We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing sea view location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Manse

The Manse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Manse
A genuine 'seafront' property! Front door of The Manse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The Manse
A genuine 'seafront' property!
Front door of The Manse
Utility room
Large kitchen/dining area
Fabulous ground floor living area
Family bathroom
Bedroom 5 with Velux Cabrio windows
Bedroom 5 TV/Playstation
Master bedroom (twin or king)
Master bedroom with wet room ensuite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 view
Bedroom 3 with adjacent ensuite
Bedroom 3 view
Bedroom 1 (ground floor) with ensuite
The 1st floor lounge
View from 1st floor lounge
Patio - and a lot of sea facing windows!
Front garden 2
Front garden and decking
ESPA toiletries
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Anstruther, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marie M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing sea view location”
Reviewed June 5, 2019 for a stay in May 2019
1
person found this review helpful

The Manse is an ideal holiday home with the private patio being a particular favourite.
Whilst the size of the house has an obvious appeal to families and large groups, it is also worth considering for fewer people, friends or family members looking to relax with the added luxury of a bedroom and bathroom or shower room each.
There were four of us and we absolutely intend to return to this wonderful setting.
Inside the house is tastefully decorated and every room has a sea view.
Anstruther is certainly worth a visit.

Date of stay: May 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2019
So pleased to hear you had a wonderful holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long1962
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was a great facility in a great location”
Reviewed May 21, 2019 for a stay in May 2019
1
person found this review helpful

The house was big enough for our group of golfers with enough space to provide privacy when required. The large social spaces and the outside space was also great and enabled our party to mix and socialise very well. The outside space has the added bonus of being close to the sea, but still sheltered. The kitchen had everything we needed, and more. The location is great, Anstruther offers a number of choices for food and drink, which are an east stroll along the harbour as well as a short drive to other places worthy of a visist, such as St Andrews, Crail, and any number of great golf courses within a short distance. We will be back.

Date of stay: May 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2019
We are delighted that our guest had a great holiday and that the weather was kind to him and his golfing friends. We look forward to welcoming them back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a family get-together”
Reviewed March 4, 2019 for a stay in March 2019

Our whole family had a great time at The Manse. The young children loved the garden and watching for mermaids out to sea! The view is wonderful from every window. We were warm and comfortable in the house, the central heating was very efficient and, in the evenings, very cosy with the wood burning stove burning brightly and the heavy curtains drawn against the wind. The house is well equipped with good quality electrical appliances and plenty of fridge space. Having the outer hall was ideal for the many coats and items of footwear we brought with us. Thank you to Jill for allowing us an early entry to the house as we were already in the area, this was so thoughtful and much appreciated.

Date of stay: March 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2019
Thanks so much Linda, the whole team do work hard to try and ensure our guests have a lovely holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele39...
Scottish Borders, UK
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb House in a fab location”
Reviewed February 7, 2019 for a stay in February 2019

Large house right on the seafront and within walking distance of restaurants, shops and pubs. An amazing downstair open plan kitchen/living room with multi fuel fire. Large sliding doors on to decking that faces the sea.

Date of stay: February 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2019
Thank you for the great review. The open plan living area is a super area for getting a large family together.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL1...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous House”
Reviewed January 17, 2019 for a stay in January 2019

This was our second time at The Manse and certainly won't be our last. It's a fantastic house in a great location. Don't hesitate to book if you're considering, you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: January 2019
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2019
Hi Heather. really thrilled that The Manse continues to live up to expectation. Look forward to welcoming you back next time. Kind Regards, Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewan S
1 review
“Owner Cancelled Booking”
Reviewed January 16, 2019 for a stay in January 2019

Unfortunately I am not able to review this property due to the owner cancelling the booking 8 months prior to my booking dates due to what was stated as a double booking. This however was quickly noticed FOUR MONTHS after I made this booking. Not sure how it was decided what booking should then have priority. If thinking of booking this property I would advise that you contact the owner to ask them to check all of their calendars and diaries, as there appears to be bookings on more than one. I had booked this house for a family gathering to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday however golf parties appear to hold priority. On the plus side Anstruther is a beautiful part of the world and well worth a visit. I would however advise booking another property to ensure your plans are not thwarted by incompetence!

Date of stay: January 2019
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2019
Once again, we do apologise for the double booking. Unfortunately it was human error. It was in no way a deliberate act and we would be disappointed to hear of this situation getting in the way of your wife's 40th birthday celebrations. We hope, given that your event is still some 8 months away you will be able to secure new accommodation. As already advised to you during our private email exchange regarding this matter we have offered to help find you alternative accommodation in the area which you have declined and we have ensured an immediate and full refund has been processed to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jendander...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful location and massive house”
Reviewed January 7, 2019 for a stay in December 2018

We stayed here over Christmas with family coming from all over Europe. It was a beautiful location and the house was like a rabbit warren with bedrooms all over the place. It was wonderful having the living room with TV on the 1st floor as it meant we did more talking around the fire. Anstruther is wonderful too and we spent so much time looking out at the sea and also stargazing as it's perfect on the terrace. There was plenty space for everyone to have some alone time but perfect for coming together. Only slight downside was a few items that would be handy for the kitchen but I've emailed the owners about what I would have liked and they said they'd get on it! Absolutely marvellous time and incredibly well organised owners.

Date of stay: December 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2019
Hi Jen,

Delighted that you had a fabulous Christmas in The Manse. At that time of the year we are even more aware that we want it to be perfect. Welcome back any time. p.s. have got the mixing bowl and broom!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing