We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The return to the Bank” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bank - Anstruther

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bank - Anstruther
Ranked #1 of 10 Anstruther B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The return to the Bank”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a one night stop at the bank before moving on to the waterfront the sister of the bank
enough said, This was a little break for our 33rd anniversary and as my wife loves the bank I booked it with the help of Samantha (sam) the manager who gave us a really good package and had logged everything for other staff to follow a big thanks to her, Yet again we had a great room no 7 bottom floor at the back of the hotel, Again and the high standard continued, Very clean and Spacious also very comfortable, Sky Tv and WiFi all the comforts of home.
The Staff are all very helpful and make welcome and encourage you to enjoy your stay, As for the meals even if your just passing through its worth a stop to enjoy the menu the Bank has to offer there`s an exellant meal there for everyone the same goes for breakfast I cant reccomend enough and the staff dont come better than these guys a big thanks to them

Room Tip: We have stayed in room 4 and room 7 both at the back with ok veiws of the burn with ducks and other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    91
    21
    7
    10
See reviews for
62
238
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elderslie, Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Huge airy rooms decorated to a high standard throughout, really very nice someone has spent a lot of money here and it has been worth it. Really excellent breakfasts and a great bar, friendly staff and spotlessly clean. What more can I say? GO!

Room Tip: I saw several, they are all to the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddie125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just back from a two night stay at the Bank, stayed in room 8 downstairs which we enjoyed, lovely view, room was extremely clean and well equipped, had everything you need and more! Breakfast was lovely, well cooked, plenty of choice. The younger staff were very welcoming in the bar, (the older gent not so) The young gentleman in particular was extremely professional and well mannered. We had been a bit concerned about noise after reading other reviews, but we seemed to be below the back part , so could hear a few footsteps on the wooden floor now and then, but quitened later as the bar got quieter, so wasnt a problem. Found it good value and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCMSCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

It is so difficult to explain how lovely the Bank is! I booked for Hogmanay (31-12-2012) we turned up and it transpired that I had booked for 31-01-2013 by mistake. The manager tried everywhere in town to get other accommodation for us. We kept the January booking and were so impressed by his helpfulness, that we booked in my son and his girlfriend as well. We let them have the room with the jacuzzi bath (overlooking the harbour!) ,yet our room was terrific as well. We will certainly return. This truly is 5 star hotel type accommodation, beautiful bathrooms,fridge etc. only thing different is no gowns and slippers! £65 per room including breakfast, absolutely amazing.....you have to stay, there is no decision to be made.Christina Turner, Monifieth, Scotland.

Room Tip: Do ask for sea facing room, other rooms delightful but how can you not have that view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina Turne... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,021 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,796 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Visited here with friends on a Saturday night after an 'all dayer' in St.Andrews. Place was buzzing & very busy. Great atmosphere. A good place to meet up with friends.
I've eaten here before & food ok, but a great place to drink.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a lovely hotel for a relaxing break near to St Andrews .The Staff very friendly and helpful nothing is to much bother for them.Room wonderfuly we had a lovely view done the forth ,Everything you need even skyTV .I would recommened this hotel to my friends .Wonderful breakfast and the evening meals a lovely choice .The standard of this hotel is very high .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

just stayed at The Bank last weekend the rooms are really nice and the bathrooms magnificent the whole hotel has been refurbed to a really high standard.The bar is warm and friendly and well used by locals ,always a good sign ,3 real ales on tap and a good selection of malt whisky .The food in the restaurant is also pretty good and the choice for breakfast all you could want .I would ask for a room with a seaview as the street was a bit noisy late on Saturday night /Sunday morning ,the pub 2 doors down had a karaoke and the singers decided to carry on outside not the Banks fault ,all in all a good hotel and great value

Room Tip: ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmccartney2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anstruther
4.5 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
8.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#2 of 10 in Anstruther
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bank - Anstruther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bank - Anstruther

Property: The Bank - Anstruther
Address: 23-25 High Street East, Anstruther KY10 3DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Anstruther
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Anstruther
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bank - Anstruther 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bank is situated with one of the finest views in Anstruther where the Dreel Burn merges with the Firth of Forth. The Bank offers something for everyone's tastes whether it’s from our Bar Lunch and Bar Supper menu, or a drink from the largest selection of real ales, draught beers, wines and spirits in the area. The Bank was refurbished this year developing into a family run hotel with quality and service in mind, with leather seating, open fires, 2 large screen TVs showing sky entertainment proving a big hit with locals and visitors alike. Homely, traditionally home cooked food prepared from quality local produce served in our Restaurant area and also in the Garden Bar. The large mature gardens offers what has been described as a "Sun Trap" surrounded with substantial stone walls for privacy. The beer garden is open when weather permits and offers a children's play area to keep all the family happy!!!We are only 9 miles from all the famous golf course in St Andrews, but we also have Carnoustie, Kingsbarns and Charlton on our Doorstep. If your here to sightsee then a day out to Edinburgh is a must or why not have a days walking following the "Fife Coastal Path." Our Guest Rooms: We have a eight en-suite guest rooms that can be converted into singles, twins, doubles and we have one family room sleeping two adults and two children in adjoining bedrooms. All of our guest rooms have been decorated to the same standard throughout and provide what can only be described as a "Pure luxury." We have sky entertainment, Large Screen TVs, Hospitality Trays, complimentary Shortbread & Mineral Water, Hair Dryers, room Safes & Fridges and a range of Bath Soaps. We offer our rooms on a bed and breakfast basis with breakfast included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Bank - Anstruther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bank - Anstruther Scotland - Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing