We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Crail Posthouse

Main Bathroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Bathroom
View from Main Bedroom - November Sunset Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Main Bathroom
View from Main Bedroom - November Sunset
Sitting Room
Crail Harbour
Sitting Room
Kitchen/Diner
Lobster creels at Crail Harbour
Main Bathroom
Kitchen Diner
Castle Walk
2nd Bathroom
Local Ceramic
Staircase
Main Bathroom
View from Sitting Room: Crail High Street
Roomebay
Beach near Balcomie, Crail
Heron, Roomebay, Crail
Pittenweem
Crail Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mufkit
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A fabulous place to stay in a beautiful village. The house is very comfortable and well equipped and we really appreciated the great welcome hamper on arrival and the lovely toiletries. The bathroom with roll top bath and stained glass windows is amazing!
Sitting in the study on the top floor looking out over the sea was a very relaxing way to end the day!
Thank you

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RafflesIn...
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magical Place!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 2nd visit to the Posthouse. We enjoyed our visit as the house offered a wonderful base to explore this beautiful part of Scotland. The Posthouse is extremely well equipped and as our dogs were allowed to come this completed our stay. The welcome pack is a lovely touch and much appreciated. Hope to return soon. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the house
Liked least: No bathrobes
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilR59
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“superb and unique”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The post house has been lovingly designed, full of original and thoughtful touches which add hugely to the holiday experience. Loads of books,DVD's,pictures,etc. and high standard of media facilities ensure that you can relax and switch off in the most pleasant way!

It is wonderful to arrive in a warm cosy environment and discover a bottle of real champagne in the fridge along with essential provisions.
The Posthouse is in a very convenient location with shops,pub,bus stop close at hand .
It is a joy to be able to stroll down to the harbour through unspoilt historic lanes with loads of character. We managed a few walks along the coastal routes both east and west --these are highly recommended especially in good weather!
When weather was not so good we had a very stimulating trip to nearby St.Andrews and spent a pleasant couple of hours exploring the Cathedral museum

Highly recommended and we certainly would love to stay again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and high quality of interior
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellieandm...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So good - we will be back next year!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderfullly relaxing week at Crail Posthouse. it is a lovely property which has been restored with great care and attention to detail. The kitchen is well equipped, the bedrooms and lounge area are extremely comfortable and the extra touches of the food starter pack and good quality toiletries displays a caring and welcoming regard for guests.
The small library at the top of the house is such a peaceful place to relax with a good book and enjoy the views. We are looking forward to our return visit next year - what a find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent location in a very friendly village.
Liked least: Having to go home!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria...
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay - missing it already!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

David and Marysia Nash have thought of everything when it comes to this holiday home. The decor is tasteful and in keeping with the building, the facilities are decent and they have made small touches that shows they've put a lot of thought and effort in to it.
The bathroom on the top floor is gorgeous - that must have been the first time I've had a 2 hour bath!
The location was superb, right in the middle of the main road in Crail. We managed to get to the Secret Bunker, the Aquarium in St Andrews (and the beach), the cheese farm and The Dolls House restaurant while we stayed there - I'd recommend them all apart from the cheese farm... and I'd steer clear of the chip shop beside the property!
The best thing about the property is probably the little touches and how quickly and easily you feel at home as you arrive. The thing I liked least... the squeaky bed! I toss and turn and every time I moved I woke my partner up! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and thoughtfulness.
Liked least: Squeaky beds!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, Scotland
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lindsay F
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FAB PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed August 1, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Have stayed at Crail Posthouse for last 3 years in a row - its fab. Its a real home from home and is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need. The owners are very welcoming and friendly and the welcome pack was very much appreciated, in particular love the Arran Aromatics toiletries. A holiday home of very high standard. Crail and surrounding fishing villages are beautiful and well worth a visit. We'll be back for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing