We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous homely comfortable, truly dog friendly”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Crail Posthouse

Main Bathroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Bathroom
View from Main Bedroom - November Sunset Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Main Bathroom
View from Main Bedroom - November Sunset
Sitting Room
Crail Harbour
Sitting Room
Kitchen/Diner
Lobster creels at Crail Harbour
Main Bathroom
Kitchen Diner
Castle Walk
2nd Bathroom
Local Ceramic
Staircase
Main Bathroom
View from Sitting Room: Crail High Street
Roomebay
Beach near Balcomie, Crail
Heron, Roomebay, Crail
Pittenweem
Crail Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
childrens...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous homely comfortable, truly dog friendly”
Reviewed February 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We had an excellent week. Excellent location, very comfortable home from home. Lovely hamper, everything on doorstep for a great week. Great for golf (dogs allowed on courses), beach, walking, pub, shops and sightseeing. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and dog friendly
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelKin...
Canbera, A.C.T.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Things improved after unpromising 1st impression”
Reviewed February 4, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

When we arrived our first impression was that the place looked like it needed a lot of TLC. The front doorway and the whole facade looked in need of a good overhaul and the downstairs hallway was dark and gloomy. When we got inside the lounge room also looked rather dark and gloomy but we realised it wasn't from lack of light as there were large windows but from dark brown leather furniture, a black fireplace and timber floor. The first bedroom was wallpapered in a sludgy greeny/browny paper - not at all attractive - and the downstairs shower was hardly adequate.

However, the lounge room was comfortable, as were the beds and the bedding very snug. The upstairs shower more than made up for the pathetic downstairs one. The hamper was great and full of luxury goodies and as this was our first port of call on landing in Scotland it was most welcome and the kitchen was well equipped. The upstairs snug was lovely and it was wonderful having so many books to choose from.

So, from unpromising beginnings, we enjoyed the comfort of the Post House - except for the sludgy wallpaper which was just plain horrible. Funnily enough the upstairs bedroom was decorated in a much more acceptable way and very light and bright.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The upstairs shower
Liked least: The wallpaper in the lower bedroom.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We do welcome feedback and are glad you enjoyed many aspects of your stay.

We are rather taken aback though by the tone of you comments about some of the décor which clearly wasn’t to your personal taste! Fortunately for us none of our other guests have found “sludgy wallpaper..that was just plain horrible” and indeed many have commented very favourably on the decor and overall style. (The wallpaper in question, which we love, is high quality Designer Guild or similar paper).

Black slate (the hearth) is a traditional Scottish material and in our view very elegant – set off by art deco style tiles and a pine surround. The “dark and gloomy” sitting room has a large southwest facing bay window plus an additional window and is furnished with quality solid oak/leather furniture, and bespoke Scottish hand-woven soft furnishings. But we do understand that if you are visiting Scotland for the first time in January coming from summer in Australia, things might well seem dark! (For information we don’t generally leave the downstairs hall lights on for environmental reasons.)

We have a detailed website with lots of pictures of the rooms including the fireplace, oak floors etc. and even the offending wallpaper so hopefully we give potential guests a clear picture of what style to expect.

As to the shower in the second bathroom, we do agree that its is not very powerful (it is not a large power shower like the one in the main bathroom) but other guests we have spoken to have found it adequate.

As to TLC, we understand your comments to apply to the exterior not the interior, and we agree with them. The exterior is painted and has to withstand sea air etc. We are currently waiting for the (busy) local painters but as you will appreciate they cannot do external work in the winter months – and it would be simply wasteful and impractical to keep the external paintwork good at all time.

Regards

David & Marysia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppydiam...
edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in heart of Crail”
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Just back from a lovely long weekend at the Posthouse. The house is large but cosy, with lots of comfortable spots to relax - big sofas, a gorgeous little reading room, an amazing bath and extremely comfy beds with top notch bedding (always important!). A welcome pack of delicious organic goodies including champagne was very welcome! Spotlessly clean and well equipped. beautiful artwork and photography add a personal touch. House is situated right in the centre of the village with all amenities close by, and great walks just a stroll away. We had our dog with us and he loved it - there are lots of fabulous beaches close by where he could tire himself out and we could admire the views. Crail is close to several other small fishing villages which are all full of character and offer good food and cafes etc - even at this time of year. St. Andrews is also very close and well worth a trip.
After just 3 nights we felt very relaxed and were reluctant to leave this gorgeous place.
Thanks David and Marysia for ensuring we had everything we need and making the booking easy. We'll be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place for a relaxing trip with friends”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend in picturesque Crail. The accommodation was perfect, very comfortable with very high attention to detail. The hosts have thought if everything with a wide selection of books and DVDs that can be enjoyed in lovely surroundings. The kitchen is very well equipped with high quality fixtures. Little touches like the welcome basket of goodies and lovely linens add to the luxurious feel. I would recommend a stay at the post house.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18Kathari...
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“can`t be better”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great stay, in the old, very well renovated post-house, situated in the centre of a little fisher village. All necessary shops (Bakery, butcher, supermarket, Bio-Shop, Pub, Fish and ship shop, …) within 1 minute reachable.
Great harbor 5 minutes walk. Wonderful walking ways along the beach to the next villages.
St Andrew 15 minutes away. The house itself has a very good style, is very comfortable and well practical equipped. A place to feel good and as in a home. House is good too use for the wider family or friend groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the old style from the house
Liked least: the a little bit noisy wooden floor (at night)
Traveling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mufkit
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A fabulous place to stay in a beautiful village. The house is very comfortable and well equipped and we really appreciated the great welcome hamper on arrival and the lovely toiletries. The bathroom with roll top bath and stained glass windows is amazing!
Sitting in the study on the top floor looking out over the sea was a very relaxing way to end the day!
Thank you

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesIn...
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magical Place!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 2nd visit to the Posthouse. We enjoyed our visit as the house offered a wonderful base to explore this beautiful part of Scotland. The Posthouse is extremely well equipped and as our dogs were allowed to come this completed our stay. The welcome pack is a lovely touch and much appreciated. Hope to return soon. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the house
Liked least: No bathrobes
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing