We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aberdour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aberdour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have eaten here on numerous occasions(lunch & dinner) and can honestly say every time has been amazing. You can have everyday dishes or something a bit fancy and it is always first class. The staff are really friendly and attentive and it is a very relaxing atmosphere

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    123
    33
    8
    3
See reviews for
65
153
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Called in on complete off-chance while looking for somewhere in the area. I was welcomed with the smiliest of cheery people, which was very disarming and welcoming. I was then made to feel more than at home aside the open log fire while I hit the internet, as locals drank and ate around me. Feeling like part of the furniture I ventured from a warming coffee to lunch, to booking a room and on to evening meal. Have to say that dinner was quite literally one of the best meals I have had in a very long time! It was perfect and the chefs need to be congratulated (again!). Superb experience, everyone super friendly - but not overly or unpretentiously, just very natural and helpful. Barman was jolly, friendly and a joy to blether with. Superior room was v spacious and toasty, though no bath. All said, this was a damned good spot and I would be back in a shot. Top marks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Having just completed the first leg of the fife coastal walk the Aberdour Hotel was a welcome sight , we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived a lovely log fire was burning in the bar and the staff were interested and friendly. The beer was great and they tried there best to accommodate my daughters request for soup other than that on the menu. The staff also supplied us with the bus times so we could make the most of the log fire! we are off on the next leg in a few weeks and will certainly be starting out from here :) I should also mention one of our party was 14 and there were no problems with him joining us in the bar - i would deffinatly recommend here to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teaganuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawsker, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our third stay and the reason I'm reviewing again is because it keeps getting better every time we go. We stayed two nights this time, breaking our journey from Ullapool. I cannot find fault in anything. The room is sumptuous. Like a little apartment. The food is out of this world. The second nights meal was one of the best I've ever had.

It's the staff that really make it though. My wife wasn't well on the first night. They offered medication, to plate up food and take it to the room and looked after me when I had to dine alone. We like the place so much that as soon as we got back to Leeds, we decided to break with tradition and book a week here instead of returning to Ullapool and believe me, it takes a LOT to drag me away from there. Roll on May.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter and the superior ones are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The bathroom was redone and very clean, the room was quite small. Our room was at the front and the sign from the hotel was very bright even through the curtain edges. The doors are old style with temperamental keys, you can hear all the noise from the hall, especially other guests returning late having trouble with the key to their room.

Staff was friendly, food in the hotel pub was better than most pub food. The breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the sign in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnwels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I visited the hotel on Saturday evening with family, so we were a party of 12. We had pre-ordered 2 courses from the set Christmas menu. We were made to feel welcome and settled down at a festive looking table promptly. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food, so much so that we asked for bread rolls to soak up our gravy! The staff were friendly, pleasant and on the ball. They were attentive with our drinks and didn't mind the extra effort setting up couples' tabs. They also took a few pictures for us. Our only regret was that we didn't pre-order desserts, however we were asked if we would like any. (Unfortunately we had already arranged a bake-off style thing at home) While we were waiting on the bill, we were served warmed mince pies which was a lovely little touch. The price was very reasonable, considering the quality of the food. We have already decided to go back next year!

Room Tip: We didn't stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Did not stay had to cancel annoyed by requests for review but no refund! Was unable to stay due to family emergency. Informed the hotel by telephone received invoice and notice of 48 hours cancellation policy! No refund forthcoming and not happy with requests to review.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank salvinkeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerAH, Owner at Aberdour Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr Salvin-Keech

I understand your frustration and no doubt surprise to be asked for an online review when you did not stay. This is a new service trip advisor are offering that we signed upto only last week. We now understand we should have informed Freetobook ( the booking engine ) that in your case you were a "chargeable late cancellation" The automated response would have then been stopped - For that I am sorry and take full responsibility.

With regards to reviewing all our summary categories as "1's" I think is unfair as because you did not stay with us through no fault or our own. You cancelled at 3pm on day of arrival. No one is happy when they incur a cancellation charge.

Regards Scott Wilkinson ( Owner )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdour
0.1 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
158 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
252 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
183 reviews
7.3 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
14.5 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdour Hotel

Property: Aberdour Hotel
Address: 38 High Street, Aberdour KY3 0SW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Aberdour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent hotel focussing on fresh, local food and providing a warm welcome to residents & diners alike ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Aberdour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdour Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing