We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duncastle B & B at Eaglescairnie Mains

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gifford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duncastle B & B at Eaglescairnie Mains
Ranked #4 of 4 Gifford B&B and Inns
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My Wife and I stayed 2 nights and the hosts were friendly and gave a very warm welcome. We stayed in the newly built house and everything was First Class. I would recommend this B&B to everyone and it is a credit to Michael and Barbara.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJP056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The four of us had the absolute pleasure of staying at Eaglescairnie Mains for 2 nights in July. Nothing beats country life. The hosts Michael & Barbara were simply delightful and looked after us so well with those beautiful breakfasts and provided us with much information for our trips into Edinburgh. The rooms were immaculate and to wake up and look out over the farm paddocks of a morning.......well it just doesn't get any better. Also directed us to the Goblin Ha hotel in nearby Gifford for our evening meal. It was so good we went there both nights! Michael & Barbara have a very special place and we would love to come back. Trust Michael enjoyed his 4 days at the British Open in Muirfield.
Geoff, Chris, Allan & Deb Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TherAussietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

If you get into this wonderful country place and meet the owners, you will be very lucky. Four of us had a wonderful stay with Barbara and Michael Williams who looked after us immaculately. The rooms were very comfortable and we had delicious breakfasts every morning for our six days stay. The countryside and farm are lovely. I could not recommend a stay more highly - that is if you can get in!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

To start with the positives, both the owners are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely and the location in the middle of the countryside perfect for long walks.
Unfortunately though, the room we stayed in on the third floor was pretty poor. The furniture and bedding was extremely dated, the room was dirty with stains on the bed clothes and there was cobwebs in various places. The room was very cold on arrival and it was easy to see why as the sash windows had a 2 inch gap at the top which couldn't be closed. There was no tv in the room and the internet connection so poor as to be unusable.
The bathroom was seperate to the bedroom and was also extremely dated and very dirty.
The cynic in be says that we were given this room as we were not paying for the stay but had been given a voucher for a night away. Another reason could have been that the b&b was very busy while we were there. The owners told us that they were retiring soon and that the new owners were not going to be running it as a b&b, so this also could have been a contributory factor. Either way, it is a place that I would definitely not recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Eaglescairnie was a lovely stay for 2 nights for the 3 of us in 2 large, well decorated rooms with expansive views of the countryside. The beds were comfortable, breakfast was individually cooked and served in the conservatory and the country quiet was very welcome after being in Edinburgh. Michael took us on a walking tour and shared some of his farming practices, we were impressed with the efforts at conservation and fostering wildlife. The countryside is peaceful, we enjoyed befriending the horses and there are many opportunities to walk. Goblin-Ha is certainly a wonderful place to eat in the nearby town of Gifford, we ate there twice, it was quiet and the food and beer were great. Michael and Barbara ---thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us, you have obviously put great effort into making strangers feel welcome, and we did.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iowan50201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed for just the one night in February when doing some walking on the nearby John Muir Way. The farmhouse is a beautifully restored 3 storey 18th century farmhouse about a mile or so outside Gifford. As such, it's not really within walkable distance for the village - at least not in the dark - but is a wonderfully atmospheric and cozy location to spend the night non the less.

Or room was on the 2nd floor and had a great view across the East Lothian countryside towards Gifford. The room was en suite and nicely docorated in a farmhouse manner. There was tea and coffee facilities in our room, together with an interesting selection of books in the house library. The room was a bit cold when we arrived, and even with the heating turned up full it did take a while for it to get fully warmed up. But it was a centruries old building near the North sea in February, so I wasn't too bothered.

The highlight was when we returned from dinner and went into the garden to see the fantastic night sky. The building is far enough from Edinburgh to avoid light plooution, and on a clear cold night the stars were simply fantastic. The lack of any noise means a great nights sleep into the bargain.

The lady who ran it was very friendly and the breakfast was a plentiful Scottish fry up that set me up for the day. All in all it was enjoyable and to be recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyCatMitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Eaglescairnie is in a beautiful location and is a lovely old house. However we thought the rooms rather small and not always warm. We did not have breakfast in the conservatory and found the breakfast room rather small and cramped.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EveM704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gifford hotels
1.3 mi away
Goblin Ha' Hotel
Goblin Ha' Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gifford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.8 mi away
Redshill Bed & Breakfast and Self Catering Accommodation
1.4 mi away
Tweeddale Arms Hotel
Tweeddale Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gifford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duncastle B & B at Eaglescairnie Mains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duncastle B & B at Eaglescairnie Mains

Property: Duncastle B & B at Eaglescairnie Mains
Address: Duncastle | Eaglescairnie Mains, Gifford EH41 4HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gifford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gifford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duncastle B & B at Eaglescairnie Mains offers 2 Double/Twin rooms with stunning views over the East Lothian countryside, with easy access (30 minutes) to the city of Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duncastle B & B At Eaglescairnie Mains Gifford, East Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing