We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“New year break”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Manse

The Manse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Manse
A genuine 'seafront' property! Front door of The Manse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Manse
A genuine 'seafront' property!
Front door of The Manse
Utility room
Large kitchen/dining area
Fabulous ground floor living area
Family bathroom
Bedroom 5 with Velux Cabrio windows
Bedroom 5 TV/Playstation
Master bedroom (twin or king)
Master bedroom with wet room ensuite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 view
Bedroom 3 with adjacent ensuite
Bedroom 3 view
Bedroom 1 (ground floor) with ensuite
The 1st floor lounge
View from 1st floor lounge
Patio - and a lot of sea facing windows!
Front garden 2
Front garden and decking
ESPA toiletries
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Anstruther, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
graham c
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New year break”
Reviewed January 6, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had 10 people staying over a week. There was enough space for everyone, we could all be together in the downstairs and yet had other areas for time out! It has a brilliant location with outstanding views even through the fog and rain. So handy for visits to other parts of the east nuek. The only negative point is that the broadband is flacky but depends on how important that is to you. A brilliant break in a lovely house!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2018
Delighted to hear that you had a lovely New Year in The Manse. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream7174...
1 review
“Spacious family friendly house with amazing sea views”
Reviewed November 23, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Located right by all Anstruthers attractions and amenities and close to Cellardyke harbour this family friendly house is comfortable, spacious and well equipped. A waves splash from the sea its a joy to watch (and hear!) the tide going in and out. We've been a few times and all three generations of our family love it. There something for everyone - and, importantly - plenty space to get away from each other too....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2017
Delighted to hear that you had another lovely visit to The Manse.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year. Regards, Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WmHug409
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing Sea View”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Location is perfect with amazing sea views. Close to shops & restaurants & pubs.
House is great for family or friends with cosy log fire.
We will visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2017
Thank you for the great review. We are always delighted when our guests have had a lovely holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen C
1 review
“Great location with everything on your doorstep - property easily suited our party of 10 people.”
Reviewed October 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The views from this property are stunning. Waking up and looking out to the sea was amazing. The house was a great size for our family which included 3 couples and 4 children. The living space was well spread with 2 living areas where you could go for space. The bedrooms were spread out from each other so it was easy to have privacy or come together when you wanted. The dining area was a good size and we were comfortable eating together as a family. There was nothing that we looked for or needed in the house that was not there. From original booking to arriving at the property was managed well and having the key in a master key safe made it easy to access the property on our arrival. Jill was responsive to all of my enquires including when we were on our stay and had a question. There is no off street parking and because we had four cars with us, it was at times tricky to get parked right outside the property. We hope to return to the property again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Thank you for being such great guests. We hope to welcome you back in the future, Jill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brekkan
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect house in perfect location!”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Second visit. Family outing. Comfortable for 10 people. Would be an advantage if more rooms could be converted to twins rather than doubles.
The view of Firth of Forth with May Island, Bass Rock and the Law at North Berwick is stunning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nej.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2017
Hello Einar, it was a pleasure to welcome you back this year we are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We do try to cater for as broad an audience as possible and do have various options for bed arrangements per room to try and accommodate everyone as best we can. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Take care and all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateAdams...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing house!”
Reviewed September 6, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed here in early September to celebrate my dads birthday! The house is amazing with stunning views from every room! Each room is decorated to a high standard and the house is actually much bigger than it looks in photos. There were 8 adults and one child in our group and more than enough space for everyone. The kitchen area is perfect for socialising and is fully equipped with everything you'd need. The views from this property are absolutely stunning and the outside area is lovely. The house is located right in the village itself so the location is perfect for walking into Anstruther and is not far to drive to neighbouring villages and St Andrews. The lady that owns the property was lovely and very helpful. I would highly recommend this house and will definitely stay here again in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2017
Hello KateAdams1, Thank you for your wonderful review of The Manse. We are so pleased to hear that the house was a great place for you all to meet to celebrate your dads birthday, we do hope he had a lovely day! We hope to keep welcoming you back in the future for any other special events you may have, or even just for the sake of it! Take care and all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGooth
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful experience - be warned”
Reviewed May 13, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Parked right outside the front door on arrival on the Saturday. Over night on the first night someone keyed the full length of the car.
The owners, when notified didn't seem to care particularly and seemed rather condescending "you've booked for the full week it's your responsibility etc etc"
We left the next day, on the Sunday as there was no way we could stay all week after that happening. The most expensive one nights stay I've ever had.
As above, just be warned.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2017
Anstruther is a quiet fishing village and incidents of vandalism are exceedingly rare. We were as surprised - and upset - by what happened to your car on the public street back in October as you were. Fortunately, as all the other reviews on this site indicate, this was not an unusual occurrence, but truly unique. As to your “warning”, if it relates to parking on a public street anywhere in the UK, then we can only concur: we respect your view, but to single out Anstruther seems a bit harsh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing