We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only came for a wedding!”
Review of The Woodside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Woodside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights as we had come from London to attend a family wedding. The hotel is an 19th century mansion with a lovely atmosphere & very welcoming staff - nothing seems to be too much trouble for them. We had a front view room overlooking the street but this was not a problem - only if u are not attending the wedding as the music does carry from the dancefloor below! The room was compact but clean with tea/coffee making facilities. The breakfast was excellent as was the wedding meal so no complaints. This was our first visit to Aberdour & my first to Scotland & it is a very easy drive from Edinburgh or half hour by train. Our niece got married at Aberdour Castle which was very atmospheric followed by a wedding reception at the Woodside. Everything well organised. Area itself lovely for walks & would consider coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if there is a function taking place during your stay.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evieroselily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for The Woodside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 182 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

We didnt stay in the Hotel, just had lunch there and were more then pleasently surprised. We just went to Aberdour for the day to visit the castle and have a nice walk around the beach. We promptly got lost on the little coastal walk and every sign we followed to find some food led to disappointment as it was closed. When we finally came accross the Woodside Hotel we didn't much care what the food was like as long as we got any food at all. We both went for the full 3 course lunch and each course was better then the one before! The food was beautifully presented and the quality was excellent and the place has great character. Can't wait for better weather so we can plan another day trip to Aberdour with a great lunch at the Woodside Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Handiela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Spent 3 nights on business. Room at the back of the hotel which was clean and comfortable. Excellent team and good food. Fresh cooked breakfast was a treat.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66coronation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights over a mid-February weekend and was looked after by a friendly team and enjoyed hearty (grilled) breakfast and some fine evening fayre. The building oozes character from the creaky floorboards to the mesmerising dining room which is heavily themed towards some local maritime history. Well located in the quaint village of Aberdour and within easy reach of some superb coastal features and beaches.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 66coronation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a beautiful traditional hotel and restaurant. It has a splendid history and is located in beautiful Aberdour near the beach. The food is fresh to order and service excellent. The food portions could be bigger though but it tastes great.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CESTTOUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I recently stayed at The Woodside Hotel for a week while I was doing some business in Fife. The hotel was recommended to me by my client, and I couldn't have been more pleased. It is a small and comfortable place, and it was a delight to return to The Woodside every evening. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and they remembered me by name. I especially enjoyed my breakfasts and dinners. The food was delicious.

I would definitely recommend The Woodside. Aberdour is a charming village, too!

Room Tip: The rooms are small but cosy. I didn't see the other rooms, but I was very pleased with the one...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This hotel meets all expectations and more. Peaceful, homely and comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff who are only too willing to oblige. The food is cooked to perfection. If you cannot see it on the menu, the chef will oblige by prior request. The bar has a good selection of wines, spirits and beers at prices you would expect as being normal. The full cooked breakfast is highly recommended to start the day and will keep you going on your venture out until returning for the evening meal. The room was very clean, warm and tastefully furnished. The bed was very comfortable and two good nights sleep was enjoyed. This hotel is ideally situated for a trip into Edinburgh and it is adviseable to take the train. The station is literally 2 mins walk at the end of the High Street of Aberdour. The trains run every hour at twenty past the hour. Return journey for two cost £13.50. Return to Aberdour from Edinburgh Platform 16 is every quarter past the hour. Saves driving and paying costly parking fees in Edinburgh. So, all in all the Woodside Hotel, boasts an excellent base and a very warm welcome after a day out sightseeing etc. Highly recommended !!

Room Tip: If you have a disability just ask the staff to accommodate you to a room that is appropriate to your...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellResearched_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdour
0.1 mi away
Aberdour Hotel
Aberdour Hotel
#1 of 3 in Aberdour
424 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
287 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinghorn
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
820 reviews
14.6 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodside Hotel

Address: 78 High Street, Aberdour KY3 0SW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Aberdour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Aberdour
Price Range: $85 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Woodside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodside Hotel Aberdour
The Woodside Hotel Aberdour, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing