We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crail
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hazelton Guest House
Ranked #3 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

David and Karen are most welcoming at their b&b. From the moment they greet you on arrival they are friendly, charming and welcoming. Rooms are big and spacious. Views from our room no. 5 were wonderful, across the sea. Breakfast was delicious and the decor of dining room and bedrooms is modern, clean and very comfortable. There is a kettle, teas and home made shortbreads in the room, and free wifi throughout (although a bit sporadic at the top of the house). Will be staying again. A great location in the centre of charming Crail, close to the golf course, and on the coastal walk route.

Room Tip: Room 5 has great views, and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gallitassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 176 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Thanks to Karen and David for a wonderful stay at the Hazelton, We (sister, brother-in-law and 3 year old nephew and I) visited for a long weekend and we loved every second. We often find that B&Bs are not too keen on younger kids staying - despite being very well behaved - and Karen and David were so welcoming and kind to my nephew and made him feel really special!
We had the top two rooms in the property. A very large king room and a lovely double next door overlooking the rooftops to the sea. The rooms were lovely, beds extremely comfy and the attention to detail exceptional - fresh flowers, home made shortbread, etc.Breakfast was exceptional and the home made granola was delicious! We really can't wait to go back. Soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliorchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We LOVED staying at the Hazelton. We were warmly greeted by Karen and David upon arrival and so enjoyed chatting with them throughout our stay. The breakfast was fabulous, the rooms were spotless and beautiful, and we loved the town of Crail. Our hosts were also super helpful with itinerary and eating suggestions. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank writetojennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

From the moment David opened and Karen call out a welcome we just new this was going to be a great stop. Beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean this B&B is one to return to. Nothing has been left to chance by hosts who have attended to everything their guests might need. A great nights rest and a well prepared breakfast to start the next day.
B&Bs that are run by people who travel the world seem to be much better, There is nothing more to say other than I would be back tomorrow.

Room Tip: The top level rooms have the best view. Don't worry about having to lug your bags up stairs, D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpy_Old_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was a warm and inviting B and B! Hosts David and Karen were so welcoming and friendly. The room was lovely, clean and looked out onto a beautiful garden. The location was great as well. We walked all over Crail from this central location. If ever in Crail again, I would most certainly stay at the Hazelton!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umagooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here during May on route to picking our son up from St Andrews. We had a large room on the top floor with an excellent view over the roof tops down to the sea. The room was well appointed, clean and the bed was both large and comfortable. Karen and David were good hosts throughout our stay and provided an excellent breakfast which had quality and quantity, I did not need to eat again until the evening. We will be hoping to stay again next year. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darkdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here whilst attending a wedding up the road in St Andrews. We stayed in a large double en suite at the front of the house on the first floor. This was a lovely room with hugh windows an acres of light. The very warm and friendly David met us on arrival; we got the feeling that David and Karen couldn't do enough for guests. The en-suite was small, but more than enough room for anyone, and very clean. We didn't spend much time in Crail itself, which seemed like a very pretty place. On one evening we did eat at the pub opposite, which was a little disappointing - no ales on and the food was the kind of 80's pub fare that I'd hoped was long dead and buried with the calibre on offer in some places these days.

Room Tip: 1st floor front double en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crail hotels
0 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 9 in Crail
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kalliope House B&B
Kalliope House B&B
#6 of 9 in Crail
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hazelton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelton Guest House

Address: 29 Marketgate North, Crail KY10 3TH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hazelton Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a former merchant's town house dating back to the 19th Century, The Hazelton enjoys a prominent position on the broad and attractive Marketgate in the heart of the village. Owned and run by Catherine and David Fraser, The Hazelton makes an ideal base for exploring the pretty East Neuk villages and beaches, walking the Fife Coastal Path, cycling, golfing, bird watching or just winding down. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hazelton Guest House Crail, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing