We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aangan Restaurant

Aangan Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 56 Restaurants in Cupar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I went here for a meal with my gorgeous wife and it’s easy to say that a gorgeous meal was had as well. Absolutely brilliant service and food, the garlic bread was the best I’ve ever had. Ii will definitely be going back again. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Doonzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devfromaangan, Manager at Aangan Restaurant, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi
Thanks for your feedback on TA. We appreciate the time you have put in to write this review. Its always a pleasure serving guests like you. So, do give us a chance again the next time you pass by.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    32
    8
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shall Return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Best bits :
All of the food ordered was very tasty indeed and very reasonably priced. The mixed platter starter was a very good size portion and pretty tasty too.

The main meal portion sizes were good as all come in individual serving bowls. We were a table of 5 and nobody went home hungry that's for sure !!

The furniture and décor were very nice and welcoming. A small sized dining room but very much in keeping with many Cupar restaurants really. Not hurried or hassled in any way so if you like a reasonably paced eating experience you will be pleased.

Bad Bits:
Mostly all points noted below were relayed direct to the Manager on the night who was open to constructive criticism and would hopefully take action to better our next experience where possible.

We attempted several calls in the afternoon to make a late Saturday booking by calling the website Tel nos. Only eventually answered at 5pm when open. This may explain a less than half full room on a Saturday evening !! Call divert to mobiles ??

Service was slow and haphazard, apparently due to a new (and only !) waiter. The take away service seemed busy (as there were more people in the tiny 'waiting area' waiting to collect than were dining!!), and a 'privacy screen' to divide the 2 services may have improved the dining experience.

Although not too dirty to disturb, the Gents toilets looked as though they had not been cleaned properly for some time (days), and extra attention to these areas would be recommended.

Conclusion:
All in all, we had an enjoyable evening, with some tasty food and drink, and will return to see if things have improved where needed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GaznHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devfromaangan, Manager at Aangan Restaurant, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your comment on TA. We appreciate the time and effort you have put in to gather your thoughts and put across your ideas to help us improve. We are looking into the 'call diversion' and the 'privacy screen' option. Sorry to hear that you were not happy with the service that night but we have been trying our best to train staff efficiently and as quickly as possible to give our customers a satisfactory experience. We will certainly take your feedback on board and hopefully next time tick all the boxes. Looking forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Monans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Totally relaxing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Went here with friends last Friday having previously been here with my husband and previously reviewed it under different management. Lovely friendly welcome - liked the candles at the top of the stairs. Food was very fresh and we all dipped into each others food - all different tastes and not any of your strong colours - attentive waitress as was the 2 other waitresses previously - love it that you don't get asked how your food is every 10 minutes. Background music just right - I love authentic music - hate radio 1 type music you would turn off in the car. Lighting was about right - maybe a bit dimmer when it got darker if on a dimmer switch - easily rectified if no dimmer switch to fit one. Restaurant was nearly full when we arrived on a booked table for 7pm - other clients a mix of well bahaved families and couples and people out with friends like ourselves. Now for little things I would tweak or make suggestions for - The lighting for the restaurant outside was too low - our friends with us kept saying where is it and I will admit I was nearly there before I thought we have arrived - also the entrance does not have a picture of how lovely it is upstairs and not very authentic pictures on walls - not liking the brown walls - would love to see colours of spice even in stripes - it needs the wow factor to entice you in - think blue lit restaurant also in Cupar. Waited outside the ladies toilet for about 5 mins thinking someone was in and waitress put her shoulder to the door and it was empty so need to sort the door out. Also as we eat out in Edinburgh at Indian restaurants frequently - they have crystal glasses on the tables and you know it is real luxury. We do not have a good indian restaurant near my house and I so want this one to be our local - it takes 35 mins to get to Cupar and our friends travelled the same distance to meet us and they were equally impressed. All in all a wonderful non hurried experience - we were there for 3 hours and had such fun with our friends. We will be back - SOON

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jillbentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devfromaangan, Manager at Aangan Restaurant, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thanks for leaving us with your feedback on TA. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food that night and were happy with the service as well. Here, at Aangan we strive to bring to you the authentic taste of India along with perfect service and your comments encourage us to persevere that. Would also like to thank you for your suggestions and want to assure you that its all being looked at. We understand getting a well lit entrance and the right shades on the wall do create a huge impact and that is something we have got on our 'to do' list. Thank you once again for your comments and looking forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchtermuchty, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great meal and educational as well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We found this restaurant via Google and were very happy with the experience.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent.
We had an interesting discussion with the manager about Indian culture - quite enlightening.
An Aangan Combo was a great choice for a starter, it would have served three people - there were two of us. Lovely different tastes and textures.
I had the Butter Chicken which was lovely and creamy - a good choice.
My wife had the Hyderabadi Qorma - I tried a wee piece and loved it.
The bill was very reasonable for what we had consumed.
If you are in the area, please try this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlasdairMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devfromaangan, Manager at Aangan Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi there
Am very grateful to you for taking time out to write this review. Its a pleasure serving guests like you who recognise our efforts and appreciate it. Glad you liked the chat about our culture and found it enlightening. Would like to thank you again for leaving this comment and recommending us to other TA readers. Looking forward to see you again soon.
Thanks and Regards
Dev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent authentic food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Went to Aangan again last night and even this time they did not fail to meet the expectations. The food was absolutely gorgeous and what a value for money. Me and my partner ordered the early evening menu which was only £8.50 per person and we thoroughly enjoyed the mouth watering Kolkata chilli chicken, haggis pakora, ra ra gosht, goanese fish curry with beautiful rice and naan. Its a great value for money and we will definitely come back again and recommend friends and family as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devfromaangan, Manager at Aangan Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi
Would like to thank you to gather your thoughts about us on TA and leaving a positive feedback. Glad you liked the food that night. We hope to meet your expectations every time you decide to give us a chance. Looking forward to see you again soon.
Thanks
Dev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aangan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aangan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing