We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh oh Morgan... you are amazingly warm and funny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crail
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marine Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Lelystad, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh oh Morgan... you are amazingly warm and funny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Morgan , thanks for making our stopover in Crail so much fun. We had a room with an incredible sea view. Any doubts we may have had initially were swepted away with your charm and wit.
Don't change a thing , apart from repairing the odd leak :-).
I have travelled extensively across the world for both business and pleasure but I have never enjoyed a breakfast so much, your live early morning entertainment was a tribute to your warm hospitality.... only you could pursuade four pensioners and staff to dance across the dining room floor to the music of Frank Sinatra while we were consuming a full Scottish breakfast.
Outside it was raining but inside , you had the sun shining.
We will definately be back !!
Morgan , once again , thanks for everything. You're a diamond.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birgo2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    8
    3
    9
See reviews for
21
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Morgan, our host, did a fantastic job in giving us great rooms for our family. We appreciated his problem solving and accommodating our specific requirements. He gave us excellent advice on restaurants in the area and things to do. Rooms were fine. Breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Family room has a wonderful sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzandbluesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is a an old fashioned sea side hotel - it was a perfect base for our weekend. The lounge area was cosy and we made use of this area in the evening to play cards with my parents who were also staying. There were a few games and puzzles for the kids and we enjoyed it. We stayed in the family room - which was great in terms of size and cleanliness. - old fashioned, big 2 bedroom room on the top floor. Sea views, and nearby access to lovely park, rock pools and coastal path. This hotel offers clean, basic accommodation and a decent breakfast. The owner/manager was very friendly and helpful - the garden area was nice for the kids and there were a few toys and fishing nets to keep them busy.

Room Tip: Ocean views are great if you can get one of these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loody14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Marine Hotel on 8th June 2013. Friend had already stayed there a few months ago and had suggested we go again after our yearly visit to the Isle of May.
For anyone looking to stay in a boutique style place then this is not for you but if you want somewhere with originality and atmosphere then look no further.
Our room was huge and immaculate. We had a fantastic view with a door onto the rooftop. Down a flight of stairs was out own private shower/bathroom and toilet. After our trip to the Isle of May and a few drinks in the local pub we sat on rooftop drinking wine. The beds were so comfortable and with the curtains and the door to the rooftop open we both fell asleep listening to the souns of the waves.....bliss.
Breakfast in the dining room was lovely with lots to choose from regarding cereal etc.followed by a cooked breakfast.............yum. Having both left our 4 cats(2 each) it was nice to see Morgans moggy out in the garden and it was us who encouraged him to come in and share breakfast with us.
After our walk on Sunday we returned for our bags to set off home and Morgan kindly made us a much appreciated cuppa before we left.
We plan to return soon but this time we will pass on going to the pub, buy a couple of bottles of wine, sit out in the beautiful garden and chill.
Morgan, thank you so much for our lovely stay and for all the people who say your hotel is tired or shabby..................well, no big loss for you because I'm sure I speak for everyone who has been and enjoyed, they'll return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Thanks Morgan for your great hospitality and saving our holiday which started out in the awful Balcomie Links Hotel. Our room was enormous with beautiful seaview.It was a very cold weekend but the heating in the room was on at all times. I loved all the quirky antiques scattered around the hotel. The breakfast room was amazing with a baby grand piano in front of a beautiful fireplace which was lit. The full breakfast was lovely and there were lots of other things to choose from such as cereal,fruit even tea for hangovers! It was great eating our breakfast while appreciating the amazing sea view.Lovely garden at the back of the hotel with tables and chairs and steps leading right down to the sea.The staff were very friendly,polite and helpful. Thank goodness we had such a bad experience in the other hotel otherwise we may never have discovered this gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portobello, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our recent stay at the Marine Hotel for a family renuion was nothing short of magical! The perfect host Morgan could not do enough to ensure we were comfortable and well looked after.

The rooms are stunning and immaculate! The breakfast is wonderful and the staff are incredibly welcoming.

Stay at this place!

Mr and Mrs McIntosh - Portobello

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fuby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel for a pre booked weekend stay we were greeted by the owner, Morgan. As has been said by other reviewers, Morgan is a very colourful character, though was pleasant and courteous, and offered advice on places to visit and to eat in the local area. After a slight mix up with our booking, which was quickly resolved, he carried my bag up to our room which was much appreciated as it was on the top floor and, being female, I don't travel light.

The hotel occupies an excellent position in the town, close to the harbour and local shops etc. The garden is lovely though the hotel itself does seem a bit dated and in need of a makeover, the decor throughout is very tired and the lounge/dining area is pretty cluttered. We have no complaints about our room which, though mismatched, was spacious and clean, with excellent views of the sea. Breakfast certainly wasn't a highlight of our stay, with some items over or under cooked, so we opted to have a lie in on the second morning and have a late breakfast elsewhere.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable weekend. Crail itself is a lovely place to visit and we were fortunate enough to have good weather, which allowed us to explore the town and enjoy walks along the harbour and seafront. There are some nice cafe's and resteraunts close to the hotel. We had a lovely meal on both nights in the nearby East Neuk Hotel, as recommended by Morgan. The fruit scone's at Julie's cafe on the High Street are delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
0.4 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
8.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
8.1 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 9 in Crail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 10 in Anstruther
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Property: Marine Hotel
Address: 54 Nethergate South, Crail KY10 3TZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please come and stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Crail, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing