another group or your family and friends. Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Thanks so much for the 'poetic' description and the kind comments...very much appreciated and we feel honoured to have such appreciative guests. Do arrange a return whenever you can find an excuse!! Best wishes. Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
george m
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant accommodation, brilliant weekend.”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We rented Ladywell House as a surprise for my wife's birthday. Our group consisted of children and adults ranging from 7 years to 80 years and everyone had a great stay. The large walled garden is ideal for the children to play safely and the house is large enough for everyone to have there own space.
The house itself is in immaculate condition with excellent facilities. We cooked most of our meals and everything was available to cater for a large group. The large dining room was ideal for our big family meal. There is also a dining area within the conservatory which looks onto the lovely garden. It was nice to sit with the sun shining (honest) eating breakfast.
Duncan the owner was available at any time, if we required any advice or information.
If you are thinking about going away for a family party, or intend do a bit of sight seeing in the Fife area, I couldn't recommend Ladywell House highly enough. Excellent accommodation with first class facilities

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It felt like a home.
Liked least: If everyone was showering at the same time the water ran cold. This in no way detracts from the standard of the accommodation.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2016
Wow...! Thank you so much for the lovely positive review of Ladywell House, very much appreciated. We are delighted that the family had a great time, and do hope that you will find an excuse to return one day. Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic weekend”
Reviewed February 9, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Stayed at Ladywell house for my husband's birthday with group of friends and family. House is beautiful, very grand and impeccably presented. Lovely open fire which was great on a cold January evening. Lots of parking if there are multiple cars. Beautiful en-suite in the master bedroom, just a shame I didn't have time to lounge around in the bath! Duncan was very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

Village of Falkland is great for a visit, lots of nice craft shops, cafes and pubs. Some of the group made the most of being on the doorstep of the Lomond Hills with a great day of walking.

Can't wait for an excuse to back although hopefully in the summer this time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, and we do hope that you will find an excuse to come here again at some time in the future. Take care. Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing