We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hazelton Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hazelton Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crail
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hazelton Guest House
Ranked #2 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hazelton Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Hazelton B&B was excellent. & The décor was lovely (both stylish + comfortable). & David & Karen were outstanding hosts. They were very friendly & helpful, & nothing was too much trouble. Their attention to detail was outstanding! The Rooms were lovely & comfortable, & the luxurious toiletries were a great touch. & As for their lovely breakfasts = Excellent! I recommend The Hazelton B&B. Sigrid Light

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siggles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
102
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Excellent Guest House ... Lovely rooms with comfortable beds ... Attention to detail in all areas from the home baked shortbread and handy toiletries to the first class breakfast freshly cooked using local produce ... The Guest House is perfectly located to visit this beautiful part of the coastline and ideally situated for all the fabulous golf courses in the area ... David and Karen are perfect hosts very friendly and have a great knowledge of the area ... We can greatly recommend a stay at the Hazelton and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

David and Karen were very gracious and attentive to our party of four. We started the day with a full Scottish breakfast, which featured delicious home made marmalade. For dinner we crossed the street to the Golf Hotel Restaurant. Accomodation was comfortable and tastefully appointed. The printed walking tour hand out was very helpful in directing us to interestinig historical sights nearby.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russ Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Having never stayed in a B&B , i was wonderfully suprised by the large tastefully decorated double rooms. The sheets were the finest crisp white cotton and the cleansliness second to none. Breakfast was a treat, with lots of fresh fruit and an array of choice to be had, with the inclusion of the best, full scottish breakfast ive ever had. The personal touches karen and david (the proprietors) provide make this a little gem, in a beautifull part of the world and i couldnt recommend enough.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My friends and I had the good fortune to stay for 2 nights (June 4and 5) at this very lovely guest house. Karan and David are great hosts. They are warm and friendly and very helpful. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and the breakfasts were excellent and very generous! We would highly recommend the Hazelton to anyone travelling to Crail. The location is perfect for enjoying the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mags225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We truly enjoyed our 4-night stay at the Hazelton Guest House over May Bank Holiday weekend. Crail was a nice base for St. Andrews, East Neuk villages and even trips further afield to Scone and Falkland Palaces.

Karen and David were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome without being overbearing. Breakfast was delicious and just the right portion (some places simply serve too much). The fresh fruit was a nice touch as was the homemade shortbread.

We had rooms 1&2 on the 1st (i.e. 1 up from the ground) floor for our family of 4. It was nice to have the larger room 2 for the adults particularly since we were there for 4 nights.

Wifi was great. The only niggle would be the low water pressure in the showers (at least in #2) but that's not always in their control.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve_in_indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We enjoyed our three nights in this lovely house in a central location in town. Our room was very comfortable in all aspects. Breakfast was generous and tasty and Karen and David were friendly and helpful. Each day wefound fresh shortbreads in our room. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
0.3 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
8.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 9 in Crail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 10 in Anstruther
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Inn at Kingsbarns
The Inn at Kingsbarns
#1 of 3 in Kingsbarns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hazelton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelton Guest House

Property: The Hazelton Guest House
Address: 29 Marketgate North, Crail KY10 3TH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hazelton Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a former merchant's town house dating back to the 19th Century, The Hazelton enjoys a prominent position on the broad and attractive Marketgate in the heart of the village. Owned and run by Catherine and David Fraser, The Hazelton makes an ideal base for exploring the pretty East Neuk villages and beaches, walking the Fife Coastal Path, cycling, golfing, bird watching or just winding down. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hazelton Guest House Crail, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing