We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Little Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Pebbles Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Anstruther, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lyndor78
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Cottage”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our stay in this cottage. The cottage had everything we needed. It had a great "rain" shower and a wine fridge. The owner was very helpful and provided us with lots of useful information before arriving. They also left us a bottle of prosecco and shortbread which was a nice touch. The cottage was only a 15 walk to Anstruther and close to Crail and Pittenweem too. The cottage was decorated to a modern standard throughout with 3 good sized bedrooms and a nice patio area out the back. The only thing we would have liked would have been a TV in lounge but we were so busy exploring the surrounding area that it didn't really matter. Great stay had by all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review, i am looking into putting a small Tv on the wall in the lounge. I hope you can manage back some time.
Regards Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deegward
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a shame”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this cottage for myself, husband and teenage sons (and dog) after looking at several in the area.

The cottage is named Pebbles Cottage, but unfortunately the name is not anywhere outside.

After reading previous reviews I was shallowly looking forward to our welcome gift which others had allued to. (Having rented several cottages in the past and receiving homemade cakes and the like). Unfortunately there was nothing there. No matter, we unpacked and looked forward to settling in and enjoying an evening together. Again unfortunately I had not appreciated that although there are TVs in all bedrooms there is NOT one in the living room. After a text exchange I was told I should've known this and we could remove one from one of the bedrooms.

The views from the top of garden are amazing, and the cottage has been well refurbished, but the reason I have only given average rating is the following;

*no TV in living room.
*not enough seats in living room for the number of beds - i.e. Only 2 two seater sofas, despite the cottage sleeping 6. We were only 4 but it meant we couldn't spread out.
*stone floor in living room had no rug, which meant it was very cold under foot.

My son left his fire stick in the cottage and I contacted to ask for it to be posted back. I have to pay £8.40 - which included payment to the local - before it would be posted. Bearing I mind the charge paid, this has not sat easy with me.

Lovely cottage but a few things stopped it be excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2018
After receiving a text message it was explained to the guest that the house listing did not include a TV in the Living area and that a TV could easily be moved downstairs if she so wished. We have since purchased an additional seat. There is no carpet downstairs for hygiene and cleaning reasons as we welcome guests with accompanying pet/s. We would not normally charge for returning items left, however on this occasion I requested a minimum charge for the housekeepers time, and postage due to fact that there had been an undisclosed breakage and damage to another item within the house that had to be replaced at our expense.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendsPais...
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday apartment!”
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

5 of us stayed at Pebbles Cottage during the Easter holidays and what a great experience. From the moment we booked, the owners couldn't be more helpful and having told them that my elderly parents would be with us, they went out their way to make things easier for them. The 'cottage' itself is a 3 storey house, beautifully appointed with every amenity you could want. The décor is bright and fresh and beds are very comfortable. Our little boy loved the rainfall shower. As others have said, there is no TV in the living area but plenty of books and board games. We played Monopoly for the first time in years! The garden which leads up to a summer house is the star of the show and we were lucky enough with the weather to be able to sit up there and enjoy views to the Isle of May and beyond. The property is located at the 'far end' of Cellardyke and is a pleasant 10-15 min walk to the centre of Anstruther. A minute's walk in the other direction takes you to a small childrens play area and the coastal path to Crail and surrounding area. I can thoroughly recommend Pebbles Cottage as a great place to stay. Whether you choose to stay put and enjoy the house, or use it as a base to explore the East Neuk, you will most definitely not be disappointed. I am sure we will be back!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review, I hope we can welcome you and your family back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review. I had been considering putting a to in the living area but like you feel it's too easy then to switch on and miss the quality time we all crave on holiday. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jen M
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy warm and modern fisherman's cottage in a beautiful village”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We loved our stay in Pebble Cottage which was modernised to a high standard and had a super garden. The beds were very comfortable and warm with lovely bed linen throughout.
The log fire was an entertainment in itself and added to the cosy atmosphere of this lovely house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2017
Thank you for taking time to provide a review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope we can welcome you again in the future.
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgowsk...
glasgowskyeblue
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful family stay.”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Having never been to Cellardyke before, we were drawn to Pebbles Cottage by reading the previous reviews and we were not disappointed.

From the moment we booked communication with the owner was excellent, even giving us local information and recommendations prior to our arrival. Speaking of which, we were delighted to find goodies on the table for us when we did arrive!

The house itself is a wonderful family area and we quickly felt at home. The downstairs feels very modern with its open plan area though made to feel very cosy with its fire. It was rather lovely to have no TV in this space as it gave us time to relax, talk and play board games which are kindly left for guests.

There are three excellent bedrooms upstairs which all have a TV - to our eldest daughter's eventual delight - and are beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The shower room is just fantastic as is the master suite.

The garden area outside is wonderful to explore and I can only imagine would be a great place to be in the summer.

There is play park two minutes from the house and The Haven Bar two minutes the other way which serves lovely food and drink. Parking is on street and we had no problems whatsoever in getting a space. That said, it is a lovely stroll into Anstruther which has plenty to amuse all.

Pebbles Cottage provided us with a fabulous base to explore this wonderful part of the world and I would recommend this to anyone.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. I hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaggieM21...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Year escape by the sea”
Reviewed January 14, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful New Year break with friends in Pebbles Cottage by the sea in Cellardyke in the East Neuk of Fife.
Delightful cottage with a heart warming log fire and a tiered garden leading up to a summer house with spectacular views over the Bass Rock and the Isle of May or as some say the May Isle.
Cellardyke runs into Anstruther which has the famous Ainster chippie (fish and chip shop) and Cellardyke sports a fabulous chippie of it's own.
We had some beautiful beach walks along the coastal path of Fife towards Crail, Pittenweem and Elie and a short 20 minute drive takes you to St Andrews home of the famous Old Course and Royal & Ancient Golf Club.
Well worth a visit to a beautiful part of Scotland.
Maggie & Ken Mutch

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing