We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor customer service.”
Review of Aberdour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aberdour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor customer service.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had some issues with our travel plans due to a family emergency and tried to communicate with them and try and change our travel plans. Dealing with them on this very stressful issue was extremely difficult and completely unsatisfactory. They were not willing to make any effort to accommodate us in any way whatsoever. They gave us only a couple of hours to communicate with them while we were travelling and had limited communication access, yet, they themselves took full days or more to reply to our concerns and questions. We were very very disappointed with the lack of customer-service that we received from them. This was so contrary to other hotels that we dealt with in Edinburgh area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disappointed100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AberdourScott, Owner at Aberdour Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
On the night you were due to arrive you will recall I emailed you to see if you were just running late. I got no answer so waited until the small hours of the morning in case you turned up late as I did not want you to have no where to stay. We responded to your reply email the next day explaining "yes" you would be charged "re" our cancellation policy,which you agreed to when you booked the room on line.
On the day you enquired if we had availability we clearly explained "yes" and we would hold a room for you until 3pm and if we did not hear from you by 3pm we agreed we would put it back on for sale. We heard nothing so sold it I don't understand at which point we did not communicate efficiently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    124
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
67
160
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
279 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Cheerful greetings from helpful staff. Lunch and dinner... really good food imaginably prepared. patient bartender gave us tasting samples of beer to try since we were not familiar with any. Spacious room, spacious bathroom with good shower (pressure and stability)
great to be in town to walk to other attractions. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bravo-cinzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

we received a warm and friendly welcome at the aberdour hotel,very pleasant and helpful staff,light and airy rooms and absolutely delicious food,excellent chef.We would certainly stay here again.We came up to see the donnia munro concert at the aberdour festival,a very nice area to visit.Kind Regards Jim&Sandra Morris

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 914jim10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Fell upon this lovely place found more by luck than design - and so pleased with it that we'll come back next year. A small and comfortable hotel; very pleasant with all that you need for a few days stay. Clean and quiet, nicely decorated and with plenty of parking space at the rear.
We ate in the restaurant, an amazing atmosphere enhanced by the ceiling and panelling taken from RMS Orontes of the 1920's (Orient Line) which used to travel the Australia rout and was also a troop ship. Good value for money and the breakfast was great. Do take the opportunity to stroll down to the local harbour - beautiful views!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stopped in here last week for lunch with two friends and it was excellent! Service was spot on, with a cheery and so pleasant waitress on hand to make sure all was well. The food was gorgeous. I had scampi with fries and a beautifully presented salad...so good! My friends had the fish and the lasagne. Both were excellent too in terms of taste, presentation and portion size. Lovely hotel, tremendous staff and smashing food. Cannot be beaten! Will certainly go back again. The village is beautiful. The hotel itself looks lovely. Maybe we will stay over next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ami95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Surprisingly fantastic food in a wee relaxed pub atmosphere. I've eaten here several times now and it has always been excellent (and good value too!).
They do a great draught German wheat beer.
Lots of lovely specials on the menu. I can vouch for Thursday fish night and Friday steak night.
I'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stopped here with my partner for lunch and so glad we did, the staff were very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for you. We ordered the fish and chips which was cooked to perfection and was excellent, worth every penny would come back in an instant highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdour
0.1 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdour Hotel

Property: Aberdour Hotel
Address: 38 High Street, Aberdour KY3 0SW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Aberdour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent hotel focussing on fresh, local food and providing a warm welcome to residents & diners alike ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Aberdour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdour Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing