We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely comfortable cottage”
Railway Crossing Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Railway Crossing Cottage
Outside Hot Tub Lounge Area with Log Burning Stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Railway Crossing Cottage
Outside Hot Tub
Lounge Area with Log Burning Stove
Kitchen Area
Open Plan Lounge and Kitchen/Dining Area
Lounge Area
Twin Bedroom
Front View of Railway Crossing Cottage
Crail Harbour
Anstruther Harbour
Puffins on The Isle of May
Kellie Castle and Gardens
Ruins of St. Andrews Cathedral
West Sands at St. Andrews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debbieann...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable cottage”
Reviewed March 7, 2019 for a stay in March 2019

The cottage is lovely and cosy - loved the log burner and the convenience of being able to get more wood from outside and just leave money in the honesty box. The beds are very comfortable and the cottage had everything we could have needed. Was just out of hospital when we stayed and the peace and cosiness was exactly what was required! Kate and Ian very helpful. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: March 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2019
Thank you for your kind review. We're really pleased that your stay at the cottage proved to be so peaceful and relaxing. We very much hope we can welcome you back another time. Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 11, 2019 for a stay in February 2019

Date of stay: February 2019
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2019
It's great to know that you had a lovely stay at the cottage. Thank you for sharing your review with us. Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Evelyn485
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rural Retreat”
Reviewed December 10, 2018 for a stay in December 2018

Wonderful weekend spent in this great cosy cottage with amazing rural views from everyone of the numerous windows. Ideally located only two miles from Crail and within easy walking distance of the Fife Coastal Path. The hot tub and wood burner were the icing on the cake after a day in the great outdoors.

Date of stay: December 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 11, 2018
Thank you for booking to stay at Railway Crossing Cottage. We're very happy to know that you had a wonderful weekend. Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pam_flyer...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous cottage with all the facilities you could need, hot tub superb, views fab.”
Reviewed June 20, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage is absolutely fabulous, quiet location, very peaceful but only a few short miles from local towns and facilities and lovely eateries. All mod cons are provided at the cottage, hot tub is fantastic, views are fantastic, lovely decking areas with chairs and loungers and the garden is well fenced off so very suitable for children and pets.
Already booked to go back longer next year!

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2018
We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay at Railway Crossing Cottage. Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottishl...
glenrothes
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet getaway with a hot tub”
Reviewed June 18, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Lovely cottage with hot tub, stunning views across the fields, feels like the middle of nowhere but actually just a few miles from Anstruther or Crail. Fab coffee shops and restaurants nearby, but all you need in the kitchen to cook/BBQ at the cottage. Super quiet location, a real getaway! Already planning our return trip!

Date of stay: June 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2018
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you next year. Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinkeyEdi...
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed December 10, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Just returned from this stunning cottage . It was amazing . The log burner was superb . All facilities immaculate . And then there’s the hotub wow !!! And yes we used it even in the cold temperatures.
We had a ball we really did . Lots of nice touches added by the owners to .
We can’t wait to return
Highly recommend

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2017
We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and that you especially loved sitting in the lovely outdoor hot tub in the cold weather! It certainly makes for a very relaxing time. We hope to see you again soon. Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolene M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another Amazing 5 star stay!”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our 3rd visit to this fabulous cottage. Welcome pack on arrival always greatly appreciated.
It's of the highest standard & always absolutely immaculate!
Hope to be back for longer in 2018!
Thanks

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
It's lovely to know that you enjoy staying at the cottage so much. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments.
Kate & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing