We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful setting”

Review of Meggie Allans

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
caththoms...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I've used Kingask Properties before but first time at Meggie Allans. It's beautifully situated in farmland overlooking Crail but close enough to walk into within 5-10 minutes. Very roomy - well thought out living areas, two bathrooms (a must for us with young children) and a beautiful wrap-around, secure garden. Again, perfect for families or those with dogs. The staff at Kingask are extremely professional and helpful - any problems are dealt with quickly and smoothly. Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you in the near future.

All of us at Kingask
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen H
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage with stunning scenery”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

When you look at cottages on rental websites you always feel they have had a bit of poetic licence with the pictures but not in this case. What you see online is what you get. A very well laid our cottage with stunning views from all rooms. The cottage was spotless on arrival and once the log fire was lit then it was like you did not want to venture outside.

Very impressed by both the cottage and Kingask Cottages who made the whole process simple. Would highly recommend This cottage to anyone and we are looking to book again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: The high winds due to exposed location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you in the near future.

All of us at Kingask
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallasqui...
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yet another comfortable home from home from Kingkask Cottages”
Reviewed December 7, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had often looked at Meggie Allan's cottage but it was always booked. We'd stayed three times in Cradle Cottage, situated behind Meggie Allan's. The location is perfect with views from the conservatory across to the May Isle. The enclosed garden was ideal for our guide dog puppy. The accommodation is homely and comfortable. Although we didn't need it for heat, we did buy logs and light the fire as the weather was a bit wet and it was nice and cosy inside with the log fire burning and the rain battering against the windows.
Lots of places, with shops, cinemas, restaurants within a reasonable distance to travel to through the day and close enough to eat out at night.
The kitchen is reasonably well appointed and suitable for self catering.
Children would be safe here, playing outside either in the garden or on the adjacent swings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Grill pan handle very dangerous
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you in the near future.

All of us at Kingask
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmac111
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place, great staff - hard to beat for the area.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Wated to write and say how much we enjoyed our stay at Meggie Allans.The guys at Kingask were so easy to deal with, they couldn't have been more helpful from start to finish. The house itself was fantastic for a short break. Clean, comfortable (really comfy beds and great linen) and cosy. The sea views were amazing (we had some beautiful sunny days when we were there - but you take your chances in October in Scotland!),and lots of walks in to Crail - which is a quaint, lovely town. Great value for the area and time of year. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the scenery, the views (location) and the cosiness of the property
Liked least: bit muddy nearby - but we brought our wellies for the countryside.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you in the near future.

All of us at Kingask
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babs5666
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location,very peaceful,lacking in attention to detail in interior.”
Reviewed April 24, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This cottage was in a lovely setting and very peaceful with nice views.Unfortunately windows had condensation problems and could do with replacing this affected view out from lounge and dining area.The conservatory was a nice addition to property.Main bathroom needed updating and toilet had problems with flushing as to weak a pressure,so needed to add water each time you used it.The house keeping could be better and have stayed in fresher/cleaner properties,if some of these points where addressed it would be a nice property.Just felt like someone in charge didnt have time to check over team of cleaners etc.On a positive note garden was lovely and well taken care of,grass was mowed while we where there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Conservatory.
Liked least: The feeling of wanting to clean things myself.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your custom.
We give all of our properties a small make over before the new season and the windows mentioned have been replaced and some areas of the cottage have been freshly repainted. Our housekeeping staff always endeavor to ensure that the property is kept to the highest standard of cleanliness. We can only apologise that the house did not meet the standards you expected. We hope this will not deter you from using Kingask Country Cottages in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing