We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay at The Hazelton Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crail
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hazelton Guest House
Ranked #3 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay at The Hazelton Guest House”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Thanks to Karen and David for a wonderful stay at the Hazelton, We (sister, brother-in-law and 3 year old nephew and I) visited for a long weekend and we loved every second. We often find that B&Bs are not too keen on younger kids staying - despite being very well behaved - and Karen and David were so welcoming and kind to my nephew and made him feel really special!
We had the top two rooms in the property. A very large king room and a lovely double next door overlooking the rooftops to the sea. The rooms were lovely, beds extremely comfy and the attention to detail exceptional - fresh flowers, home made shortbread, etc.Breakfast was exceptional and the home made granola was delicious! We really can't wait to go back. Soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliorchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
103
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We LOVED staying at the Hazelton. We were warmly greeted by Karen and David upon arrival and so enjoyed chatting with them throughout our stay. The breakfast was fabulous, the rooms were spotless and beautiful, and we loved the town of Crail. Our hosts were also super helpful with itinerary and eating suggestions. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writetojennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

From the moment David opened and Karen call out a welcome we just new this was going to be a great stop. Beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean this B&B is one to return to. Nothing has been left to chance by hosts who have attended to everything their guests might need. A great nights rest and a well prepared breakfast to start the next day.
B&Bs that are run by people who travel the world seem to be much better, There is nothing more to say other than I would be back tomorrow.

Room Tip: The top level rooms have the best view. Don't worry about having to lug your bags up stairs, D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy_Old_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was a warm and inviting B and B! Hosts David and Karen were so welcoming and friendly. The room was lovely, clean and looked out onto a beautiful garden. The location was great as well. We walked all over Crail from this central location. If ever in Crail again, I would most certainly stay at the Hazelton!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umagooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here during May on route to picking our son up from St Andrews. We had a large room on the top floor with an excellent view over the roof tops down to the sea. The room was well appointed, clean and the bed was both large and comfortable. Karen and David were good hosts throughout our stay and provided an excellent breakfast which had quality and quantity, I did not need to eat again until the evening. We will be hoping to stay again next year. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darkdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here whilst attending a wedding up the road in St Andrews. We stayed in a large double en suite at the front of the house on the first floor. This was a lovely room with hugh windows an acres of light. The very warm and friendly David met us on arrival; we got the feeling that David and Karen couldn't do enough for guests. The en-suite was small, but more than enough room for anyone, and very clean. We didn't spend much time in Crail itself, which seemed like a very pretty place. On one evening we did eat at the pub opposite, which was a little disappointing - no ales on and the food was the kind of 80's pub fare that I'd hoped was long dead and buried with the calibre on offer in some places these days.

Room Tip: 1st floor front double en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hosts Karen and David of the Hazelton really know how to make you feel at home. Their elegant town house is beautifully decorated. Room was spacious with very good bed and nice seating area. Stable&free WiFi. Home-made granola to die for and other nice little extra's at the already sumptuous breakfast. Nice surroundings, great village, good walks. David knows everything about golf and where to go&eat

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaMastwijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
0.3 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,009 reviews
8.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
0.0 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 9 in Crail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#3 of 10 in Anstruther
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hazelton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelton Guest House

Property: The Hazelton Guest House
Address: 29 Marketgate North, Crail KY10 3TH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hazelton Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a former merchant's town house dating back to the 19th Century, The Hazelton enjoys a prominent position on the broad and attractive Marketgate in the heart of the village. Owned and run by Catherine and David Fraser, The Hazelton makes an ideal base for exploring the pretty East Neuk villages and beaches, walking the Fife Coastal Path, cycling, golfing, bird watching or just winding down. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hazelton Guest House Crail, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing