We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous value: lovely refurb, charming staff, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bank - Anstruther
Ranked #1 of 9 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights over the bank holiday weekend. Accommodation is great; don't know how they do it for the price and the view from room no 8 is fabulous. Food was ok but nothing to write home about. Staff generally charming, competent and welcoming. We would definitely stay there again if we go back to Fife.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJEB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 451 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

First of all I would like to score The Bank a 4.5 but unfortunately the Trip Advisor software won't let me :-(
The only reason for not making the perfect 5 - was that the wifi reception in the room was unreliable.
We stayed in room 8 which overlooked a little sea inlet and it has to be one of the best views in Anstruther, all the staff were very helpful, the breakfast was excellent, the room was spotless and clean, the contemporary decor appeared to be brand new, large flat screen TV, safe, fridge etc- everything you would expect in a quality hotel (but better) and the bath was huge!
Absolute "no brainer" when staying in Anstruther - we will be back!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the sea (back of the property).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V8Racer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is really worth it.
Great rooms- large - and stylish the best being the ones with a view of the bay!
The staff are very friendly and attentive.
There is a space in the basement for golf clubs and for drying your gear - very important remembering what Fife's weather can be like.
Reception is in the bar next door and there's no other guest lounge - but it's a fun place - and at these prices who's complaining.
Anstruther is also a fab place for a wander - as are all the other East Neuk villages

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the bay are also quieter - because the hotel is on the high street and doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The rooms are fab- beutifully decorated, huge bathroom and even a bottle of wine to welcome you. Staff very helpful and the food is great. You have to get keys from the bar and this may put people off initially but dont let it cos its a real hidden gem. i would go back in a minute adn i am fussy !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElderlsieRenfrewshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

A friend and I stayed at The Bank our last night in Scotland - in order to spend a quiet day before the long trip back to the US. Cute little town with friendly people. The Bank was a great find. We had an awesome room with a huge bathroom and a view of the ocean; room appeared to have been recently renovated. We had lunch there the day of arrival and it was very good. Due to flight schedule, we requested an early breakfast on the day of departure, which they were happy to accommodate. Unfortunately, when we showed up at 7 for breakfast, the chef had not been notified - however - she quickly and graciously served up a delicious breakfast!

Joan C. - Los Angeles

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Could not recommend highly enough. Huge room and ensuite, clean, great service anf comf beds. So much better than other "world famous" hotels nearby! Great views, helpful staff and grear bar downstairs! Just book it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colinmilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The rooms had been completely refurbished to a very high standard and ensuite bathroom was huge. Plenty toiletries and lovely fluffy bath towels. The staff were all very friendly, also the food(Dinner and Breakfast) and service were excellent. Will definately stay again.

Room Tip: Request a room to the back which overlooks the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
6.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,413 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
8.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
880 reviews
10 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#3 of 9 in Anstruther
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bank - Anstruther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bank - Anstruther

Address: 23-25 High Street East, Anstruther KY10 3DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range: $87 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bank - Anstruther 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bank is situated with one of the finest views in Anstruther where the Dreel Burn merges with the Firth of Forth. The Bank offers something for everyone's tastes whether it’s from our Bar Lunch and Bar Supper menu, or a drink from the largest selection of real ales, draught beers, wines and spirits in the area. The Bank was refurbished this year developing into a family run hotel with quality and service in mind, with leather seating, open fires, 2 large screen TVs showing sky entertainment proving a big hit with locals and visitors alike. Homely, traditionally home cooked food prepared from quality local produce served in our Restaurant area and also in the Garden Bar. The large mature gardens offers what has been described as a "Sun Trap" surrounded with substantial stone walls for privacy. The beer garden is open when weather permits and offers a children's play area to keep all the family happy!!!We are only 9 miles from all the famous golf course in St Andrews, but we also have Carnoustie, Kingsbarns and Charlton on our Doorstep. If your here to sightsee then a day out to Edinburgh is a must or why not have a days walking following the "Fife Coastal Path." Our Guest Rooms: We have a eight en-suite guest rooms that can be converted into singles, twins, doubles and we have one family room sleeping two adults and two children in adjoining bedrooms. All of our guest rooms have been decorated to the same standard throughout and provide what can only be described as a "Pure luxury." We have sky entertainment, Large Screen TVs, Hospitality Trays, complimentary Shortbread & Mineral Water, Hair Dryers, room Safes & Fridges and a range of Bath Soaps. We offer our rooms on a bed and breakfast basis with breakfast included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bank - Anstruther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bank - Anstruther Scotland - Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing