We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely guesthouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hazelton Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crail
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hazelton Guest House
Ranked #3 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A lovely guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is our second visit to the Hazelton. We stayed 2 nights this time. Lovely house with beautifully appointed bedrooms, tea/coffee and nice touches like shortbread. Good quality toiletries and spotless accommodation. We can thoroughly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
102
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Hazelton Guest House is a charming B&B in a beautiful old medieval fishing village. We had a very restful night at Hazelton after a long journey and were warmly welcomed by our hosts, David and Karen. Our room was spotless, lovely toiletries, tea, coffee and all extras to make our night comfortable were supplied. Breakfast was delicious with many homemade extras included. Free wifi and parking outside all helped to make our stay easy. The view from our top room in the morning across to the Isle of May was superb. A great stop on a cold, wet and windy day, much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a delight! My wife and I stayed for one night at the Hazelton and were highly impressed. The welcome was warm and friendly and we were even offered a choice of rooms! We chose the room on the first floor which was extremely comfortable and absolutely spotless. Delightful touches such as speciality teas and luxury toiletries added greatly to the enjoyment of our stay. Breakfast was abundant and delicious. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABFANAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

After we got considerably lost driving from Stirling to Crail we found our wonderful guesthouse, even better than descibed on-line. The Hazelton Guesthouse owners, David and Karen could not have been nicer, more friendly or more accomodating. The large room looking toward the ocean was just beautiful-- more like a 5 star hotel. The delicious full scottish breakfast was just teriffic, served with enthusiam in the impeccably-furnished front room. The Hazelton was a highlight of our trip through Scotland!

Room Tip: The spaciuos top room had a great view over the buildings toward the water. Enjoyed a beautiful sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCTKMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Hazelton is a lovely, quaint guest house which is situated in the heart of Crail and near to good public transport links to St Andrews and other picturesque coastal towns in Fife. The property comprises five guest rooms split over a number of levels in this elegant town house. We were allocated the larger of the two rooms on the top floor which had stunning sea views. The room was a great size with en suit facilities, the decor was beautiful throughout the property and the cleanliness was impeccable. The two things that made this guest house stand out however were the breakfast, which was fantastic with a wide selection of fresh and tasty food and the friendliness of our hosts, who couldn’t have made us feel more welcome and had great local knowledge of things to do and restaurant choices. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLDACW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

From the minute we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome by Karen & David. They had lots of hints and tips about the local area. Our room was lovely, very clean and the attention to detail made it like a home away from home. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice and local fresh ingredients. Can't recommend highly enough. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeds31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Hazelton Guest House was a wonderful find...and offered us a standard of accommodation way above that which we have found in most other B&Bs. Very friendly and welcoming hosts whose attention to detail is apparent in everything......from the wonderful comfort and cleanliness of the beautifully decorated and appointed bedrooms to the exceptional breakfast which caters to every taste.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
0.3 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
8.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
0.0 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 9 in Crail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 10 in Anstruther
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hazelton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelton Guest House

Property: The Hazelton Guest House
Address: 29 Marketgate North, Crail KY10 3TH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hazelton Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a former merchant's town house dating back to the 19th Century, The Hazelton enjoys a prominent position on the broad and attractive Marketgate in the heart of the village. Owned and run by Catherine and David Fraser, The Hazelton makes an ideal base for exploring the pretty East Neuk villages and beaches, walking the Fife Coastal Path, cycling, golfing, bird watching or just winding down. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hazelton Guest House Crail, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing