We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Say Cheese” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Andrews Cheese Company

St Andrews Cheese Company
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Anstruther
Attraction details
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Say Cheese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Didn't mean to visit a cheese farm but it was wet, blowing a gale and we were both hungry and thirsty. We noticed the signs for 'cheese farm and coffee shop' and off we went. The farm road is very potholed. There are not many tables and because of the adverse weather we were able to get a table immediately. We chose the soup of the day - celery and apple - served with a dollop of anster grated cheese and a choice of sandwich or cheese scone. Absolutely delicious. The service was fast, the surroundings very clean, and the price reasonable. My partner went through to the viewing gallery which was interesting but cheese was not being made at the time. I busied myself browsing the deli and gift shop. Would definitely visit again

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank stubbysmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    32
    10
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dornoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fromaholics Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We were able to watch various stages of the cheese-making process and the owner and a helper both took the time to come and explain what was happening. The cheeses are excellent and we were able to sample varieties before deciding what to buy. The cafe and shop are very good, with a good selection of foodstuffs and items to buy. Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Popped in for lunch with a friend on Monday, to brighten up a damp day.

Varied selection of things to eat from menu and specials board. Nice to see specials on offer in places, in the autumn / winter as well as spring and summer. We both ate from the specials board and had coffee and a piece of the millionaire shortbread to follow. Millionaire shortbread was just a nice size to follow our lunch.

Lovely selection of cheeses to purchase along with other tasty food items...........will be back another time to purchase! Took a selection of their cheeses to Italy this year as was joining Austrian friends in a villa on Lake Garda and everyone loved them!

Do need to be careful of the potholes on the farm road tho! Would not miss out on visiting again and again, you just need to be very careful, travel very slowly up the road.

Been a few times now and "always a treat".

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dratic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deli-cious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Found this place in a brochure and visited as it wasn't far from where we were staying. The service was quick, food was good and there was a selection of items to be bought from the deli - including the cheese made on the premises.
The only downside was the pot holes in the farm road.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice location, could do better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Yesterdays soda bread warmed, yesterdays salad.
Went there a year ago and was OK. This year gave two chances both very disapointing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LordDarkness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Andrews Cheese Company also viewed

 

Been to St Andrews Cheese Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing