We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely place but hotel was a disappointment.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edinburgh Lodges

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edinburgh Lodges
Ranked #5 of 6 Musselburgh B&B and Inns
Dartford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place but hotel was a disappointment.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Edinburgh Lodges are located in the grounds of Carberry Tower Hotel, a very impressive period property. To stay at the hotel is expensive but the Edinburgh Lodges are a 1/4 of the price and you get full use of the hotel. We travelled as a group of family and friends for a wedding in a nearby castle and were looking forward to eating at the hotel after a long journey and to use the facilities. When we arrived we were told the hotel had exclusive use and we were not allowed to use any of the hotel's facilities or the bar, this exclusivity lasted until after breakfast the following day so we could not have a family breakfast together at the hotel either. The hotel should have told us about the exclusive use before we arrived but they failed to do so. It may be a good idea to phone the hotel to check this out for future guests of Edinburgh Lodges.
The accomodation is basic but clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank les&lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had traveled up from Kent for a wedding so staying Thursday to Monday I have a young child 3 I had asked for a family room only to find that it was on the first floor of the lodges single mother with a 3 year old pushchair and suitcase up stairs not handy at all! When I went into the room I noticed the windows were very low and my daughter took an interest in them as they open fully! I went to ask for a room change as its very dangerous and could not risk it and not were available it was only that my uncle would swap with me. The rooms were small but clean a family room is more of a double and my parents had a double but should only of been a single, bed pushed against the wall with a sliver of a walk way to their bathroom which was a wet room! There was no fridge in a family room for babies milk/food and would of have to walk to the main house. you could hear everything everyone was doing not very sound proof at all. There was a couple of weddings on in the main house and it felt like we were not important no dinner available or breakfast in the morning they should be one or the other a wedding venue or hotel. The room was clean and tidy and most of the staff were helpful. Overall beautiful grounds but not child friendly at all! I would been much happier staying at the travel lodge down the road.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starlalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Musselburgh hotels

Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Tucked at the back of the rather grander location, the Lodges offer clean and warm basic accomodation. It reminded me a lot of going to conferences and staying in rooms, but that's not to say it wasn't lovely. We had a television and coffee making facilities and - most importantly in a snowy Scotland - it was really warm and comfortable! I'd recommend this really good value gem as an overnight bolt-hole to rest up and relax before continuing on a journey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We received a warm and hearty welcome from one of the friendliest receptionists I have come across during many travels! Thank you. The adjacent Carberry Tower castle was just amazing and we felt very welcome when we enjoyed a drink there.

Although the room with its en-suite was small, it was cosy and comfortable. The scenic location is amazing! I will definitely stay there again: it was so charming and excellent value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_lover350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for 1 Night when i was in Edinburgh and it was a really nice place. the rooms were cosy, clean and warm... the only downside was the bath.. it was rather small but managable.. you would need to have a car to get to this place as its a good 20 minute drive from the city centre. would love to stay there if i visited edinburgh on car..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bala K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Nice location,clean rooms but there would appear to be inadequate insulation between rooms above and to the side our our room no 4.
Able to listen clearly to conversations,arguments and bodily function noises from adjacent rooms?Attempted to order a pizza for a very hungry 5 year old and was advised that the wedding party had exclusive use of the kitchen and that I couldn't have a Pizza.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FireInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Followed the signs for Edinburgh Lodges, arrived alone at this secluded location to find the door marked "Reception" locked and NO information about how to check in. Nothing on my booking confirmation either. Fortunately another guest came out and told me there is a large hotel further on so bundled the luggage back in the car and received a rather frosty welcome along with my key. Sadly the quiet night I was expecting was marred by a large party of kids making a horrendous din underneath me up until 11.pm! These annexes are not staffed - there are no phones, my mobile was on charge and the number of the main hotel was in my car - so I put up with it - even though I had to be away by 6 am the next day!!

Such a pity. The room was small but clean and modern and would have provided (I thought) a nice restful environment. Ah well - it was cheap enough - and I should have read the trip adviser reviews first about the lack of signage!!

Room Tip: Make sure you drive to the Carberry hotel to check in - and take ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Musselburgh
2.9 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ravelston House
Ravelston House
#2 of 6 in Musselburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Lodges

Property: Edinburgh Lodges
Address: | Carberry Tower, Musselburgh EH21 8PY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Musselburgh
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Musselburgh
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edinburgh Lodges 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Edinburgh Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Lodges Musselburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing