We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“October stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honeypot Guest House & Tearoom

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crail
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honeypot Guest House & Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 9 Crail B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
1 review
“October stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely little B@B very clean, fantastic breakfast. We stayed for two nights in October and had a great time, Graham was the perfect host and went out of his way to make sure we had wonderful stay. I would recommend the Honeypot to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
133
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Honeypot recently for 3 nights and had a lovely time. We were bowled over by Graham's warmth and genuine welcome. He really made us feel at home. We had the double en-suite which was cosey, comfy,(bed was very comfy!), and clean. Breakfasts were a magical open book - anything we fancied! They were delicious! Food cooked and presented with a lot of care and attention. Edna and Graham are a winning team. They clearly enjoy people and it shows! We are looking forward to coming back very soon...Many thanks to you both for everything.
Warm wishes, Dawn and Pete

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete and Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

A wonderful smell of ginger & chocolate cake just drew us in, Edna was cooking for the tearoom. A truly comfortable nights sleep, with a filling varied, enjoyable breakfast. The local store opposite the bedroom window proved to be a great source for watching being a veritable hive of activity. Thank you Graham & Edna, we will be returning, your welcome and hospitality are not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

we stayed in the sunny twin room overlooking the harbour and the sea. We kept the curtains drawn and woke up to a orange and pink sunrise. The room was bright and sunny and clean. the breakfast on sunday morning was great, complete with healthy and unhealthy options! Edna dn Graham were great hosts who clearly enjoyed having guests and were keen to offer advice about the area and things to see. I have never stayed anywhere like this, just incredibly welcoming and friendly. we were both so impressed, thank you for a great weekend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I have come south to Crail, for holidays and short breaks, on many occasions.

The cafe at the Honeypot has always been an essential part of our visits with a warm and courteous welcome. The coffee, tea and food have always been excellent. The cafe is bright and warm, even in the worst weather the Firth of Forth can throw at Crail. Graham, Edna and the staff work hard to ensure that all runs smoothly and the number of customers in the cafe reflect this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed at the Honeypot while visiting St Andrews for the Dunhill Golf, had stayed there before with some golfing buddies but this time the "boss" was with me, she was very impressed, clean as a whistle and the friendliest service you could wish for
well done to Graham and Edna for making our stay so pleasant.
highly recommended, great value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairfork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed in the seaview room for a night while hiking the Coastal Path, and I couldn't be happier with it. Although this is the one room that isn't en suite, the bathroom was only steps away and it was extremely clean with nice, modern fixtures. I had a nice view of the water over a few roofs from my room, and because they have the tearoom / cafe they can easily make almost anything for breakfast.

The house itself is very clean and cozy, with clean and attractive rooms. In addition, the location is fantastic. It's located right between the parish and the harbor (the two attractions I wanted to see the most) and is very close to the two restaurants open for dinner.

Although the room was extremely nice and comfortable, the thing that stood out the most was probably the great hosts. I arrived later than expected b/c my knees were ready to fall off, but Graham and Edna were SO friendly and welcoming when I arrived. Also, when Graham found out I was thinking of waking up to take photos of the sunrise at the harbor he took time to make sure I had the most up-to-date weather report. Finally, I checked out pretty early to get back on trail and Edna gave me a scone that was straight out of the oven in a to-go container. I ate it a few hours later in Kinsbarns and it was delicious - made me wish I was staying there a second night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William_Walker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crail
0.5 mi away
Balcomie Links Hotel
Balcomie Links Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
8.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
0.1 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 9 in Crail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 10 in Anstruther
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeypot Guest House & Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeypot Guest House & Tearoom

Property: Honeypot Guest House & Tearoom
Address: 6 High Street South, Crail KY10 3TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Crail
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Honeypot Guest House & Tearoom 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed guest house and coffee shop in the centre of historic seaside village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honeypot Guest House & Tearoom Crail, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing