We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Golf Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$99
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilconquhar Castle Estate(Kilconquhar)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel(St. Andrews)(Great Value!)
$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(St. Andrews)(Great Value!)
$116
$112
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kinnettles Hotel(St. Andrews)
$327
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ardgowan Hotel(St. Andrews)(Great Value!)
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Greyfriars Inn(St. Andrews)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Du Vin(St. Andrews)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dunvegan Hotel(St. Andrews)
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
71
57
18
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
57
18
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teamain coursest andrewssteak piefish cakestea coffee and biscuitsbeer gardenan evening mealtasted greatrooms are nicebearing in mindhuge portionsstaying overnighttraditional hotelfresh strawberriesresidents loungethe pub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 158 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stopped for an evening meal in the Golf during early July 2013. Restaurant feels a bit dated and décor has an early 1990s feel to it, but I am not going to be overall negative about that because it was clean and I would imagine that some guests like a more ‘traditional’ setting.

Food was quite bland and standard pub fare, in my opinion it was quite expensive. Menu consists of pretty standard fish and chips, stake pie etc. Again I realise that this is a pub/ restaurant but for the money I was left disappointed by the choice and quality.

Staff and service was good so no complaints there.

Overall, the Golf is fine, but don’t go there for something special.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Called 5 minutes before descending on them for an unplanned family meal. Ended up dining at 5pm on a Friday evening and the restaurant was already full. We were happy enough to sit in the small lounge where the staff were happy to push tables together to accommodate us. We decided to have the high tea menu. The food was up to its usual high standard and staff were happy to top up the tea throughout. Only disappointment was the pancake and cakes - felt they were all of the same kind of idea but home made cake none the less. Pancake could have been used as a frisbee but edible! Will be back soon no doubt

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Papasmurffsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golfadmin, Owner at The Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for giving us such great feedback on your TripAdvisor review following your visit to our establishment. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for taking the time to let us know about it. I have shared all your kind comments with our team and we are all very appreciative. I note your comment about the cakes and pancakes and will look into this.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Graham Guthrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My partner and I decided to visit The Golf Hotel for some food because we were staying in the village of Crail.

We walked in and found ourselves in the dining room, which doesn't seem to have been redecorated since the 80s. I'm not sure about the 'atmosphere' people in other reviews are talking about. It's a fairly bright lit room, with unattractive decor, and awful music! Needless to say we didn't fancy spending the rest of our evening there after our food.

The food itself was average at best. The prices are steep for what you are presented with. I had a Chicken Caesar Salad, which was okay. Nothing to rave about. My partner had a Lasagne which he has described as wet, and soup-like with bright orange cheese on top - which came with no side salad chips or anything!

Overall, overpriced. Wont be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Regular visitors here and the food and atmosphere are always superb.
Whether its a quick snack to full meal, The menu choice is vast and the quality of food is excellent.
Always friend fast and efficient service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rickdekikkerfanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have been visiting Crail for 20 + years from Edinburgh. Drank in the old bar which is smallish but full of character. Stayed in the Hotel a few times an the rooms are spotless and all you need for a goood night's sleep. The dining room could do with a 'wee freshen up', but the staff were friendly. The portions and service were nothing less than you would expect from a small family run hotel. Beats the big five star jobs with staff 'trained to smile and say good morning' without being genuine. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews