We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and dog friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Golf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and dog friendly”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After a visit to St Andrews and not been able to find an honest advertisement of a dog friendly pub we travelled to Crail. Our dog was most welcome in the bar area of the golf hotel and was even given a biscuit .
We ordered our meals, starter and main course which were absolutely fantastic and great value for money . There was no hesitation from the staff when we ordered chicken strips for our dog as his holiday great.
Will definitely return and will most certainly recommend .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryDoodle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    45
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
30
47
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have eaten many times in the Golf Hotel over the years but more consistently this year. The hotel has character is very old and has lots of character. The small bar is very cosy. There is a good selection of food ranging from fish and chips, salad, chilli, steak pie etc. High teas and rates for OAP's also available. There is very little choice in Crail for food but I would recommend the Golf Hotel for if you are looking for food in a relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant could do with a facelift but the food is good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieQE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Was originally heading to the honeypot for breakfast but that was shut so opted for the golf hotel, wasnt disappointed, my son had full breakfast and I had the pancakes, eggs and bacon, fussy daughter had lots of toast, no complaints here great value for money £17 including drinks, waitress nice and friendly, will go back next visit to crail

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ailsaboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stopped for an evening meal in the Golf during early July 2013. Restaurant feels a bit dated and décor has an early 1990s feel to it, but I am not going to be overall negative about that because it was clean and I would imagine that some guests like a more ‘traditional’ setting.

Food was quite bland and standard pub fare, in my opinion it was quite expensive. Menu consists of pretty standard fish and chips, stake pie etc. Again I realise that this is a pub/ restaurant but for the money I was left disappointed by the choice and quality.

Staff and service was good so no complaints there.

Overall, the Golf is fine, but don’t go there for something special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Called 5 minutes before descending on them for an unplanned family meal. Ended up dining at 5pm on a Friday evening and the restaurant was already full. We were happy enough to sit in the small lounge where the staff were happy to push tables together to accommodate us. We decided to have the high tea menu. The food was up to its usual high standard and staff were happy to top up the tea throughout. Only disappointment was the pancake and cakes - felt they were all of the same kind of idea but home made cake none the less. Pancake could have been used as a frisbee but edible! Will be back soon no doubt

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Papasmurffsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golfadmin, Owner at The Golf Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for giving us such great feedback on your TripAdvisor review following your visit to our establishment. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for taking the time to let us know about it. I have shared all your kind comments with our team and we are all very appreciative. I note your comment about the cakes and pancakes and will look into this.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Graham Guthrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My partner and I decided to visit The Golf Hotel for some food because we were staying in the village of Crail.

We walked in and found ourselves in the dining room, which doesn't seem to have been redecorated since the 80s. I'm not sure about the 'atmosphere' people in other reviews are talking about. It's a fairly bright lit room, with unattractive decor, and awful music! Needless to say we didn't fancy spending the rest of our evening there after our food.

The food itself was average at best. The prices are steep for what you are presented with. I had a Chicken Caesar Salad, which was okay. Nothing to rave about. My partner had a Lasagne which he has described as wet, and soup-like with bright orange cheese on top - which came with no side salad chips or anything!

Overall, overpriced. Wont be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
198 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Regular visitors here and the food and atmosphere are always superb.
Whether its a quick snack to full meal, The menu choice is vast and the quality of food is excellent.
Always friend fast and efficient service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rickdekikkerfanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
0.4 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
79 reviews
8.1 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
8.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
447 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 10 in Anstruther
404 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Inn at Kingsbarns
The Inn at Kingsbarns
#1 of 3 in Kingsbarns
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golf Hotel

Property: The Golf Hotel
Address: 4 High Street South, Crail KY10 3TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golf Hotel is a quality hotel, bar and restaurant in a 18th century Grade A listed building, perfect for a relaxing weekend away or golfing holiday. Situated in the picturesque village of Crail and with fantastic facilities and great food, visit us to wind down or for a weekend getaway. For golfers, Crail has two links courses and is perfectly situated for a trip to 'the home of golf', St Andrews. If you're simply looking to relax, the scenic coastal paths offer a fantastic opportunity to explore the stunning eastern coastline of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golf Hotel Crail, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing