We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Crail Posthouse

Main Bathroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Bathroom
View from Main Bedroom - November Sunset Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Main Bathroom
View from Main Bedroom - November Sunset
Sitting Room
Crail Harbour
Sitting Room
Kitchen/Diner
Lobster creels at Crail Harbour
Main Bathroom
Kitchen Diner
Castle Walk
2nd Bathroom
Local Ceramic
Staircase
Main Bathroom
View from Sitting Room: Crail High Street
Roomebay
Beach near Balcomie, Crail
Heron, Roomebay, Crail
Pittenweem
Crail Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WoozC
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed January 30, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

ours was a last minute birthday break with Ruby the dog. The PostHouse was an excellent choice with great communication from the owner.The house was spacious, very comfortable and tastefully decorated , with all mod cons, and a generous Welcome Pack.The shower alone would be a reason to return. The PostHouse is located in the centre of Crail, with easy access to beautiful coastal walks and a great local bus service . We would thoroughly recommend both Crail and in particular The PostHouse .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maks S
2 reviews
“Quiet weekend away...”
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We arrived in Crail after an 11 hour journey from London. We found the house easily enough but at the time we arrived we wondered where to get bread milk and a cup of tea. Opening the front door and getting into the house we found all had been provided and it was much appreciated. The property is large, well kept and we felt at home immediately! The location is peaceful, close to the beach and close enough to St Andrews to just pop in for an afternoon.

Finding a nice property which is dog friendly is difficult as it is so this place really is perfect. The bath was also fantastic and he shower the most powerful I have had!

The village also has everything you could want, bakers, coop, tea rooms and a pub!

All in all a great weekend and worth the long journey just to get here and do nothing for 3 days.

Thanks again for having us and making us so welcome

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Bliss....”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

With family all over Fife and a beach loving dog, this place ticks all our boxes. This is our second stay having been in Oct 2016 in half term week. For us its homely, with lovely sofas, awesome top room shower, soft beds with great linen and a brilliant kitchen diner that we can entertain in as well. It feels, as we have said to the owners, like a home for us and we so looked forward to our return and it didn't disappoint second time round.

Crail itself I think is on the up, it was busy this bank holiday and the general area is seeing lots of great eateries open (try the Dreel Tavern) and the chippy below this house fed us admirably twice that week we were there with some of the best haddock I've had.

This a gem of a place, with fantastic helpful owners who make you welcome, including our beloved whippet, who knew exactly where she was and how to get to the harbour come walkies time... For us an unbeatable combo and we have already pencilled in our next visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A gem of a property in Crail”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great house, beautifully dressed and well equipped with everything a family could need on the high street of this lovely village of Crail. Shops, two lovely pubs, cafes, fish shop and fresh lobster at the picturesque harbour, what more could a family want? There's also a beach; a putting green, a few coastal walks and a stones throw from St Andrew's. Perfect house, perfect location.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect spot from which to explore county Fife, far (but not too far) from the madding crowd.”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a great place to spend the week. The house was well equipped, the common living room kitchen is spacious as are two of the bedrooms, and the upstairs bath. Wi-fi worked well enough. The welcome basket with coffee and biscuits was much appreciated.

Yes you can buy postage stamps with your phone, but honestly everything digital could stop tomorrow and Crail wouldn't skip a beat. The green grocer, chemist, co-op, baker, butcher, post office, chip shop and pub are all within a stones throw of the Posthouse and each other.

We hated to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2017
Thanks very much Mark. And hadn't really thought about Crail not needing the digital age but you're right! We do hope you'll return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparklywa...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful winter weekend break!”
Reviewed January 22, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My husband and I booked the post house for a relaxing winter break and got exactly what we had hoped for. The house is as described on the website and is well equipped throughout. The added extras such as toiletries and an arrival pack made it even more special.
For us the fact that the post house welcomes dogs was a huge bonus with our labrador retriever also thoroughly enjoying her stay!
Crail is a beautiful village with interesting shops to peruse. The coastal walk is also very enjoyable. We found all the people we met to be welcoming and friendly. Crail is also an excellent base to explore other areas of the Fife coast and we enjoyed doing this.
Every part of our stay from initial enquiries to booking was as simple and straightforward as possible, we would recommend the post house to anyone considering a stay in Fife and hope to be back again ourselves very soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A stylish, relaxing, dog friendly property right in the heart of Crail!”
Reviewed January 22, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Crail Posthouse is a stylish, yet easy to feel at home in property, in the very heart of the village.
Parking outside was not normally a problem and the the property has main door access between the very good fish and chip and a small gift shop.
The Posthouse is situated above the gift shop and there is zero noise from either the shop or the chippy. No chip smells either!
The place is very easy to step into and feel right at home from the off.
Think...oak floors, original windows, big leather sofas, coal effect gas fire, big kitchen with everything you need and more. Comfortable beds with crisp white sheets, a toilet/shower downstairs and a huge shower and free standing bath in the big bathroom on the top floor. There is a small but cosy room to relax and read or play chess in on the top floor and you can definitely see the sea from here and also the master bedroom. Touches like quality toiletries in little baskets and big white fluffy towels and bathrobes and a little basket of coffee and shortbread etc. on arrival add to the quality experience.
We enjoyed watching village life, the sea and fantastic sunsets life from the big corner window in the living room, in fact this is what makes the place so extra special. We found passing traffic was minimal we didn't even notice any noise pollution.
Step outside and you have a quality butcher on the opposite side of the street as well as a cafe/gallery and a little further along a very good greengrocer with a fresh fish counter.
100m or so on the same side is a co-op which opens until 11pm and a wholefood shop which is very well stocked with quality produce. We didn't try the pub but everyone says it is very good.
The harbour is a few minutes stroll a way and there are numerous walks along the coast. St Andrews is 20 minutes away by car - handy for shooting back if you accidentally leave the kids scooter in a car park like we did!
Prices to stay seem average for the area.
We loved our time in the Posthouse and can recommend a holiday here as the place is in a great location and a lot of thought and detail has gone into making it a bit special.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing