We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Goblin Ha' Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Goblin Ha' Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Gifford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Fantastic 2 nights away with my partner for Easter weekend...staff were soo lovely....food amazing.....our room was so clean & huge....could not fault this place...stunning garden. Thank you so much for a lovely stay we will defo be back, special thanks to ozzy who greater us on arrival and couldn't do enough for us to make our stay special. Thanks

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant O, General Manager at Goblin Ha' Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Jennifer S, many thanks for your kind comments - we loved having you at the Goblin Ha'.
Look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Regards
Grant (Ozzie)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 372 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is a superb wee hotel in a very picturesque village. Our room was decorated in a contemporary style - excellent. The food (dinner)was tremendous - served by a very cheery and entertaining waitress.Breakfast was excellent and service again was friendly and welcoming. Have to say this was an excellent choice and would recomend a weekend stay - even if you don't live very far away:)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank ALAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant O, General Manager at Goblin Ha' Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Alan T, great review!
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others.....it's really appreciated by the whole team.
Best regards
Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Village of Gifford stunning location goblin ha' hotel great and friendly atmosphere. Me and my wife stayed overnight food was beautiful service was great. Room we felt was a bit small but manageable, bathroom very clean. Wooden floor boards leading to rooms we found very noisy as we found out later that evening with people retuning to there rooms. Apart from the small thing's we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant O, General Manager at Goblin Ha' Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Lee, many thanks for your comments - we're really pleased that you enjoyed your trip.
Your thoughts on the wooden floors/stairs are noted.......we don't want to change them for something new that doesn't fit the rest of the building but are trying to get a noise suppression solution to suit everyone.
Again, many thanks
Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Have just returned from a 2 night break at The Goblin Ha' and loved it. Lovely room, excellent breakfast and very friendly manager - would happily stay again and recommend it to friends. We ate in the hotel's restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.
The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring East Lothian.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AuntieAgnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant O, General Manager at Goblin Ha' Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear AntieAgnes (not my Antie), many thanks for taking the time to share your thought on your stay at the Goblin Ha'.....it's really appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you (and friends) back again in the near future
Regards
Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed for 1 night on 20th April. Room was great, spotless and very comfortable. Slept like a baby in comfy bed. Staff were outstanding and made us very welcome. I was in room 6 and other members of family were in room 3. They also had a great room with comfy twin beds. Would highly recommend this hotel. Didn't eat here this time but have eaten before and food is first class with an extensive choice. Many thanks to Ozzy and his staff.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant O, General Manager at Goblin Ha' Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hi David D, many thanks for taking the time to post your review - we really appreciate it.
Particularly glad that you liked room 6 - it's not everyone's cup of tea because of the small (but perfectly formed) shower room but then life would be dull if we all liked the same things!
Look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards
Grant (Ozzie)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing few days I would highly recommend this hotel, friendly staff, cracking log fires and a great garden to relax with a pint if the sun is out, you will just have a great time village not a lot to do if you enjoy the outdoors nice for a walk , anyway don't take my word book it and try it all in all 9/10 if I was being super critical new windows won't go wrong but again that's being super critical

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malkyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant O, General Manager at Goblin Ha' Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hi Malkyz, many thanks for your review....we're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.
New windows are on our most wanted list for this year....
Hope to see you back again soon.
Regards
Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

visited last year and had no complaints. Accepted that this was an old building and the room was OK bed was comfortable and food was fine. Returned for second visit with an Itison voucher and were put in room 6 - what a dump! There was no nowhere to hang clothes except for two hooks and two hangers. You could not clean your teeth in the tiny Belfast sink as the shelf was about 6inches above it and you could not even rinse your mouth in the sink you had to use toilet. The window in the toilet was absolutely filthy and the decoration was grey and black and the wallpaper on the walls had been patched with a different pattern and then painted. When window was closed there was a smell from the drains. It truly was like sleeping in a hostel. The food was good and the staff were helpful and friendly but nothing could compensate for the room - thank goodness the weather was good and we were able to stay out all day. The staff were sleeping in the same corridor and between the music thumping away and the doors banging as the staff came and went sleep did not come easy. I read the reviews and the excuse seems to be that it is an 'old building' and it has character that does not mean it has to be so run down. The days of people leaving their comfortable home to be stuck in this kind of accommodation is long gone. Bring on Hotel Inspector - she would have a field day. We go away at least once every month for a couple of days and have been in approx. 30 different hotels over the last two years and this is definitely the worst. Whether or not we were allocated this particular room because we had a small dog with us and we were using the Itison voucher I don't know but it is totally unacceptable. I have fotos but unfortunately have been unable to download them to this site.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6 !! You will be lucky to get a sleep if you are in this corridor as the booming of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank margaret j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant O, General Manager at Goblin Ha' Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Oh dear.
MargaretJ, you chose to stay in a country pub and I really wish you had at least had a look at our website before buying your deal.
As you are aware, the "thumping" music was not from a staff bedroom but from the lounge bar......you can down to complain at 9.30pm and I turned it down from an already background level. We then had a number of guests complain that we had killed the atmosphere in the bar!
The shower room in room 6 is small (see our website) but beautifully refurbished earlier this year with an ancient (not filthy) window pane that we are loathed to replace because of it's character.
I apologise for being blunt but I am afraid that your review is completely at odds with virtually all others and whilst you are absolutely entitled to an opinion, we do not market ourselves as a tranquil or sterile chain hotel that is silent at 9pm.......our regular guests love the atmosphere, friendly service, food and character just the way it is.
I am pleased that you enjoyed our food and found our team to be helpful and friendly.
Best regards
Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gifford
10.8 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tweeddale Arms Hotel
Tweeddale Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gifford
57 reviews
1.3 mi away
Redshill Bed & Breakfast and Self Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goblin Ha' Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goblin Ha' Hotel

Address: Main Street, Gifford EH41 4QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gifford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gifford
Price Range: $71 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Goblin Ha' Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goblin Ha' is a warm and inviting country inn with seven comfortable bedrooms. The two bars are full of character with log burning fires and great friendly service serving a selection of real ales, beers, spirits and wines.Our varied menu contains something for everyone and is freshly prepared to strict guidelines and recipes by our team of chefs using only Scottish assured beef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Goblin Ha' Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goblin Ha' Hotel Gifford, East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing