We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff”

Cairnie Fruit Farm & Mega Maze
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Cupar
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cairnie Fruit Farm is a long established family run business in Cupar, Fife and is a popular local landmark. The Farm Shop showcases a spectacular display of ready-picked fruit the farm produces, delicious take-away home-baking (made and served daily in the tearoom). The Funyard has many fun outdoor playpark attractions including go-carts and zip wire. The Mega Maze offers hours of fun as does the Pick Your Own fruit.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Have been to Cairnie fruit farm several times over the years and always had a good day out with the family. However, our more recent visit in July has put us off ever returning! This was mainly down to the rudeness of the staff, especially in the canteen area! We actually witnessed an older waitress arguing with a customer in front of her child, which resulted in the waitress storming off shouting! Not nice for other customers with small children to witness! Have to say for the amount of money we spent there which is quite expensive we would of been better off at Edinburgh Zoo or something! Food was nice (whatever was left to choose from as not much) but very pricey! If you are going for a visit, save your money and avoid the rude canteen staff and take a picnic!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    92
    27
    18
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun place to take the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Just spent an afternoon here and had a great time,took my grandson who is 8 and he loved it. The tearoom is nice with a good variety of snacks but if there is a big party going it would be better to take a picnic as the food is quite expensive. Overall it's a good day out and the maize maze is the main attraction and keeps everyone entertained.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrendaF791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The Maize Maze and lots more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We enjoyed a fantastic day at this attaction. My 21 month old son was in his element and enjoyed everyone of the play area exhibits - which included trampolines, tractors, swings, chutes, sandpit. I accompanied him on some things like the toboggan run and peddle bikes.

We also enjoyed a nice lunch in the farm shop cafe - it's not cheap in there but the food is excellent, especially the home baking.

After lunch we visited the maize maze - which was great fun. The maize had grown to about 7 foot high in places and although not difficult it was an enjoyable tramp round the field. Perfect for walking off lunch before going round all my son's favourite attractions. All and all a great day and one very tired little boy who fell asleep in the car on the way home.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CamCam68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Maize Maze”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you want a fun day out for all the family irrespective of age you have to visit Cairnie Fruit Farm. The Maize is mega and has a different theme each year. This years theme is Natural Scotland. Before you start remember to pick up your Field Record and take a pen or pencil with you. The object is to find all ten of Scotland's most iconic species, answer a question about each one, write the answer on your Field Record, record the direction you travelled when you left each found species marker and track your evoltution on the Tree of Life at the end of the maze. After completing the maze you can either enjoy yourself on the pedal powered go-carts, take a trip on the tractor train, bounce on the trampolines, climb on the bales and / or enjoy a cuppa and a meal or a sweet treat in their cafe (all made fresh on the premises from locally sourced ingredients).

And though there is a fee to be paid by adults and children entrance is free to OAPs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Myself, my partner and our two year old son went here today. What a great day out. Loads of outdoor physical equipment that my son loved. The maze was great fun and we all enjoyed collecting the stampers on the way round.
After a fun filled morning we had lunch in the cafe. My son had the bug sandwich box which i was very pleased with as i have been to other places where a sandwich lunch box consists of a sandwich, juice and a balloon. This one had a sandwich of choice, fresh orange juice, packet of crisps, a cookie and fresh strawberries. Cafe was a little pricey so on future visits i will pack a picnic as there is plenty picnic benches around the play area.
After lunch we picked strawberries and raspberries which tasted amazing with a little cream!
Only thing that was slighty disappointing was the "pocket money toys" described on the webpage. My son chose a plastic toy areoplane which cost £6.99. Not what i would describe as pocket money and made me glad i only have the one child to pay for.
Overall a fantastic day out and we will most definatly be back again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank allyg1185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cairnie Fruit Farm & Mega Maze also viewed

 

Been to Cairnie Fruit Farm & Mega Maze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing