We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scot breakfast in Anstruther”
Review of The Spindrift

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Spindrift
Ranked #2 of 9 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Scot breakfast in Anstruther”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Nicely cooked traditional Scottish breakfast + more! Spacious twin room, nicely decorated and clean. Bed a bit lumpy but OK. Beware of sloping roof of the 'top' bedroom - bumped my head a few times (my fault really).

Room Tip: If you are tall, try to avoid the 'top' (loft) room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    24
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
126
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Everything was spotlessly clean and tidy, and the breakfast comprehensive. The lounge is particularly impressive with comfortable seating and a large honesty bar. Some rooms are a little on the small side, but quite adequate, and overall Christine, who runs it, is to be congratulated on such a well-run establishment.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorne, south yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

A beautiful building, with an atmosphere to match from the moment we arrived, some lovely little touches for our 7 year old just added to it. Breakfast is faultless as has been described on any of the other reviews with an almost limitless choice of breakfast fare. We would not think to look elsewhere if we are in the area again as this is how it should be done

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was our first visit to the Fife coast and the Spindrift was a good location, the first building as you enter the town. Our room was clean and comfortable and the welcome and information provided first class. Breakfast was excellent (try the porridge!) and we would recommend an evening meal, which has to be booked in advance and is well worth it.

Great walks from the door down on to the coast path too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandbrenda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Wonderful stay! Room spotless, very spacious and everything catered for. Great choice at breakfast. Owners go our their way to make you feel very welcome. Nice and peaceful.

Hope to be back soon.

Thanks again

Maggie and Jim Morgan

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Lovely place! Amazing breakfasts, absolutely everything you could want for a hearty one...my wish came true with delicious Scottish salmon and scrambled egg. Just a 5 min walk into Anstruther makes this a great place if you want peace and quiet after a few drams in one or two of the locals! Gorgeous views of the sea and golf course from the top floor bedrooms too...thanks Spindrift for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe_73Selby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My family of 5 spent one night here August 2012. Beautiful, well appointed house. We stayed in the Captain's room, which was beautiful and had a great view. New en-suite facilities. Fabulous sitting room downstairs. My teenagers slept in a room on a lower floor. Their room was very nice as well. Breakfast was the very best! Absolutely fabulous breads/scone. Breakfast cooked to order was very, very good. 10 minute walk into town. Definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bree789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
4.1 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
9.6 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
524 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bank - Anstruther
The Bank - Anstruther
#1 of 9 in Anstruther
428 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#3 of 9 in Anstruther
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#7 of 9 in Anstruther
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spindrift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spindrift

Property: The Spindrift
Address: Pittenweem Road, Anstruther KY10 3DT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spindrift 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spindrift is an imposing Victorian residence built in 1870 for a Tea Clipper Captain, with many original internal features carefully restored, offering 8 bedrooms with en suite/private facilities. Only a short walk to Anstruther harbour and village centre. The Spindrift is personally run by Ken & Christine Lawson. A relaxed atmosphere prevails and it is our aim to provide you with high standards of service and housekeeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Spindrift reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spindrift Anstruther, Scotland - Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing