We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of a hotel”
Review of Aberdour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aberdour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem of a hotel”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I recently stayed for a week at The Aberdour Hotel and I really couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable holiday. The hotel was modern, stylish, comfortable and clean. The welcome and hospitality which I received from Scott and Iona, ably assisted by Mike and Natasha, was world-class and second-to-none. The food in the hotel's restaurant was superb (special praise must be given to Ian and Kyle) and, in my opinion, worthy of a few Michelin stars. The cooked breakfasts were also very tasty and a perfect way to start each morning. Aberdour is a beautiful, tranquil haven with a pretty harbour, several specialist/boutique shops/galleries, two sandy beaches, a castle and golf course. It is also situated on the pretty Fife Coastal Path. Edinburgh is only 30 minutes away by train and there are also regular bus services to Dunfermline and Kirkcaldy (where there are excellent interchanges with routes to St Andrews and the pretty East Neuk coastline). Many thanks to all at the hotel for giving me the perfect break. I will definitely be back (as long as I can get a room - this place deservedly looks to be very popular!)

Room Tip: Try one of the superior rooms in the courtyard/stables at the back of the hotel. They are large, co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    125
    35
    9
    4
See reviews for
68
162
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I had 4 nights in Aberdour recently. Accommodation was more than satisfactory, without being 5 star, however the service was exceptional, the staff delightful and the food in this little pub was really sensational. Great value, close to Edinburgh and easy access to St Andrews. Very close to perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

10 of us enjoyed an excellent meal. The monkfish risotto was the best risotto I've ever tasted. The novel haggis pudding and chips starter was interesting and tasty. The staff were professional and attentive. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of food from a small hotel. We'll be back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Independence101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Aberdour on our visit to Scotland using it as a base to visit Edinburgh only 30-40 mins by train and the station is only a 5 min walk from the hotel.
Please do not be phased by the presentation of the reception area -- it is in need of an upgrade -- the staff are really very good and are so helpful and friendly.
We stayed in a superior room across the courtyard which was very spacious and included a very large bed and a comfortable sofa. What was really surprising was the food -- well above expectations -- we dined there all 3 nights and we were never disappointed, many compliments to the 3 chefs. We would certainly stay there again and thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is not pretentious but appreciative of very friendly and helpful service and very good food.

Room Tip: Do have dinner there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Aberdour Hotel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the food was exquisite. Not only did the food taste wonderful but the presentation was worthy of the best restaurants in the world. We thoroughly recommend this hotel for an extended stay or for a lovely meal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Had two separate nights at the Aberdour on our visit to Scotland. Pleased to say that the staff were friendly and helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Stayed in two different rooms, the first was the premiere room available and had been recently refurbished. A large room with an enormous bed and a comfortable sofa. The decor in the second room was older, but it was roomy and comfortable. What was amazing though was the quality of the food. It was fish night when we were there and we were joined by some friends. We had 3 different dishes and they were all top quality. It's no wonder they advised us to book when we arrived. They are lucky to have such good chefs. We could not partake of the food on the second night as we were in Edinburgh for the Festival fireworks - what a disappointment as I am told the steak pie is great.

Would love to stay again. Lots of people at breakfast so hotel popular. And by the way the breakfast was good as well. Kevin & Hilary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbarchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A brief visit to Aberdour and had a lovely meal in the Aberdour. We were very well looked after. Great to see the hotel thriving.Would have liked to have stayed, but the hotel was full. This must be a good sign.
Well worth a visit.
Peter & Jane

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterferguson546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdour
0.1 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
168 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
261 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
552 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Queensferry Hotel
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
734 reviews
17.1 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdour Hotel

Property: Aberdour Hotel
Address: 38 High Street, Aberdour KY3 0SW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Aberdour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent hotel focussing on fresh, local food and providing a warm welcome to residents & diners alike ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Aberdour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdour Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing