We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard room, fantastic views, excellent breakfast”

Balcomie Links Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcomie Links Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crail
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Standard room, fantastic views, excellent breakfast”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed for a weekend in the spring, as a couple.

You can book online, which is useful. The booking info said to let them know if you were going to arrive after a certain time (6pm, I think). That seemed quite early but it's a fairly small family run place so not unreasonable. We let them know we'd be later arriving and it was fine.

Our room was on the top floor with a fantastic panoramic view over the Forth towards the Isle of May - breathtaking. The payment for the view is several flights of stairs to the room, of course! The window in the room was strangely small but it did the job! Furniture and decor fairly basic but clean and pleasant (new, I think). I was surprised that the bed wasn't made up for our 2nd night but it wasn't a problem. Bed was comfy, tea and coffee making facilities provided. Again, no new tea and coffee for the 2nd night but I'm sure if I'd bothered to ask we could have got more.

The ensuite bathroom had shower, sink and loo. I would say the fittings were fairly old and there were a few marks in the corners of the floor where people have left puddles of water after showering. I haven't seen a green suite for years but it still worked fine! There is a sign warning you to run the shower for a while because the water takes time to reach the top floor - this was true, but when it arrived the water was hot and had surprisingly good pressure. The first time we failed to get hot water at all although we waited - there's just one control for both pressure and temperature and we were probably being dim in adjusting it because it worked fine after that!

Breakfast is served between 8 and 9.30. Each room has a table assigned in the breakfast room, so no looking for a space (but no choosing your favourite seat either!). There is a choice of cereals, some tinned fruit, fruit juices and coffee on a "help yourself" basis, and once you arrive you can order tea, toast, and a full cooked breakfast. The cooked breakfast was lovely - well cooked and not greasy. Portions were good but not huge (or maybe I'm a greedy pig).

Service was friendly and competent. Plenty of car parking (gravelled, not tarmac), and there is a bar downstairs which also serves food - we didn't eat there as we had other plans.

I loved the classic cheesy pictures of Victorian Scotsmen in various Highland dress on the stairs with tartan carpet! Cheesy stairs but simple decor in the bedrooms - definitely the right way round!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slbhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcomie, Owner at Balcomie Links Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Balcomie Links Hotel. We welcome all reviews, which helps us to improve our services to our customers. I can only apologise for your room not being made up on your second night stay, this must have been an oversight by the housekeeping staff as we normally clean and make up the rooms on a daily basis. Once again my apologies and we look forward to welcoming you to Balcomie Links Hotel again in the near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We were in Crail for a few days and although we weren't actually staying in the hotel we went there for our meals every night. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, everything is nice and clean and the food was lovely. The portions were big and certainly value for money and we will go back next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aud18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcomie, Owner at Balcomie Links Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your experince at the Balcomie Links Hotel. We are always committed to provide the best service to our customers and any feed back, positive or negative, helps us to mesure our performance and try to improve on it. I am please that you have enjoyed your meals at the Balcomie Links Hotel during your visit to Crail and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again when you next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed in a family room, which was ideal for our short break.The room was comfortable with a double bed plus bunk beds. The food in the bar was excellent, with a varied menu and cooked to order as was the breakfast which was served in the dining room. Again, the quality and quantity was excellent. Well looked after by the resident prorieters.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_sherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcomie, Owner at Balcomie Links Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Balcomie Links Hotel and thank you for your positive feedback. We value all feedback, both positive and negative and use it to help us to improve our service our guests. We hope to welcome you again soon to the Balcomie Links Hotel, if you are returning to Crail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Family and friends recently enjoyed a birthday celebration meal in the hotel. The food was excellant and Mike the proprietor went out of his way to ensure the evening was a success. If you are in Crail and you are looking for a competitively priced quality meal in comfortable surroundings then look no further than the Balcomie Hotel it has it all.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcomie, Owner at Balcomie Links Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
We greatly appreciate all feedbacks and thank you for taking time to leave your review of your birthday celebration party here at the Balcomie Links Hotel and thank you for your kind comments. I am please that everybody had a good time and enjoyed themselves, it’s always good to hear people enjoy their food and have fun we certainly enjoyed the music. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

18 of us stayed at the Balcomie Links Hotel, we were there for a golfing weekend. We were made most welcome and all the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel rooms were all very comfortable, clean and the food was great with no complaints from any memeber of our group. Mike the owner even assisted us in getting to Crail Golf Club by ferrying some of our party to and from the hotel each day - great service. I would have no hesitation in returning to the hotel - A GREAT WEEKEND was had by all thanks to Mike and his staff.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodneyBraehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcomie, Owner at Balcomie Links Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. We really appreciate all feedbacks. It was a pleasure having you back again and I am pleased that you all had a good time. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2010

The hotel is really nice, clean and comfortable, the staff are friendly and approachable, food was lovely and breakfast the best. Crail is really picturesque, quiet and a good base for visiting the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshiregirl7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittenweem, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

This is a basic hotel, intended as a venue for golfers using the links at Crail and St Andrews. The room we had was warm and spotlessly clean, very comfortable in a classic, Scottish way. The TVs only have terrestrial (analogue) channels.

The food in the bar is fine: pub food, not pretentious but cooked fresh to order and using local ingredients.

A major reason to stay here is that it's pet-friendly, so you can keep your dog with you as long as it's house-trained (which ours is) for a UKP5 supplement.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simoninireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
8.4 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
5.7 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 16 in St. Andrews
3,067 reviews
20.7 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 16 in St. Andrews
1,120 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 9 in Crail
132 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#3 of 10 in Anstruther
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcomie Links Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcomie Links Hotel

Property: Balcomie Links Hotel
Address: Balcomie Road, Crail KY10 3TN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Balcomie Links Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Balcomie Links Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcomie Links Hotel Crail, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing