We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant welcome and hospitatlity”
Review of Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crail
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marine Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2012

we enjoyed staying in that wonderful old-fashioned hotel. Morgan welcomed us very friendly and introduced us with good advices in the Scottish way of life.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 83 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

awesome hotel in great location :some of the rooms are wonderful and the hotel is set in a lovely part of town with easy access to back garden and coastal walks.You are welcomed by morgan who couldnt have been more helpful and we loved the ambiance of the whole place.It may be shabby chic but the place was spotless .you will either like it or hate it ;we liked it!!!!!!!irish peteand gillybean

Room Tip: get the big room facing the sea ! awesome
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishpete60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Had lovely stay in the marine hotel crail gorgeous views dad had single right across from me and my son perfect accomodation and morgan was very helpful will definitely be recommending the marine to my family and workmates thankyou also for the great fryup In the morning served by a lovely girl

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionagibson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Don’t expect too much for £35 a night, but the staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and warm and the Full Scottish Breakfast is massive, but no black pudding. Makes me think that the owner is possibly a Sassenach. No bar but it is OK to bring your own drinks.

Room Tip: One overlooking the Sea
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Stewart1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

When my husband and I arrived at the Marine we were welcomed by a very pleasant man, Morgan. He kindly showed us too our room, the room was average maybe needs a little upgrade but we found it fine.
If you want a b&b with a modern taste, i wouldn't pick this one. But my husband and I liked the quirky old style of the marine, but others may not. The best part of the room was the amazing sea view(overlooking the Isle of May), wouldn't get that view any where else, at night we sat out in the garden (great weather when we were there)
The breakfast was quick and tasted very good, the waitress was kind and helpful. We stayed at the Marine for 2 nights and had a lovely time and would probably visit and stay again! Thank you Morgan and staff for a delightful stay.

Room Tip: go for the sea view rooms
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Positive - the views from the back bedroom windows are stunning
Negative - Rooms need total refurbishment
During our 1 night stay the roof leaked, no breakfast was served as the staff had been out the night before and the owner wasnt really bothered. Tv wasnt working and there seemed to be little security as we saw the doors open all the time. We stayed there 20 years ago and the decor hasnt changed much since then. What a pity.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank watt j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The marine hosted us on our golf trip to Crail's 2 great golf courses. The welcome was fantastic and the staff could not have been more friendly during our stay. The rooms at the back have wonderful views and there is an excellent garden with views out to sea. All 8 of us are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank believe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
0.4 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
82 reviews
8.1 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
5.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 9 in Crail
144 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 9 in Anstruther
434 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#3 of 9 in Anstruther
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: 54 Nethergate South, Crail KY10 3TZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please come and stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Crail, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing