We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a miss!”
Review of The Stag Inn - CLOSED

The Stag Inn
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Pub Grub
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Give it a miss!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Please beware the other reviews, we ate here today and although the menu proclaims fresh seasonal food there was absolutely nothing fresh about ours! The salad was brown and the tomatoes mushy, the tangy cheese in the toasties was a cheese slice and the bread was not exactly toasted, soggy. I had said 'how can anyone mess up a toastie' as we selected from the menu. Now I know. The chips were partially cooked although some of the sides had missed the crisping needed to call them chips. My lager was wierd tasting I mean rank. There was a dead beetle under my chair all crispy unlike the chips or the lettuce come to think of it! The waitress was lovely though really friendly and polite and seemed genuinely pleased to welcome us. The baby changing use at your own peril it has a slope that Mount Everest would envy, take a mat and use the floor! The music was dead loud and the tv was on above our heads...we were the only people in there apart from a dejected looking couple on the way out as we started. Cosy it is not, cheapish it is.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Abby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    4
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hants UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent homely bar/restaurant”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Ate here last week - 3 times as well as calling in for a drink - lovely atmosphere, friendly staff and good reasonable food. There is entertainment Wednesdays and Saturdays - lots of tourist info about the surrounding area. Friendly locals who include you in conversations. I can recommend the chicken balmoral ( chicken breast stuffed with haggis).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMJHantsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife, scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“cosy little hideaway”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

great food and very helpful and friendly staff. small and dark interior but nevertheless very good. Cosy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AM40Fife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hungry? This is the place!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch with the wife and kids, and was floored by the quality and quantity of the food. No children specific menu, but "smaller" portions available. These would have done me, and I like my food! Service was great and the price was fantastic! The only thing I can say negative, and this is not anything fixable, just one of those things, we were the only ones in so it's difficult to judge the atmosphere! Recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lancealot76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went to the Stag on the recommendation of the place we were staying and duly arrived at our agreed booking time. We were shown our table and sat down once provided with drinks. The menu was limited but a good pub choice, we ordered our dinner and was quickly served our main meals(about 10mins). We then ordered a dessert but beware these sweets are home made and lip smackingly gorgeous. I had the chef homemade cheesecake with lemon and thought I had got a quarter portion! It was delicious. My partner had the citrus tarte, also homemade and proclaimed light and refreshing. As we finished there were some late arrivals who wanted to eat but alas they dont serve after 8pm so beware

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing