We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse
Ranked #1 of 2 East Linton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

My husband I myself had an amazing lunch in the bistro.Menu was outstanding and food was nothing short of perfection.Wonderful staff .We will,without a doubt, be back with friends and family in the near future. To find somewhere as good as this, despite being more than an hours drive from home will not deter us from returning.
A Wee Gem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    39
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
56
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Myself and 20 other thirsty walkers descended on The Linton after walking from Dunbar. The bar is quite small and we thought it would be quite a crush. However the very friendly landlady
ushered us all upstairs, including the muddy boots, to a function room with waiter service.
Walkers are not always made welcome at other establishments, and it was great to be treated the way we were. So thanks again to the Landlady and her staff.
Regards,
Matthew Greaves

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I stopped on a Sunday evening to have a meal in the Bistro and what a great meal it was. The food was cooked to perfection and the atmosphere was welcoming and relaxing. Staff were friendly and helpful we shall be back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

After a wee drive out from Edinburgh, our Concierge suggested we stop here for a refreshment and some lunch. What a superb little restaurant with a great menu. Excellent hospitality from the manager, Michelle. There could perhaps be less Jack V artwork but nothing can hide the great food and warm atmosphere......
Try the ribeye with the pepper sauce - cooked to perfection.
We will definately be back even if it's just to hear the manager's laugh again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VandMPeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Recently had sunday lunch here. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and so was our german shepherd. We were seated in the beer garden which was lovely,our dog was given a bowl of water then lay down content on the shaded grass. How great to visit a place where we had the freedom to feel at home while eating some great food. The staff were all very helpful and mannerly....we will definately visit next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

didn't know what to expect from The Linton .we were booked into the bistro and we were very impressed with the decor, the service was great, and the food was outstanding and very well presented. great choice from the menu plus a substantial specials board. highly recommend for any occassion. they also have a restaurant that is open on Friday and Saturday, the menu looks amazing for here also. the owner showed us around the restaurant and the gardens which look fantastic. we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irene e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed at the Linton for almost 6 months. Feb-through July-2011. After about 2 months I thought There is bound to be some place comparable to the Linton. I tried a few and came directly back. I have never stayed any place as warm and inviting as the Linton and I have been a business traveler for about 30 years. The rooms are Good, the staff is Briliant, and the food is beyond belief. If you are in the resteraunt and see a cheeky Yank seeting back in the corner backing in the joy of his seconf Home it will probably be me - Penn

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penn_2Spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Linton
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
5.3 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
5.7 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Royal Mackintosh Hotel
7.5 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
6.7 mi away
Tweeddale Arms Hotel
Tweeddale Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gifford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse

Property: The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse
Address: 3 Bridgend, East Linton EH40 3AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > East Linton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Linton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in this beautiful conservation village of East Linton in the heart of East Lothian, we are ideally located for fishing, golfing, walking and sight seeing. Our fantastic chefs offer menus featuring local and seasonal produce. Come and sit by the fire or in our unique walled garden (when the weather allows) and sample a few real ales or a chilled glass of wine. We hope to welcome you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Linton Hotel & Steakhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing