We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot tub the highlight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to Balmeadowside and had a thoroughly relaxing time. We stayed in the Woodpecker lodge (one of the newer ones) and would say that these are slightly bigger and more comfortable than the original "tree" lodges.

The lodge itself was well laid out and we felt that the position of Woodpecker was perfect, as it was right next to the field of deer and like all the lodges had a great view across the glen. Our kids (and us) couldn't get enough of the hot tub! What better way to relax after a busy day of sight seeing and attractions?!

Our only complaint was that no one visited us or called us as a courtesy to make sure everything was okay. I don't know if its because it seemed that no one else was staying on site at the time, but this is just a minor blip on what was a great week.

We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolidLuxury1, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Many thanks for such a great review.

We appreciate the time and effort taken to give us feedback on Trip Advisor.

Delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable time. We don't ordinarily visit our guests or check in with them unless there is an issue. Our on call member of staff can be contacted in case of an emergency via the number in your lodge welcome pack.

We'll definately take you feedback on board and might consider introducing something along those lines.

Great to hear the kids (and you) enjoyed the hot tub and made the most of the local attractions.

Hope to see you again soon,

Best wishes,


The Solid Luxury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 226 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just returned from 4 days at Douglas Fir. Sorry if Ellie left a bit of a mess on the floor but you can blame Erin for taking us on lots of guided tours of the farm ;) Such a relxing stay and certainly made good use of the hot tub. Not many hot tub places allow dogs and since we recently rescued Ellie from the pound it was amazing to take her with us! Thankyou and we will certainly be back very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lows17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolidLuxury1, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Many thanks for such brilliant feedback!

I'm sure Ellie appreciated the trip with you considering you rescued her!

We love having dogs and owners. The site is brilliant for dogs with walks, enclosed decks and other dogs too!

Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes,

The Solid Luxury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We are eating dinner in the Silver Birch lodge as I write this.... We have enjoyed a lovely woodland walk, seen some gorgeous deer, relaxed on comfy couches, enjoyed a hot shower in a huge bath tub, spent two hours in the hot tub watching the sun set with a glass of Prosecco and eaten a delicious meal we were able to cook ourselves with the excellent facilities and utensils provided.

We are letting our dinner settle and heading straight back to the hot tub to sit under the stars.

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone I know.

Other highlights include:
- underfloor heating (toasty toes!)
- free wifi
- an iPod/iPhone music docking station
- and although we don't have a dog we hear it is dog friendly and know many people who would love this!

Erin the site dog is beautiful and very welcoming!!

We will most definitely be back! Expensive but I guess it is worth it for the extremely high quality.

Thank you. Tonight was just what we needed.

Two happy bunnies from fife!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMuir22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed in the newly refurbished Cherry Blossom Cottage for a week, and had a wonderful time. Cottage has been done up to a very high standard, cannot fault it at all. Lovely walks around the farm, where we saw pheasants, rabbits, butterflies, dragonflies, and of course Erin the black lab, who accompanied us on several walks. The hot tub was lovely, as was the huge rain shower head in the bathroom. Kitchen is a great size for making evening meals, and the recliners in the lounge are great for chilling out in front of the tv (and blu ray player!!!) Cottage is within easy reach of Scottish Deer Centre, Fife Animal Park, Scotland's Secret Bunker, Cupar, St Andrews...but still feels far enough removed that you can just take a break from everything and chill out.

The only tiny thing I would say is that, although there are signposts for one entrance to the Lodges, you could do with a small signpost or two at the other entrance - through the neighbouring farm. We were directed to go this way by both google maps and the Balmeadowside website, but when we saw the small track we were convinced we were going the wrong way...until a friendly farmer told us we were on the right track after all!!

Overall, we had an absolutely fantastic time, and will definately be back! Thanks very much!!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RugbygirlXV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolidLuxury1, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

We'll be looking in to additional signs, thanks for letting us know. The farm track isn't the most accesssible road so we encourange all of our guests to use the main site entrance which is accessed from the Newburgh/Cupar road and is signposted.

Your stay sounds amazing - bubbly, good food, relaxing! It sounds like you made the most of the area too!

We hope to see you again soon - keep a look out on our facebook and website for plenty of up coming special offers!

Thanks again for such a kind review!

Lizzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in kingfisher for a week mid august, our weather was fantastic and the lodge was amazing, it is hard to find good quality accommodation that allows dogs and this was definately the best we have found, The standard of the lodge was very high, the views are amazing, really good walks around the lodge for our dog Bella which Erin was happy to join us on, much to Bella's disgust but she did grow to like her after a few walks. We would highly recommend going to tentsmuir for the day for long walks along the beach and in the forest, ideal for dogs. The hot tub was very much a luxury after a long day walking. We will definately be back and really pleased we have found such a gorgeous, relaxing place to stay.
Karen F

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazlothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolidLuxury1, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Hi Karen,

That's great! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

It's a beautiful day here today!

We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've just come back from a week staying in Skylark lodge. I can't think of enough words to describe how fantastic quality the lodges are. Five star fixtures and fittings throughout (loved the hot tub) and setting is perfect plus the location is great - 25 mins fom St Andrews, Perth and Dundee within easy reach and Edinburgh less than an hour away. Clearly all the lodges were booked but it never felt busy at all as there was space and privacy between lodges.

We can't wait to book for next year, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLM7920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolidLuxury1, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

So Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

We look forward to having you back soon! We are currently offering all 2013 bookings the chance to book now at 2012 rates!

Thanks again for all your great feedback!

Lizzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just returned from a romantic weekend in the newly refurbished Cherry Blossom Cottage, it was a home from home with added touches and the added magic of a hot tub and log burning fire! Oh and fantastic views and peace and quiet!!! If you are looking for a special retreat you should check this out. Close to Cupar and St Andrews but far enough away to really allow you to relax - we will be back! Thanks for a great time x

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolidLuxury1, Manager at Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Hi Fiona,

Thank you so much for such a good review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Cherry Blossom as our first guests.

We hope to see you again soon, we've always got special offers on for cheeky little breaks away, so don't hesitate to contact us!

Kind regards,
Lizzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupar
7.4 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
575 reviews
10.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,153 reviews
4.9 mi away
Craigsanquhar House Hotel
Craigsanquhar House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigsanquhar
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
12.7 mi away
The Hideaway Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages

Address: Balmeadowside Farm | Cupar, Cupar KY15 4NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Cupar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Cupar
Price Range: $124 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmeadowside Lodges are modern lodges and cottages set on the south facing slopes of a working farm overlooking the surrounding countryside of Fife. While the setting itself is peaceful and relaxing, the central location means Dundee, St Andrews, Perth and even Edinburgh are not far away. With one king size or Super king size bedroom and one twin bedroom in each lodge, Balmeadowside Lodges are ideal for your romantic break or self catering family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmeadowside Country Lodges And Cottages Cupar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing