We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Spindrift in Anstruther”
Review of The Spindrift

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Spindrift
Ranked #2 of 9 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2008

I offer small group tours in Scotland and we use the Spindrift quite often. The house is beautiful and very well run. We usually have dinner as well and the it is always very well presented and delicious! The rooms are well appointed and feel like home. What I like the best about visiting the Spindrift is that I do not have to worry about anything from the time we walk in the door upon arriving until we walk out upon departing.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ScottishDreamTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 242 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2007

We have stayed at the Spindrift twice and both times have had a fantastic stay. The rooms are spotlessly clean and modern with luxurious towels and bed linen, which you would normally expect to find in a 5 star hotel, not in a bed and breakfast/guest house. The house has a lovely homely feel to it and the owners make you feel really comfortable. They have thought of everything that you need to make your stay as good as possible. The breakfasts are lovely, healthy options are available, but the cooked breakfast is too good to miss out on.

We love the East Neuk of Fife and try to visit there at least once a year. Recently, we have been fortunate enough to stay in a local timeshare apartment with my family, however, if this had not been the case, I would not have hesitated to go back to the Spindrift. Oh, and the Anstruther Fish and Chip Bar is within walking distance, which is just another reason to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulietteSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2006

My husband myself and two relatives stayed here on the 4/11/06. The owner greeted us in person with a warm handshake and showed us round before taking us to our rooms.The rooms were spacious and very clean,the hospitality tray more than adequate.Staff in the dining room very friendly nothing was to much trouble and food was excellent.I will certainly recommend the Spindrift to friends ,and will return myself ,a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wee Ayrshire Lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2006

Just a few miles and minutes from St. Andrews, this is a charming and spotless shelter from the beast of winter. Nice folks, warm and accommodating, nice atmosphere, and great Scottish breakfast. We chose to eat at the Cellar, a top-notch restaurant in town, recommended by the host Ken, and not only were we not disappointed, but it was a good as the finest in Europe. Expensive? Yep. But the Spindrift was good value, and we'd certainly go there again, were we to find ourselves in the area of the Neuk of Fife.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henry1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2005

We made our first trip to Scotland this past summer, and the Spindift was our first stop. It is absolutely charming and spotless, and a wonderful place to recover from jet lag. We spent three nights there, and it was centrally located for lots of day trips. The owners, Ken and Christine, are warm and welcoming, and we had one of the best, if not the best, breakfasts here. A little tip--dinner was also available at the Inn with advance notice to Christine. Highly recommended, and we hope to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie87508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Alva, Clackmannanshire
12
Reviewed June 12, 2004

Everything is good about the Spindrift. The owners are friendly. The guest house is charming, every room is comfortable, , everything is immaculately clean, the breakfast is freshly cooked and delicious. My wife and I have returned many times and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future. If you want a perfect base for the East Neuk of Fife, look no further! Oh, and the price is good too.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sersoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
4.1 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
9.6 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
537 reviews
9.4 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,315 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 9 in Anstruther
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spindrift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spindrift

Address: Pittenweem Road, Anstruther KY10 3DT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range: $100 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spindrift 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spindrift is an imposing Victorian residence built in 1870 for a Tea Clipper Captain, with many original internal features carefully restored, offering 8 bedrooms with en suite/private facilities. Only a short walk to Anstruther harbour and village centre. The Spindrift is personally run by Ken & Christine Lawson. A relaxed atmosphere prevails and it is our aim to provide you with high standards of service and housekeeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Spindrift reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spindrift Anstruther, Scotland - Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing