We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"It was a Dark and Stormy Night"”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 10 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St.Andrews
Level Contributor
356 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“"It was a Dark and Stormy Night"”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Seven Thirty, still accommodating the temperature differences, I remembered what the young woman seated next to me on the plane from Tampa had said: "When I get into London, we're having fish and chips!"
Now, let it be said, I've eaten some very tasty ones when I've been in London and some very duff ones at the seaside but that very same thought had popped into my mind, about what I'd have for my supper, when I got home, and with a very large glass of wine.
But, as I headed down to The Waterfront, I'd temporarily forgotten about the chilly wind and the dramatic entrances some can make when they're being (pardon the pun) battered by it.
So, like that traveller who'd interrupted Coleridge's Dream, I almost fell through the door and demanding a Warm Place.
Which this was, but I needed a radiator!
Us fish and chip afficionados are very critical of how its batter is composed, probably as much as what is the freshness of the species that's in it and, believe me, while that east wind continued to howl outside, my taste buds were singing.
With a copy of Michael Connolly's latest thriller, a glass of Merlot, followed by a mellifluous coffee and a superb rendition of a Fish Supper all mournful thoughts about the weather I'd left behind Quite Disappeared. I live nearby, so had no need of a bed, although Word of Mouth says they're very comfortable!

Room Tip: Are thee any bad ones??
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busybee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    129
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
81
225
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
157 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've just had a fabulous time at The Waterfront. We went on an Itison deal so it was cheaper than their normal rate, and at that it was tremendous value for money, but it would be good at their normal rate too. We had a huge room on the top floor of the Granary which was great and the food and service were excellent too. We found that we could hear people in the next room but, fortunately, they went to bed before us. Apart from that this place is hard to fault.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Just spent two days in the Waterfront on business, this is now my place to stay when in the area, if this is not available I will use The Bank, great food, great people and great rooms….please make it not rain when I come back in February as I have a meeting and then want to play some golf. If only all places came up to this standard of hospitality, well done to Chris and his team.

PB

Room Tip: Always look for accommodation never just hotels, we have found some great places
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBGLASGOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed two nights 14 & 15 December.. We spent first night in room five. Really lovely room , spacious and fresh with a bottle of wine , vouchers for free drink and shortbread . However as previously stated the soundproofing for the room above is non existent so we asked to be moved the next mporning. This was done quickly and efficiently. We were moved to a family room which was excellent and quiet. Breakfast was very good and evening meal brilliant. Staff were very helpful. We would definitely go back there. Beautiful area.

Room Tip: avoid room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fran30160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I've stayed here twice, whilst walking along the Fife Coastal Path, which passes by right outside.
Although the restaurant where you check in is on the waterfront itself, the rooms are set in a quiet little courtyard just behind it. The rooms are spotless, the bed comfy and there are lots of tea, coffee, milk and even a couple of bits of shortbread for you when you arrive.
I didn't eat an evening meal in the restaurant but I got my breakfast there. They do a great veggie breakfast and there was plenty of fruit juice, milk and cereals available as well.
If I was forced to pick out a flaw, I would say that I've been woken by the noise of other guests going to and fro, but that's really only because the courtyard is so quiet and peaceful there is no other noise at all. There was even a free beer token for sister pub The Bank, although I was so tired from walking I fell fast asleep on the bed before I could get over there to use it.
A great place to stay in the East Neuk of Fife and I will surely be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superbeast_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine Ayrshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great two night stay. Room was perfect, food fabulous and staff so very helpful.
Food was very good quality and very generous portions. Plenty of choice for both main meals desserts and breakfast. Loved the location and will return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Probably best not to have room 5 as noise travels a bit from the upstairs room. This did not spoil o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here for my Birthday at the end of November and could not believe the value for money. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and we couldn't believe it was part of the deal as would have paid good money for it alone! The room was spotless and very tastefully decorated. The view from the hotel is also stunning,right on the Marina. A short drive from St Andrews where we spent the day, and was then lovely to make our way back to our comfortable warm room. We will be back without a doubt. I cannot recommend more.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic07921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
4.7 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
6.9 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 16 in St. Andrews
3,067 reviews
10.1 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 16 in St. Andrews
1,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 10 in Anstruther
421 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Spindrift
The Spindrift
#2 of 10 in Anstruther
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 18/20 Shore Street, Anstruther KY10 3EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as "One of the treasures of the East Neuk," The Waterfront was proudly opened in May 2003, hosting a 55 seat a’ la carte restaurant. Personally run, The Waterfront has Anstruther’s finest location situated just a few steps from Anstruther’s harbour and marina with views over the Firth of Forth. During the warmer months we boast al fresco dining to the front and a mature courtyard for relaxing to the rear. We aim to cater for all tastes. Varied Seafood selections, chef’s specials, children’s menu, delicious coffee and cakes. The Waterfront seafood selection is surely there to impress boasting freshly delivered fish from local markets including oriental scallops, citrus salmon, stuffed sea bass, steamed mussels and a true Scottish favourite that has stood the test of time, good old Fish and Chips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Anstruther
The Waterfront Anstruther, Scotland - Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing