We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad meet and greet led to a poor experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aberdour Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were unfortunate to have lunch here today. We stopped here due to our chosen restaurant being shut for the easter holiday.

First impressions....nice looking hotel, with a restaurant overlooking the main street. Tables for eating, are seperated between the bar and a restaurant.

Meet and greet....... was poorly handled by the older gent. We asked if a table for two for lunch was available. We were then given the choice to eat in the bar or the restaurant. We chose the bar and were then led to our seats....... then forgotten about...... just as we were about to leave the old gent came over and asked if we would like to see the menus, and said he would be back in a few seconds to take our drinks order.......time passed....when finally a nice girl came and took our drinks order, this then came soon after, from the old gent, who then asked if we were ready to order....at no time did he write anything down, and in fact had to check and double check my wifes order. We were sure he was going to get our order wrong, so were not filled with enthusiasm for what was to come.

Menu....quite varied and interesting selections, especially the specials. Typical pub fayre such as steak pie, fish and chips were also present. They do a soup and baguette deal as well. My wife chose the chicken and ham baguette with cream of cauliflower soup, I chose the steak pie.

Service....decent from the young girl that seemed to know how to deal with customers, poor from the old gent, who, when asked by my wife where are the toilets, replied.., the ladies? He also commented that it was panic stations because a few customers arrived at the same time...we both had the feeling of fawlty towers at this stage.

Food.....decent home cooking, that was pretty on a plate. Very tasty soup, and crunchy baguette, tender steak, but chewy pastry. The baguette came with a dressed salad, and the soup was decorated by pretty drops of parsley oil.

Value...poor, 2 mains, and 2 drinks came to £26, if we added on our usual starter and second glass of wine, this would have been nearer £37.

Overall.....I cannot stress enough the importance of a confident meet and greet. This sets off the customer with confidence for what lies ahead. Our experience never recovered from a bad first meeting, so we would not want to return and could not recommend...nip down to the cedar inn instead.

Stayed: April 2013
3  Thank fifediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerAH, Owner at Aberdour Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Mr Fife Diner,

It would seem your experience at our hotel was during a period when the service was not what we strive to provide. After 80 or so good reviews we seem to have got three bad ones in a row. This has set the alarm bells ringing. Thank you for taking the time to let us know is was not good enough. This gives us the opportunity to look at staff training, leadership and the "new menu". It is very easy to think all is rose` and ticking over just fine. This shot across the bows gives us the opportunity to make sure guest get the service and quality that our reputations promises.
Once again thank you. Scott & Iona Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 440 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a one of the superior rooms and if they had a kitchen I'd quite happily live there! Spacious room with large comfy bed. The shower room was a good size too with a nice powerful shower.
The food was very tasty (apart from too much salt in my burger, but I put that down to a small slip-up rather than anything else) and there was no chance of going hungry.
The bar had a great atmosphere and good range of beers, especially for my ale loving husband. We especially liked that our brandy was heated for us, it's the little extras that make the difference.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carvink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Overcharging and delivering very mean portions of food. Quality good, but a shameful way to treat customers. Three different main meals ordered, two of which would have been viewed as a starter in any other restaurant. Left feeling upset, cheated and disappointed. Hotel was boasting a new menu! We won't be returning there to eat.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank 343Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerAH, Owner at Aberdour Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Margaret - We were most unhappy to hear of your visit to the Aberdour Hotel. It is clear from your comments we need to look at our menu immediately and make some changes. It would seem we did not take enough time to make up this menu and have made some errors of judgement. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. It now gives us the opportunity to put it right and make sure it does not happen again.

Regards Scott & Iona Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I try very hard to avoid writing negative reviews and in many ways I am really sorry to have to do so in this instance. I had pre-booked a table for four on a recent Saturday evening. The quality of the food was very good. We variously had lamb, pork and fish and some very nice starters including an excellent ‘honey I shrunk the breakfast’. All four of us rated the food highly and would very happily eat here again. However we had a very bad experience. It may be argued that this was not the responsibility of the hotel but I think I would differ. The dining room is quite small and we were sharing it with a table of people who behaved very badly. They were extremely loud and boisterous. It got so bad that we had to leave our table and finish our meal in the bar. The management seemed quite unwilling to challenge the behaviour and whilst they did apologise to us the whole experience left us very disappointed indeed. The comfort and well-being of all the guests in an establishment is really important and management should be willing to challenge bad behaviour. I would like to go back there again but I won’t.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LRMacKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Myself and my partner have visited for the past 4 years in a row (at the same time every year!) and we’d never change it because each stay gets better and better. I've never had such great customer service at a Hotel before - the staff are brilliant and so down to earth and they always go out of their way to make your visit extra special. We always book one of their superior rooms which has a lovely fireplace and sofa which add that extra special something to the room. On our last visit they’d added a flat screen TV which was amazing! The rooms are always spotless and the decor is nice and modern.

One of our favourite things to do when we’re there is to sit at the hotel bar at night chatting away to staff and the locals, you’re made to feel really welcome. The last time we visited they had a lovely new menu so we couldn’t resist having our dinner there. The food had to be the best I’d eaten all year it’s top notch food that you’d expect to eat in a posh restaurant and it’s definitely worth the price. The bar has a great range of drinks and all for a reasonable price too.

Unfortunately we can’t make our regular trip in October this year because we’re getting married on the 12th and we don’t have the pennies but one thing is for sure we will be back there again as soon as we can because it’s a true hidden gem of a Hotel!

Room Tip: It's definitely worth opting for the Superior Rooms they are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten_Garvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Booked a superior room via the booking.com site - absolutely lovely reception from staff, extremely friendly. The hotel room we were given, was exactly as it was portrayed on the web and in fact I would say the pictures don't do it justice. Coffee and tea facilities, flat screen TV and a lovely leather sofa in the room, all helped to make the stay excellent. We had dinner there too, which again, was excellent. Though a little pricey - it did taste exceptional and again friendly staff, couldn't do enough for you, even reserving us a table by the fire for a cappucino afterwards. We will definetly be returning sometime soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AberdourScott, Owner at Aberdour Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

We were delighted to hear you very much enjoyed your stay with us at The Aberdour. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Scott & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have been meaning to review this place for a while! We live locally and we have visited this restaurant a lot. The menu is excellent. We always pick something off the specials, as they are always so good, and a wee bit different, but you can always rely on the main menu too. There is everything from burgers, steaks and fish and chips to lamp rump and blade of beef. The specials are always done with yummy stuff with chorizo or Stornoway black pudding, the chefs really know how to match food. The managers are so so friendly, especially the lady, and the rest of the staff are good too. You are made to feel very welcome in this place. I recommend this place to everyone!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Champagne-and-lashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdour
0.1 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
187 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
296 reviews
14.5 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
552 reviews
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
896 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdour Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdour Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 38 High Street, Aberdour KY3 0SW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Aberdour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Price Range: $77 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdour Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent hotel focussing on fresh, local food and providing a warm welcome to residents & diners alike ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aberdour Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdour Hotel & Restaurant Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing