We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting idea but.....”

Scotland's Secret Bunker
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Crail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scotland's best kept secret.... Until now! Hidden beneath an innocent Scottish farmhouse lies Scotland's Secret Bunker. A 450 foot tunnel leads you to the blast proof doors which defend 24,000 square feet of secret accommodation which was built to help safeguard Scotland during the Cold War in the event of a nuclear attack. The Secret Bunker lies 100 feet underground and is the size of two football pitches, one on top of the other so there is plenty of exploring to do! Come and discover how Scotland would have been governed from the depths of Fife and how they would have survived a nuclear attack from the most deadly bombs!
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting idea but.....”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Firstly the whole bunker smells of fried food. Why have chips in a cold war installation? If you must could you install better ventilation. Cost £32 for family and frosty receptionist told me my 16 year old daughter didn't fit with the family model. Unique place with an interesting atmosphere but apart from the 2 cinemas few interactive exhibits.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    249
    85
    42
    46
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was fascinating. It's hard to believe all that is underground here, hidden by a simple farmhouse on top. Well worth a visit, especially if you remember the Cold War era.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank colohightravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting but unsettling.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I would think twice about taking children to this just because the bunker does have an atmosphere which can be unsettling for some adults. There was a girl of about 4 being taken around at the time we were there and she was very upset by it.
The exhibition is very interesting and thought provoking. The audio guide was very informative. It would have been difficult to get a clear picture of what went on in the bunker without it, as the written explanations stuck onto the wall as well as not being very clear looked a bit amateurish. This is an area that could be improved by having up to date signage making the whole exhibition a little more slick and user friendly. The rooms could be cleaned up as I have no doubt when the bunker was in use everything would have been very well maintained. It looks very tired as though it hasn't been touched for years.
I had difficulty rating this as I was disturbed by the exhibition but at the same time I found it so intriguing. It is upsetting to think so few people would be given the chance to survive if there had been a nuclear attack. It is thought provoking and yes I would recommend a visit but perhaps be prepared you may find it unsettling.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The eery of the cold war”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very cleverly preserved museum which takes you back to the cold war period. The cynical selection of people for protection against nuclear fallout really hits you!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Urterveien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great piece of history”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

If the bomb had dropped this is where “they” would have gone. Very informative, self-paced tour make sure you get an audio guide - seriously it’s the only way you will contextualise what you are seeing. 300 people would have survived for a year – just makes you think, very poignant great day out….did I mention the audio guide – other people were there without these and they were asking me about the exhibits!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank callyamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotland's Secret Bunker also viewed

 

Been to Scotland's Secret Bunker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing