We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing break”
Railway Crossing Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Railway Crossing Cottage
Outside Hot Tub Lounge Area with Log Burning Stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Railway Crossing Cottage
Outside Hot Tub
Lounge Area with Log Burning Stove
Kitchen Area
Open Plan Lounge and Kitchen/Dining Area
Lounge Area
Twin Bedroom
Front View of Railway Crossing Cottage
Crail Harbour
Anstruther Harbour
Puffins on The Isle of May
Kellie Castle and Gardens
Ruins of St. Andrews Cathedral
West Sands at St. Andrews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pamder03
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This lovely cottage is located pretty much right in between Anstruther and Crail. Also very handy to get to St. Andrews as well- about 20 mins drive. It sits about 500m off the main coastal road. The cottage is lovely and very well appointed- everything you need is provided. We were very comfortable throughout our stay. We really enjoyed the hot tub and spent a few happy hours under the stars. Having seen the hotels and B&Bs in the vicinity, we are delighted with out decision to stay here. Definitely recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine R
Uphall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage...peaceful hot tubbing...perfect bliss...”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, spotlessly clean, everything so fresh. Lots of extras..with welcome fire ready to light. Spacious yet cosy.
Brilliant location so close to Crail and Anstruther yet seems in the middle of nowhere!
Really enjoyed our stay and the hot tub was just wonderful.
thank you very much.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S4Sue
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage for our family and exactly as described”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage had everything and more for us- 2 adults, a teenager and a 4 year old. The garden is fully enclosed, there is no-one and nothing to disturb you. The kitchen has all the basics and the luxury of a dishwasher. The cottage is warm and comfortable, it is clean and exactly as the owners describe. This is the first accommodation I have ever stayed in where the description and reality are the same. The youngest enjoyed it so much he was inconsolable for an hour after leaving. The hot tub is wonderful and a real asset.
The whole booking process was well managed, the communication throughout the process was excellent and I would recommend this cottage and these owners to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: The road to the property- but not enough to stop me going there!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene B
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect comfort and style in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in this elegantly styled cottage. Little extras were all very much appreciated. Every detail had been thought of and so it was relaxing and had every comfort. The garden was great for the dog and though I thought I would not manage the hot tub, having some mobility difficulties, I did and boy was I glad I did, it was fab!
The location was perfect for us. This was my first visit to this area, we had glorious weather and got around to so many wonderful places. We always looked forward to returning to the cottage though. We will definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style, access and location.
Liked least: A walk in shower rather than a bath would have suited me better but you cannot please everyone!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our cottage. We're especially pleased that you were able to enjoy the outdoor hot tub for the first time and also that your visit to this area in the East Neuk of Fife was such a success. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
787Darren
Houghton le Spring
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay.”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Stayed at Railway Cottage for 3 nights recently and our party of four were very impressed by the location and facilities in the cottage. Hot tub was the icing on the cake. Thank you very much for a very enjoyable stay folks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Layout of the cottage and the hot tub.
Liked least: The wifi wasn't working so could not use our phones and laptops.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S M
Ayrshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect 3 Nights Away!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Looking at the pictures for this cottage I was so excited to arrive and see it for myself. We were VERY pleasantly greeted with this beautiful property that ticked every box for us.
It was quiet, perfectly decorated and surprisingly spacious. Not a single complaint from us.
Hot tub was fab! We were blessed with nice weather which was an added bonus.

As for the area, we went into Crail and walked along the Fife coastal path for a few miles before driving to Anstruther for fish and chips at the harbour. We also spent a day in St Andrews exploring.

Just be careful on the farm road to the cottage, full of pot holes!!

Overall our short break was perfect, Kate dealt with our booking professionally and made us feel so welcomed, the bottle of wine and postcard on arrival was a lovely personal touch. Thank you!

WE WILL BE BACK!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 18, 2014
It's lovely to know that you had such a positive experience during your stay at Railway Crossing Cottage. The cottage is certainly in a peaceful and beautiful area of Fife and it sounds as if you managed to explore plenty of the wonderful local areas.

Thank you very much for all your positive comments. So sorry to hear about the pot holed road though! The good news is, that the repair work has now been done. A few days too late for your visit I appreciate, but hopefully you will return soon to admire the council's efforts!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polly G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this lovely cottage and what a relaxing time we had. Mornings and evenings in the pre heated jacuzzi and day trips to crail and anstruther (5min drive, very accessible). I would definitely recommend this cottage for your break as it is extremely homely, luxurious and great value for money. Would happily stay here again xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 18, 2014
We're delighted that you had such a lovely relaxing stay and that you had lots of time to discover the beautiful villages nearby. Also, very happy to hear that you found the Hot Tub such a treat at the end of the day. Hopefully, we will see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing