We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Golf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fife
Level Contributor
192 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Regular visitors here and the food and atmosphere are always superb.
Whether its a quick snack to full meal, The menu choice is vast and the quality of food is excellent.
Always friend fast and efficient service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rickdekikkerfanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    43
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
30
44
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have been visiting Crail for 20 + years from Edinburgh. Drank in the old bar which is smallish but full of character. Stayed in the Hotel a few times an the rooms are spotless and all you need for a goood night's sleep. The dining room could do with a 'wee freshen up', but the staff were friendly. The portions and service were nothing less than you would expect from a small family run hotel. Beats the big five star jobs with staff 'trained to smile and say good morning' without being genuine. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel but used both the bar and the restaurant. The bar is pretty small but full of character and the service was quick and very friendly. Really enjoyed it. We weren't as keen on the restaurant itself, the staff were again great and the food was really good - we enjoyed our meal immensely. Tasty and a good sized portion. Would say it was a little pricey but can't have been too over the top as we returned the next evening!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pssyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golfadmin, Owner at The Golf Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your restaurant experience and our bar. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Graham Guthrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had a Great Experience and fantastic service, I would certainly recommend them. The food was nice, well cooked and presented. The portions were good and tasted great, the entire experience (not only in the restaurant) was cost effective. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was very good for golf and the area had character.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank johnbhicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golfadmin, Owner at The Golf Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our food and portion size. It is nice to know that we can satisfy you and the majority of people who enjoy eating and drinking at the 'Golf'.

Kind Regards

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We visited the Restaurant tonight (02.06.13) We have been many times over the years as we have a holiday home and go every couple of weeks. We agree with all the other comments and this is the reason I am still giveing it a 5 star review.
Tonight I ordered the mushroom stroganoff, I cannot fault the quality it was delicious but I can fault the quantity, it was extremely poor, in my opinion it was less than a childs portion, this is not good as it is not cheap in the Golf Hotel to eat. Then we had ice cream and strawberries and the strawberries were inedible, which again is the first time this has happened. We will not let this put us off going back, hopefully this will not happen again.
I am writing this hoping the owner reads it, as I was also told he was the chef tonight.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilymymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golfadmin, Owner at The Golf Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that my food has been praised as we pride ourselves on good home-cooked dishes. As regards the quantity of the portion I think there might have been a communication problem, and perhaps you were given a pensioners portion, which is a smaller size.

As regards the strawberries, I can only apologise and I will liaise with our supplier to check the quality more thoroughly to stop this happening again.

I see you have a holiday home in Crail, and I would be delighted to meet with you where I can have the opportunity to discuss these issues with you personally rather than through a poor review on tripadvisor. Please contact me on 01333 450206
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have stayed in the hotel a number of times and it's always been a great stay. The owner Graham and all the staff are so welcoming and really helpful. The menu has a lovely, varied choice of meals/snacks for all age groups, all freshly cooked and full Scottish breakfast is a must. The bedroom/ensuite facilities are immaculately clean, well appointed and on my last stay the room had been refurbished and was beautiful. This hotel is in a wonderful location for walkers, cyclists, golfers, drivers, anyone who wants to visit the region and also for those of us that just want a stress free break away from home :) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChecklistJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night and overall we were pleasently surprised with this gem of a hotel. it is situated on the main high street in crail in the centre of everything. Parking is behind the hotel. takes 5 mins to walk to the harbour and some beautiful walks.
booked in and shown to our room we were impressed with the size and just how spotless it is. our room had a double and a single bed with pristeen linen and lovely furnishings. the ensuite was modern and obviously recently refurbished and again spotless. you are clearly in a very old building but it has been done up beautifully.
we had a nice dinner at night in the restaurant which was freshly cooked and well worth the money and our breakfast was good too. clearly freshly cooked again. staff were friendly and couldnt do enough for you!
My only downside was that we heard the other people in the next rooms being noisy in the corridors and knocking on doors etc. this is not the hotels fault though. it is an old building and the walls are not going to be as soundproof. that said it would not stop me staying here again and would definitely reccommend this lovely little historic hotel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
0.4 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
8.1 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
8.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 10 in Anstruther
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Inn at Kingsbarns
The Inn at Kingsbarns
#1 of 3 in Kingsbarns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golf Hotel

Property: The Golf Hotel
Address: 4 High Street South, Crail KY10 3TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golf Hotel is a quality hotel, bar and restaurant in a 18th century Grade A listed building, perfect for a relaxing weekend away or golfing holiday. Situated in the picturesque village of Crail and with fantastic facilities and great food, visit us to wind down or for a weekend getaway. For golfers, Crail has two links courses and is perfectly situated for a trip to 'the home of golf', St Andrews. If you're simply looking to relax, the scenic coastal paths offer a fantastic opportunity to explore the stunning eastern coastline of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golf Hotel Crail, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing