We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hospitality”

Balcomie Links Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balcomie Links Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crail
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just spent 3 nights here for golf. Arrived late Fri, unsure of local facilities as early October. Needn't have worried as hotel has excellent menu of freshly cooked food served by very friendly staff. Bar is also part of local community & we enjoyed the regular Fri night quiz which is a lively fun event! Decor may be a little dated but rooms are very clean & comfortable, tea/coffee in room, ample hot water in en suite bathroom, & fluffy towels. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order & Mike & staff were on hand to answer any queries. In fact restaurant was so good, we ate there all 3 nights & enjoyed very much having relaxed drinks in the bar.
So I would definitely recommend Balcomie Links with 5* for atmosphere & hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AETHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcomie, Owner at Balcomie Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review of your stay at the Balcomie Links Hotel. It is always nice to hear that our guest have an enjoyable stay with us, we do appreciate the feedback.
Please do not hesitate to contact us again, we'll only be too happy to help you with any trips you may plan to Scotland and Fife again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Balcomie Links Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 82 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just want to say a very big thank you to The Balcomie Hotel - as a solo traveller it is always nice to be warmly welcomed and that is exactly what I received from everyone at the hotel including the locals - had such a lovely meal and a great time that I left my coat in the the wardrobe - a big bulky coat!! Thank you to Mike and Ayshe - my coat is on the way in the post to my UK base for the more than happy to pay £5 - thank you, thank you!! Great place, great staff and great service!.

Room Tip: book ahead on your website...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcomie, Owner at Balcomie Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Balcomie Links Hotel. We appreciate all feedbacks, positive or negative, to measure our performance and try to improve our services to our guests. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Enjoy your tour of Scotland and have safe journey back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We decided w wanted a great view and my good ness did we get one. The Balcomie Hotel sits a bit back from the sea at Crail, but our top floor room had the most beautiful view to the Isle of May and across the Forth. We could see the Bass Rock and North Berwick Law and lots of sea and sky. The room was large and bright and comfortable and the breakfast was much more than the 2 starts the hotel has. Beautifully cooked and I noticed that the any requests were met with a friendly and helpful yes, even gluten free bread one of the guests brought with them was welcomed and toasted. There are some minor downside. The tv was the smallest I think I have ever seen. The bathroom was not great (but the shower was fine - strong and hot). The entry hall was dark and not very welcoming. But we definitely got what we wanted - great view, a good night's sleep and a great breakfast to start to the day. Definitely great value. Thank you!

Room Tip: Top floor at the front for a great view. But there's no life so pack with care!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcomie, Owner at Balcomie Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review of your stay at the Balcomie Links Hotel.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our last stop of our trip to Scotland; after having travelled from the Isle of Skye, we were warmly welcomed ; our rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms very nice; very nice breakfast too. Possibility to have a drink at the end of the day .Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcomie, Manager at Balcomie Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

You are welcome and thank you for taking time to review of your stay with us.
We are please you had an enjoyable stay and hopefully we can welcome you back to Balcomie Links Hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night and we were very impressed. The room was clean and we were provided with clean towels. The bathroom was small, equipped with a shower that worked perfectly well. The sink was in the room rather than the bathroom, which was a bit odd, but didn't cause any problems. We had a lovely dinner in the hotel and a very tasty breakfast. The hotel is a short drive from the Balcomie golf course and within walking distance to the centre of Crail. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erk0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcomie, Owner at Balcomie Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad your stay was comfortable and hopefully we'll see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed in the family room, double bed and bunkbeds for kids. The room was clean and comfortable. No bath but shower was hot and we were given plenty of towels, no handbasin in the bathroom (it is in the main room which was a bit odd but didn't cause too many issues). Breakfast was freshly made and the porridge was a big hit with our porridge loving daughter. We had a snack lunch in the bar and the food was again freshly prepared and reasonably priced. The hotel is maybe a little dated but we found the staff friendly and helpful and we don't have the budget for a five star hotel. We enjoyed our stay in Crail, interesting little village and some lovely walks. Easy drive into St Andrews for a wider selection of places to eat and some great ice cream!

Room Tip: great value in family room
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lacemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcomie, Owner at Balcomie Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review of your stay and thank you for your kind comment. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hopefully we will welcome you again in the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Mike, Debbie, family & staff look after you very well. Great value for money and a great place to stay for golf & sightseeing in Fife.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcomie, Owner at Balcomie Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you Neil for your review of your stay. It was great seeing you again all and I am glad you had a successfull visit to Crail and Balcomie Links in April. We all look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
8.4 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
5.7 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,269 reviews
13.6 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,153 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 9 in Crail
144 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 9 in Anstruther
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcomie Links Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcomie Links Hotel

Address: Balcomie Road, Crail KY10 3TN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crail
Price Range: $110 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Balcomie Links Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Balcomie Links Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcomie Links Hotel Crail, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing